We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #23 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed in a Deluxe room - Room 413 - for 5 nights.

The hotel is right on the corner of the place bellecour and is a great location. There a numerous buses stopping near he hotel so it's easy to get around - the concierge were extremely helpful in this area, as we used the bus to get to the main train station and the zoo. The concierge was friendly and approachable and seemed to do multiple jobs like providing us with the rollaway bed, brought our luggage to the room. Reception were not very friendly, nor were the housekeeping staff. At other hotels the staff would greet you but here they only greet you after you make the first step. Our deluxe room had a view of Place bellecour and was spacious with room for a rollaway. We were given some delicious chocolate biscuits from le maca and at turndown some nice mini canneles cakes which was a nice gesture.
The taxi ride to town on a Sunday afternoon was 80 euro.
Free wifi is available which was much appreciated.

Cons
The key to the room took some getting used to and no one pointed this out to us except a passing guest who helped us get into our room -not a good first impression.
The hotel had only one lift which was small - you could only fit 2 suitcases and a person.
There wasn't any kettle or tea making facilities and no ironing board. The bathroom doesn't have enough racks for towels.
The toiletries use Fragonard which is nice but was not replenished daily.
There is no slippers provided and the air conditioning doesn't work well.
The hair dryer was one of the wall mounted variety and kept turning off as it kept getting too hot. Became quite annoying and time consuming.
The Hand held shower with out a mount on the wall, meaning you can only shower with one hand.
You had to call for an ironing board.

Overall a nice hotel that we would be happy to come back to.

Room Tip: request a higher room looking into Bellecour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABagOfJourneys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    457
    143
    65
    18
See reviews for
176
669
76
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Lyon as a city was a surprise in that I didn't know much about it and thought it was lovely. This hotel only makes it nicer. With a superb, central location right on the Place Bellecour, it's near shopping, the old city, the river and more. The hotel is just charming and beautiful with the kind of decor one dreams of in a French hotel. The staff could not have been nicer and more helpful. Everyone was extremely welcoming and nice. The room was gorgeous and comfortable with a luxurious bathroom and beautiful bath products. The bed linens were sublime and the restaurant was excellent. Just loved it here. My only regret was not being able to spend more than a night here. I will surely be back if I am ever in Lyon again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while on business and it was a wonderful change from the usual chain hotels. Very quaint and traditionally decorated, it holds great charm and a homely feeling. Staff were vey attentive and my room was wonderful with great views and good Internet connection. Breakfast was delicious and the hotel's location was brilliant. Walking distance to Lyon old town which is just what you need after a day at the office! I will choose to stay here on future trips, next one being next week!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Punam71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I would highly recommend staying here while in Lyon. The hotel faces the Bellecour and you are within walking distance from tons of shopping and buchons! Rooms were perfect size and very clean. Bathrooms were very upgraded and clean too! Service is very friendly, and they patient with us non French speakers. Their restaurant is very delicious, so good we went there two nights in a row! Their restaurant has also received Michelin stars. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebartho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#9 of 194 in Lyon
1,262 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 194 in Lyon
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,335 - ₹ 17,575
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing