We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lyon Metropole
Ranked #16 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stop over”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed here enroute to the South of France. Family room was spacious & adequate. Olympic size swimming pool which was very much enjoyed by all.Nice indoor pool with jacuzzi & ample balinesse style beds, lazy river pool outside for age 12 & over. We didn't venture out of the hotel, had drinks at the bar & booked a table in the restaurant which was fine, not great - did feel that as we were English we were not treated aswell as the French but aside from that a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: View of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ7London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    365
    102
    45
    27
See reviews for
165
489
26
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The staff were very pleasant and efficient! The bed was very comfortable, and I slept in easily with such calm. The spa facilities were welcoming and the equipment quite modern. You must overlook the 80s-style lobby and instead see this as a wonderful place to relax and get pampered.

Room Tip: 'Plage' side is quieter. 'River' side is noisier, and the Rhône is muddy and stagna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relations-clients, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Lyon Metropole and for taking the time to leave a review.

We are very pleased to read that you liked your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Customer Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We found this by accident and very glad we did. It was late at night, raining and the GPS couldn’t find our chosen hotel. But by chance we saw the huge sign atop the Metropole and headed for that for directions. The lady at the reception was very helpful and gave us the route to the hotel. But once there, it didn’t seem as inviting as the Metropole so we headed back. The lady gave us an excellent room with a large patio overlooking a huge swimming pool. Pity it was raining. The price was discounted and was excellent value for money. The room was neat, clean and comfortable and big enough for our luggage. We asked reception for some hints about a restaurant that night and received good advice, but we’d had enough driving so settled into the hotel restaurant. It became one of the best meals of out five-week tour of Italy (we were heading there from Paris). Really pleasant restaurant staff and an excellent meal. The breakfast was equally as impressive. We couldn’t have had a better hotel to stay at and it’s a shame it was only for one night. Thank you to the restaurant staff and the lady at reception.

Room Tip: Rooms with a patio overlooking the pool add space, light and a view to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilDPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My experience at this hotel was ruined by the fact that i could not get a wifi connection in my room. I arrived in the evening and was guided by the staff who were extremely helpful in suggesting a suitable restaurant (beware of higher taxi fares after 10:30pm as a short trip home from dinner cost €13 vs. €8 on the way). I was also not able to get a connection in the morning in my room but i was able to use the business centre free of charge. One other point was that there was only one powerpoint in the room and i could not charge my phone and laptop at the same time. Staff were very helpful in the morning when taxis were few and far between, calling the taxi company regularly when requested to confirm one was still on the way.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawsonHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed at the hotel for less than 24 hours but enjoyed the facilities immensely. The hydro pool was incredible, sufficiently heated to be used even though it was chilly. It had seven stations one more relaxing than the next. the waterfall was like having a personal massage of the head and shoulders. and the reclining station did a number on my tired legs that was sheer bliss. The hammam (wet steam) had multi colored pinpoint lighting that added a soothing touch to the steam, and the sauna was immaculately clean. There is an indoor pool (welcome on a cool night) with very comfy lounge chairs, besides the olympic size outdoor pool. There is outdoor seating near the bar or you can sit indoors in one of the many comfortable sitting areas.
Having said all that, My room was a bit austere. It had a large cabinet with a tv on top, A couch and a king size bed, and a desk with one chair, I froze during the night because I couldn't figure out the heating system and I was too tired too bother. The bathroom was okay the counter was worn out in spots. On the upside the robe and towels were thick and luxurious. In general the staff were very helpful and courteous. I would definitely return when I am in the area.

Room Tip: You have a choice of the pool or the water I had a water view and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhcostumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relations-clients, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear traveller,

We want to thank you for your comments regarding our services. We are really pleased to read that your stay was very pleasant and that you enjoyed the experience of our 2500sqm facilities well-being.

We look very happy to welcome you back at the Hotel Lyon Metropole & Spa.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
12.8 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel & Spa de Chassieu
3.4 km away
Fourviere Hotel
Fourviere Hotel
#20 of 193 in Lyon
290 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Cour des Loges
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
1,212 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale
2.9 km away
Villa Florentine
Villa Florentine
#8 of 193 in Lyon
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lyon Metropole? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lyon Metropole

Property: Hotel Lyon Metropole
Address: 85 quai Joseph Gillet, 69004, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#13 Family Hotel in Lyon
#16 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,191 - ₹ 12,245
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lyon Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lyon Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Lyon
Lyon Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing