We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“U get what U pay 4” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne
Ranked #59 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“U get what U pay 4”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

This hotel isn't the best hotel ur going to find, but it serves it's purpose. if you are looking to stay in Lyon for a while, then I wouldn't recommend it. If you're looking for a place to crash for a day , then yea - it'll do.

Breakfast wasn't ready at the time indicated in the morning. Elevator's are old. The front desk help was useful, and polite. so no complaints w/ service.

I like the location. near the station was helpful to us, we walked from the station to the hotel. the people in Lyon were helpful on the light rail train that runs along charlemagne street. it was easy to get to Ars from here, so it wasn't too hard to get to see the shrine of st. jean maria vianney.

also, it is nearby brasserie georges restaurant - walking distance. and we really liked that too, since we had a good time there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HE_from_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    183
    101
    28
    8
See reviews for
43
163
20
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Greatttttt for a 3 star but not more ... the location is not convenient ,although its a short walk to the Gare Perrache station but in order to reach the city center on foot you need to cross the station . rooms are super quiet and comfortable , breakfast is just ok but nothing special to offer , so basic . good for a business trip but you can defiantly find better hotels under this expensive price !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saniban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Good location: 150m from the Perrache (TGV) train station. But not very convenient coming from the city centre, as you have to go through the station to get back to the hotel. There's a covered parking next to the station with a preferential rate when staying at the hotel. We had no problems finding a parking space in a side street next to the hotel when arriving in the evening.
Room was spacious, clean and quiet, with a small balcony ("privilege" room). But the bed was far too soft.
Breakfast was okay but nothing exceptional, basic continental breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Privilege rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GigiNini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We were very disappointed about this Best Western Hotel. First of all, the location is not great. The hotel is located just south of Gare Perrache in a neighborhood with a lot of prostitution in the street. If you go downtown at night, you always have to cross the station which is known for being not safe at night.

The hotel rooms are in bad shape and need renovation. They are clean, but that's pretty much all.

When we arrived at 11 at night, we got a smoking room on the very warm third floor. At the time of reservation we asked for a non smoking rooms since we don't smoke!!

When I went downstairs to ask for a different and non smoking room on a lower floor, the older men (night concierge?) at the front desk was extremely rude. He told me that the hotel didn't have non smoking rooms and he didn't have any other rooms left. I urged him to give us another room and finally, after he made fun of me, we got a non smoking room on the first floor.

Unfortunately, that room was facing the very noisy street and we barely slept for 4 nights. We didn't have a choice, it was either a smoking room on the third floor or a noisy non smoking room on the street side.

The elevator didn't want to move to the third floor and got stuck on the ground floor. Apparently our 2 suitcases were already too much weight for the elevator, so we had to send up our suitcases by elevator and walked the stairs ourselves. The last day the elevator broke down.

One night we had a drink at the bar. The bar tender was hanging around. The counter top of the bar was very dirty, not a place where you should serve drinks or food.

Breakfast is good. Service wasn't. When we got to the restaurant at 0950am, we were already told that service finishes at 10am which was a kind of an unpleasant welcome.

I would never recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva461972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

stayed here for a night on business. It's a good, practical choice in a convenient location. The rooms are a decent size, you don't pay over the odds for what you get and the breakfast is good. Not the kind of hotel you remember for the rest of your life but you won't regret it

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#89 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne
Address: 23 cours Charlemagne, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,163 - ₹ 11,819
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory hotel with restaurant and bar; located near the Lyon Perrache subway and tram; 1 km to Musee des Beaux Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Fastbooking so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charlemagne
Best Western Lyon
Lyon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing