We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location, beautiful building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Talloires
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning location, beautiful building”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed here mid September for a friends wedding and it was just spectacular. The Abbaye itself is a real jem in terms of history. The building is beautiful and charming. The gardens are lovely and the setting is stunning. Located right on Lake Anncey, there is a pontoon for swimming and relaxing that's just for guests. The hotel is located at the end of a quiet road, so is secluded and quiet.

Our room was small and wasn't cheap, but had everything we needed and was well worth the money.There were lots of little touches making the stay really enjoyable. It isn't often we stay somewhere as lovely as this and we wouldnt hestitate to recommend it to other travellers.

Its only 12 KMS from Annecy and you pass through some lovely quaint villages along the way, so its a lovely drive too.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynseywatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, General Manager at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Dear guest,

thank you very much for this nice report.
We are very happy if we could make your stay beautiful.
We are looking forward to greeting you anytime again in Abbaye.
With very best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    120
    38
    18
    9
See reviews for
52
258
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This hotel is not one of the cheapest around the lake - but one of the nicest. Very good location at the end of a blind road - no cars - and directly at the brink of the Lake. Own 'pontoon' with chairs exclusively for guests and round the clock service. Nice, cosy and historic old building in which the former monk cells have been transformed into very nice and updated hotel rooms. New toilets and bath rooms and a small balcony with a breathtaking view to the mountains and the lake. Out- and indoor restaurant with very nice waiters. Solid breakfast without being extraordinary - but very nice food for lunch and dinner at a high culinary level to reasonable prizes. Possibility to rent kayak, paddle boats near by and nice walking tracks to the surrounding mountains. Inside the hotel you find an open yard from the original days - used for producing some of the first wines in France. The nearby city of Annecy is old, cosy and a bit touristy but definitely worth wile a visit. It will take you an hours to drive around the lake - but doing it on bike should be nicer, but we have not tried. The Annecy is a pearl to visit - and at the level of the bigger Lake Como in Italy, but cheaper and more intimate. This is not the last time we have visited Hotel Abbaye de Talloires and next time we will stay a week and not just an extended weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kommandousen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, General Manager at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind report.

We were delighted to have you among us. We know that we are not the cheapest, but we certainly try to give to our guest the best service possible and we are glad if we suceed in your case.

It will be a great pleasure to greet you in Abbaye again, we are all looking forward to it already.

Sunny regards from Talloires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at the Abbaye hotel. I have to admit that I was somewhat disappointed on this visit. Firstly, although stating they had taken my deposit back in February - they actually hadn't, also, upon querying the bill, the hotel manager was most rude. Customer service is not exactly top of the agenda in this hotel. Saying that, the restaurant and bar staff do work hard and are attentive to your needs.
Personally, having stayed in a number of top class hotels in France, this does not particularly rate as value for money. The location is great, although the rooms are a little tired and in need of a make-over. After this experience, I would question whether I might return or not.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Davekathadkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, General Manager at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Dear Mr A.,

we were very happy to have you back this year although the booking was a little bit problematic, you are absolutely right. I have checked all the mails that were exchanged and found out that we never claimed to have taken your deposit early this year. There must have been a misunderstanding, Further I was very surprised to read that the hotel manager was rude to you, unfortunately I was not able to greet you personally this time as I was off on a busness trip during your stay, nevertheless I appologize if anybody of my staff did not behave according to our reputation.
We will be always very glad to welcome you in Abbaye again and I can assure you that next time there won't be any problems nor with booking nor with the service.
Kind regards from sunny Talloires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Cotswolds
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We had stayed here before for a family wedding 4 years earlier, but the hotel was just as wonderful! We travelled with our large dog, who is impeccably behaved in hotels and restaurants, maybe not outside when he exhuberantly greets other dogs! Our room had a glorious view of Lake Annecy. the room was beautifully cleaned and the food was exquisite. The gardens were divine and the swimming deck was so perfect, but, with an enthusiastic "water" dog, we never sat there - too, too much temptation! Madame was very much in charge and we were very reluctant to leave for Switzerland. Hopefully, we will return because it is PERFECT, but expensive for we Brits!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCotswoldsWhizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Arrived to find that superior room with lake view booked and already payed for was not available for three days. Allocated a standard room with inadequate clothes hanging cupboard and no drawers at all for clothes storage. Good view of carpark but not of lake!No wash basin in toilet One therefore had to pass through bedroom to newly fitted bathroom to wash hands. Beaware that the hotel is an ancient building and therefore the rooms differ in sizes. There is no lift which may prove a problem for those with reduced mobility. Most guests seemed to be on half board. For four consecutive days in the restaurant exactly the same Menu du Jour with no choice was offered.In fairness one could choose from the fairly short carte menu which was well cooked and presented. A charming sommelier an impressive but expensive wine list. - but this is a four star hotelin an expensive region. We would certainly not return.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and outlook. Becertain to get what you have payed for. There are other restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank densilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, General Manager at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear Mr and Mrs C-P,

Once again thank you for having chosen Abbaye for your stay and thank you for sharing your opinion with other travellers although it is not very flattering for us. The critics are just as important as the positive feed back, as we can improve and correct the things we've done not well enough.
Nevertheless I would like to clear some points.
Yes, a mistake was done at your booking. We have immediately apologized and have tried to correct it as much as possible already during your stay. These errors are so seldom in our hotel that you see I obviously know whom I am addressing myself to right now.
You have booked a superior garden room with the side lake view from the balcony; we have only few superior direct lake view rooms, so we never contract them. Also the classic garden room you stayed in for first three days has indeed the parking below but very beautiful garden, mountains and a side lake view from the balcony. This nice room is normally not rented for the long stays as there is too little storage room for clothes, but as you know we have put immediately a commode with drawers to help you out.
We are a historical monument and our surfaces are strictly limited. It is true that there are no wash basins in the toilets and unfortunately you really had to pass through the room to go to wash your hands, but here we did not have any other solution if we wanted the toilets separated from the bathroom.
Concerning the restaurant, most of our guests are not on half board contrary of what you could thought; the Inspiration Menu is newly created every week and it is not meant as a half board menu. The Chef in fact wanted to leave also to our half board guests a free choice of à la carte dining. Though I have took notice of your remark and we have immediately changed the system and introduced a real half board menu changing every day with the choice of à la carte too if wished.
I am always surprised reading of how expensive our wines are: we have so many great wins starting from 25 to 30€, funny that everybody looks only at the ones over 100€ and 1000€ that are in fact impressive as our whole wine list is. But I am glad that Charly, our wine waiter, could help you in your choice.
Finally I would like to stress that you should see ( if you haven’t already!) with your tour operator for the difference of value between the two rooms, we have obviously arranged for refunding you as in Abbaye everybody pays only what they have actually had.
We would love to have you back to show you that this experience was a real exception.
Very best regards from finally sunny Talloires
D. Kirchner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talloires
2.3 km away
Le Palace de Menthon
Le Palace de Menthon
#1 of 2 in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.2 km away
Auberge du Pere Bise - Jean Sulpice
0.1 km away
Le Cottage Bise
Le Cottage Bise
#2 of 10 in Talloires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#5 of 10 in Talloires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
8.7 km away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Les Grillons
Hotel Les Grillons
#1 of 10 in Talloires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbaye de Talloires? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbaye de Talloires

Property: Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Address: 2 Chemin des Moines | Le Port, 74290 Talloires, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Talloires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Talloires
#5 Romantic Hotel in Talloires
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,016 - ₹ 40,422
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abbaye de Talloires 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talloires, the most beautiful place on Lake Annecy is the home to the Abbaye de Talloires, one of the most extraordinary hotels in Annecy. It has everything: centuries of history, a long list of celebrities who have stayed there such as Mark Twain, Paul Cezanne and Jean Reno amongst many others. Fine dining is assured with the Aux Jardins des Delices gourmet restaurant and the light cuisine with the La Table de Cezanne brasserie-restaurant at lunchtime during summer. The historical wine cellar is filled with hidden treasures. Rooms and suites, each one different from the other are offering breathtaking views. The cosy and welcoming Spa; the vaulted bar for romantic evenings; the pontoon equipped with beach beds to escape the world, a wide choice of cultural and sporting activities and so many more. But, above all, it's the people who work here that make this hotel such a special place to stay, the Abbaye de Talloires is the only hotel in France to win twice ( 2009 and 2013 ) 4* et 5* Hotel Customers Trophy Award for its quality of service! ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abbaye de Talloires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Abbaye De Talloires Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing