We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Hotel - Evian”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Sliema, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hilton Hotel - Evian”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Just came back from my stay at Hilton it was amazing, the hotel is beautiful, staff were great and are very friendly and helpful. We were offered a transfer to train station with no charge. Two nights in a row we went back to hotel early as it was cold and not much to do in the area and we decided to watch a film however, it was not working we called up reception and they said there was a problem and would be fixed by the next day, 2nd night same thing happened so i called them up and they ended up upgrading us to a junior Suite (which was very nice of them) and said the tv would work. So on our last night we went back to hotel to get an early night as we had to be up early and once again the Tv was not working called up Recpetion quite annoyed and then said it was a probelm with the whole hotel!!.. Also one night called up for room service for a bottle of water which costs €6 and they charged us another €8 to deliever it to our room and this is a 4 star hotel. I have never been to a hotel and got charged so much just to have one bottle of water delievered. Would suggest to go to Evian in Summer though as there is not much to do in Winter there.

Room Tip: Deluxe room or Junior Suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emz788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    581
    259
    110
    36
See reviews for
335
903
55
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Went for my birthday in february, the staff were absolutely fantastic. Usage of the spa is highly recommended and the cost for the wet area facilities is well worth the cost (especially the outdoors heated pool in the snow!). Rooms were fantastic! Grounds were beautiful. The only flaw with this hotel was that during the snowy/icy period, the grounds are quite treacherous. and the only way in is up a huge hill or a lot of steps. Bars/restaurants are fantastic quality, even managed to get a cheeky cocktail making lesson while the bar was quiet. fantastic touch to end the stay - and offered complimentary shuttle to the bus station on departure.

Room Tip: Unless you hire a car, getting to the hotel seems tricky, but a train from the airport to geneva, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 122AlexM122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is my second review of the Hilton Evian. I absolutely loved the hotel the first time I stayed there, and looked forward to returning there again--and in fact we went out of our way to stay again. After the second stay, I probably will not return. It's a destination hotel, so you really have to want to make a trip there, and it wasn't pleasant enough the second time to want to do so again. The most striking change on our second stay was in the attitude of the employees. The first time we stayed, everyone was warm, friendly, welcoming. On this stay, the people at the desk had that slightly adversarial quality you sometimes run into at hotels: unfriendly or at least uninterested. For instance, no one asked us about our stay as we checked out, only said, okay, you've paid. One of the joys of the hotel on the first stay was the spa and pools area; this time we were told that we would have to pay 30 euros extra to use the pool! It turned out that the person had mixed up 30 and 13, but nevertheless, it seems absurd to go to a spa hotel in a spa town (and it was high season, so the room was hundreds of dollars a night) and to be asked to pay extra to use the hotel pool. When I expressed surprise at the change, the spa employee said that the hotel had been taken over by someone new since our last stay--that perhaps explained the change in atmosphere. (The exercise room was still free.) The hotel has pay parking, but on our first stay, the person at the desk explained that one could park on the street a couple blocks down the road, next to the lake, for free. On this stay, when we declined the pay parking, the woman at the desk told us that there was no free parking anywhere and we would be ticketed or pay a lot for meters anywhere on the street. She either did not know the regulations or lied to us. (We parked on the street again.) The executive lounge was still quite nice and the view of the lake still lovely. One other point: the first time we stayed we were on the top floor of the hotel, and our room was very quiet. This time we were on the floor below the top floor, and we had quite a bit of noise coming from above. There were children in the room above, and you could hear them running across the floor. So the soundproofing between floors is not great. If you do end up on the fourth floor, there are no rooms above that floor once you get half way down the hall--so try to get a room on the far end of the fourth floor or on the fifth floor. So, in sum, I'd stay if I had to be in Evian, but wouldn't go out of way to go to this hotel again. This second stay well illustrates how important a friendly atmosphere is to a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank literatureprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilt0nEvianlesBains, General Manager at Hilton Evian-les-Bains, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you having taken the time to post your comments.
We have noted your various comments and you have indeed made several valid points which have been forwarded to my Managers for corrective actions.
We sincerely apologise for all the shortcomings and I would like to confirm that your constructive feedback will help us to improve and further maintain our ambitious service standards.
Sincerely,

Dominique Dmytryszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We were hoping to celebrate the new year with a calm, relaxing spa weekend. However, the amount of mix-ups and lapses in the service were so many during our one-night stay that we decided to write a complaint letter to the hotel – something we have never done before!

Read on if you'd like to hear about our laughable time at the Hilton. Otherwise, please take our advice and avoid paying the 4-star prices for this incredibly underwhelming “luxury” hotel experience. We understand we might have encountered some bad luck and timing, but this many mishaps in such a short period of time is just inexcusable for a hotel of this supposed calibre.

1 - Room mix-up.
It wasn't until an hour after checkin - when we were in our bathing suits, at the spa reception desk – that the receptionist told us we had the wrong room number. Though the fault was not ours, we had to return to our room to confirm and test the key card. We then had to dress in our street clothes to collect our new room key card from the lobby and move our bags across the hall. The nice surprise - we finally got the "deluxe" room we had paid for.

No apologies at the lobby reception. The workers at the spa at least smoothed things over with free entry that day.

2 – Restaurant food obviously store-bought.
We paid 40 euros for a frozen pizza and hamburger to be reheated at the lobby cafe. It took almost an hour to get this stale food, yet there were only four occupied tables and it was lunch hour. The waiter did not pass by our table once while we were waiting.

No attempt to apologize - not even a 'goodbye' or 'have a nice day' when we paid.

3 – Fake king-sized bed.
Even in the nicer “deluxe” room, the bed was stiff and made a rubbery swishing sound when we turned. To call it a kind-sized bed is a bit of a lie – two smaller beds squished together and covered with a large sheet to give the impression of a super-sized mattress. There's no point in constructing such a large bed if you end up sleeping on one side or the other to avoid the joint in the middle.

4 – Party shakes the hotel until 4am.
We were awoken around 1:30am by loud club music that continued until four in the morning! When we called the hotel reception to complain, we discovered the music was coming from a party at our favorite lobby cafe (the receptionist could barely hear me over the phone). The receptionist could not give an explanation as to why guests were not informed about the noise beforehand and certainly did not attempt to rectify the problem during the night!

Yet again, no apologies or recognition of the obvious inconvenience.

5 - The final blow the following morning.
Despite booking our room through the Hilton website, our names did not appear on the list to be admitted to the breakfast buffet. Had to calmly argue a while with the hostess, were even ready to show her our payment receipt when she “kindly” let us in. Whether due to reluctance or lack of staff, none of the waiters passed by to take our drink order. The English breakfast was cold and soggy, not a surprise after our lunch the day before.

No matter how nice and enjoyable the rooms and small spa area were, we certainly did not get the value we paid for or were expecting. This was a truly UN-friendly, UN-relaxing spa weekend we will not soon forget.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 123carrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilt0nEvianlesBains, General Manager at Hilton Evian-les-Bains, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Guest,
I thank you for your review and I am really sorry you felt we did not meet your expectations as a Hilton Hotel.
We trust however that actions taken following your correspondance have demonstrated our deep regrets, and that you are fully satisfied with our answer.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hilton Evian-les-Bains,

Dominique Dmytryszyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The best hotel I stayed during my trip. Spacious rooms with plenty of space that dwarfs my luggage.

Quality Grohe bath/wc fittings with class-leading Peter Thomas Roth toiletries. Personal balcony that overlooks the Geneva Lake.

Fully-stocked minibar fridge that has boobytrapped sensors (warning labels pasted inside) to charge items to room account once removed.

Excellent spread of buffet breakfast that should satisfy the pickiest guest.

To the left of the hotel is where the casino and eateries are.

Free wifi should be provided, since they charge at 400+ euros/month, if that is not too much to ask for.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evian-les-Bains hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort
Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort
#2 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
763 reviews
1.8 km away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Te...
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
474 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Les Cygnes
Hotel Les Cygnes
#7 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel de la Verniaz et ses Chalets
0.7 km away
Hotel Le Littoral
Hotel Le Littoral
#5 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
154 reviews
0.2 km away
Alize Hotel
Alize Hotel
#8 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Evian-les-Bains? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Evian-les-Bains

Property: Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Address: Quai Paul Leger, 74500, Evian-les-Bains, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Evian-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Evian-les-Bains
#3 Business Hotel in Evian-les-Bains
#5 Romantic Hotel in Evian-les-Bains
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,921 - ₹ 23,644
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Evian-les-Bains 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Evian-les-Bains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Evian-Les-Bains Hotel
Hilton Évian Les Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing