We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and elegance in Lyon”
Review of La Chambre d'Hugo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Chambre d'Hugo
Ranked #6 of 57 Lyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Our 4-night stay with Christine and Christophe equalled our best previous BnB experience. Their warm welcome and constant care for our comfort and enjoyment of their beloved city contrived to enhance what was actually our second visit to Lyon. We found ourselves very ‘at home’ in the excellent central location of the elegant apartment. Everything was provided for our comfort and Christine’s breakfasts were a daily delight of artistic presentation. We are truly grateful for the opportunity to enhance our cultural appreciation of this lovely city through such personal contact with our fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Bronlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

I would echo the chorus of fabulous reviews previously posted and simply urge you to book this marvelous B and B, perfectly located in the heart of Lyon and hosted by such a lovely and helpful couple, Christine and Christophe. Christine responded timely to each and all of my questions both prior ( and after ) booking, and in addition to the wonderfully informative restaurant list, was also helpful with information regarding arrival by train and taxi. The apartment is superbly located steps from Place Bellecour and made for easy exploration by foot of the wonderful city of Lyon. Christine provided us with a map of the city and was extremely helpful in mapping out our itinerary and offering suggestions. Of course, before you start your day, a lovely breakfast is lovingly prepared and set out in a private dining room, accompanied by candlelight, vases of beautiful fresh hydrangeas, all set on stunning linens- wow! And of course, the food is fantastic- coffee, juice, cheese, bread, homemade jam , croissants & fruit. Although you are sharing their apartment, they are also discreet and unobtrusive and staying here was just a perfect blend of privacy and helpfulness. We stayed for 3 nights in October pre Rhone river cruise, and when I was not feeling particularly well on the morning of departure, they kindly allowed me to stay a few hours longer ( and of course brought some tea). Christine and Christophe are consummate innkeepers/ hosts and even drove us to our embarkation point! Book this now before it's too late; it is perfect in every way! Thanks Christine and Christophe for making our stay in Lyon so special. Merci beaucoup! Pam

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Bayarea2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stayed for five nights in September in this lovely, beautifully-located B & B with Christine and Christophe. Our hosts could not have been more helpful with restaurant recommendations and reservations, before we arrived and after. In particular, Christine booked us a table at the Institut Paul Bocuse (highly recommended too), only a five-minute walk away, in plenty of time to secure a reservation. The bedroom is very clean and comfortable, the bathroom is newly renovated, the towels and linens quite luxurious, and the breakfasts absolutely delicious, with fresh fruit, yogurt, jams, orange juice, cheese, and breads and croissants, all elegantly presented in the dining room with candles glowing and classical music playing in the background. The location is excellent, on the third floor, with an elevator, on a pedestrianized street (which is very quiet at night) just steps from Place Bellecour. Almost everything in Lyon you might want to visit can easily be walked to. For anything further away, Christine will give you directions about which bus or metro line to take. Everything in the B & B is of superb quality -- you will not be disappointed and we recommend La Chambre very highly.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank TMB581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

If you want a treat in Lyon contact Christine and stay in this fabulous home. We were treated like royalty and the breakfasts were fantastic, our hosts booked a Paul Bocuse Michelin restaurant for us where we were very spoiled, the room is comfortable and a beautiful new bathroom. Lots of space for two of us in this room and highly recommend this accomodation. We loved staying at this gorgeous B and B. We were very central to everything and close to travel requirements. Lyon was lovely and Christine gave us a map and lots of tips for sight seeing.

Room Tip: Quiet, elevator access, nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank kaywalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We stayed for only two nights and will come back when we have a chance! Perfect location, cosy, clean and quiet. Very friendly and helpful hosts and the best of all: a wonderful breakfast with homemade confiture, yoghurt, fresh crosissants, baguettes and fresh squeezed orange juice and more... What a start on a gourmet day! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Trallalao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#4 of 196 in Lyon
323 reviews
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 196 in Lyon
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chambre d'Hugo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chambre d'Hugo

Address: 21 rue Victor Hugo, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Lyon
Price Range: ₹ 8,333 - ₹ 10,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simple guest room very quiet in a classy appartment decorated in fine colors.Parquet flooring and antique wooden cupboards and chests.A modern and comfortable large bed (180 x 200).Private dressing, shower and toilets. A nice and natural breakfast served in the dining room. On the 3rd floor with elevator.Optionnal private garage.T.V.,WIFI, No smoking.No pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Chambre d'Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing