We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stag Weekend in Chamonix”
Review of Le Vert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Vert Hotel
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at le Vert Hotel for my stag weekend and it was fantastic. The staff were incredibly accomodating from the night we arrived, and having the Ski hire on site made everything too easy. We are also given lifts to and from the pistes (whcih you have to in Chamonix wherever you stay) and advice on the best runs for the specific day. The bar downstairs was excellent, and the food quality was very good especially for the money. The manager knows her stuff about wine too!
Although the hotel is a bit out of the Centre of Chamonix, it didnt matte at all, as we spent all days on the slopes, and at 4am a 15-20min walk back with the fresh air was a bonus!
We were a respectable stag party, but even so you're never sure how you will be treated, but the hotel were great towards us and really cater for all types of individuals/groups.
Thanks to all the staff for making it an amazing Stag Weekend...
Andy (dressed up in the Latvian 1980's one-piece)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 372 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed at Le Vert hotel in Feb 2012 with a mate for a few days adventure in the mountains.
We took a punt on the hotel after my friend read a couple of reviews and it sounded like our kind of place.
It's ideal if you want a fun hotel where you feel at home pretty much straight away cos the staff are relaxed and helpful enough to make sure they do the things you need to make your stay go smoothly. It's definately one for those who don't want to have to worry about the language barrier..!
Sky sports and free pool in the bar and free WiFi certainly mean that you can stretch to having just one more beer in the comfy sofas in the communial area.

We stayed in two rooms, as we booked and extra day, tagged onto the start of our stay.
Room 16 was a little small and we had to share the double bed for the first night but that was fine, except for my snoring apparently! It was much better when we moved down into room 12 as we had a brilliant view of the valley on the wooden balcony, as opposed to the rock face out back. Bathroom was small but just fine for a couple of guys staying for a few days.

Breakfast was the usual continental but i thought that it was really well done. I've lived and worked in the Alps, both France and Switzerland, for 4 out of the last 6 years and i've experienced my fair share of continental breakfast buffets and it was a nice surprise to see a good one in a 2 star hotel.. Lots of hot, tasty coffee, plenty of fresh baguettes and jams and cheese but, unusually, really good ham! If you're in early enough, around 8ish, you'll have warm croissants, just the ticket before a cold day on the Vallee Blanche.

The hotel is a little way out of town but we didn't find it a problem as the bus stop is right outside, especially after getting into the swing of the bus schedule.
The location is truely ideal to get to by car, i'm accustomed to a sickening ride up mountain passes, and being about a mile off the autoroute is great!

Evening meals were ranging from pretty good to fabulous. The burger looked great but was a little gritty to the tasty as if it had been microwaved but the steaks were really good and the daily specials never let us down. Oh, and the tapas was good value and sooo tasty!
Free bread and a half caraffe of the house wine was a good way to start!

This hotel is one that i will definately now be using as my regular for the Chamonix region..!
Good value for the facilities and the breakfast alone, but the staff did their stuff to help us with our stay. Having a pro shop in the hotel is a plus, they can sort out any equipment hire you need and any guides you want for the off piste areas of the region. The skis and boards for hire were top end equipment but certainly needed a bit of tlc from what i saw, but then hire charges were cheap.
I'd urge anyone looking for a fun hotel in Chamonix to give Le Vert a go. It wouldn't be good for families or older couples but if you want to get the feel of being part of the scene in Chamonix, whilst being able to speak English to everyone once you've exhausted your french on the slopes, it's flipping brill..!

Thanks to all the staff, we'll definately be seeing you guys again.

Room Tip: All south facing rooms have a great view and a balcony would be good! Pack light as you won't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilky01Dover_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed here for a week in Feb 2012 and really had a fab time. The hotel is very welcoming and the rooms were clean and cosy. The staff were all really friendly and the food was amazing. I tried most things on the menu and they were all scrumptious. We had some great times in the bar which has a cool vibe and the staff were very accommodating. It was handy having ski hire on site and the guys in the shop were really helpful in sorting me out with ski lessons and hire. The shuttle service is brilliant as the hotel is a little bit out of town, but this isnt a problem at all as they will take you and pick you up from anywhere so long as you arrange it. Who could ask for more really! I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Warm & cosy rooms, big fluffy towels, great people and a real buzzing atmosphere (well known for their dj nights, which we sadly missed by a couple of days), great great hotel. Hired ski's in-house and got a shuttle to and from the piste. You can either get a bus from outside the door, get a shuttle or walk (10 mins at max) into town. This hotel is nestled in the valley by a frozen lake (short walk) and is exactly what we were looking for. Really good prices and the food is fantastic (apparently this chef is a new addition this season). There has been a big snowfall this season, we had snow and bright blue skies, just lovely. I'm trying to get a weekend out there again before the end of the season ...

Room Tip: Room 19 is a big room that can bed 6 people, has a great power shower and towel warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmallSnowQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The hotel felt warn and friendly and from the minute we arrived all the staff were helpful and friendly.
The room although small and basic was comfortable and warm. The bed was really comfortable and the towels nice and fluffy! The food was superb , we took the evening meal option and realy enjoyed the food. There is not really any option , so if you are picky it may not be for you. The pie on Wed was the best chicken pie I have ever had!! The service was quick and all the staff at breakfast and eve meal were pleasant and firendly . The rooms were really clean and the cleaning staff very friendly too!
The pro shop on site maybe a few more Euros in town but it was worth it for the convenience.
Chamonix is rather spread out so the location slightly out of town was not an issue as you would need to get a bus from everywhere anyway. The hotel bus service was great and would take you and pick up from areas at your convenience!
Now the negatives! No TV ( we were not bothered about this ) so if you want TV take you laptop as Wifi is free. No hairdryer to take your own!! Our bill was messed up and I have also ended up paying twice for ski rental as well as the bill being 200E more than is shouls be! So make sure you check, They did however sort it out willingly and promptly with apologies.
Noise!! On 2 of our 5 night were were kept awake by lound music from the bar - this is great if you want to joing the party till 12.30 a.m. but if you, like us, need to sleep after a hectic days skiing then this is probably not for you!! The hotel construction also means you can hear people coming and going in the night too!

Room Tip: Top floor back of hotel for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skiferrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
2.9 km away
Fleur des Neiges
Fleur des Neiges
#62 of 73 in Chamonix
59 reviews
2.4 km away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
1.5 km away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#23 of 73 in Chamonix
364 reviews
5.8 km away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
1.6 km away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vert Hotel

Address: 964 route des Gaillands, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range: ₹ 3,818 - ₹ 8,025 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Vert Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vert Hotel was opened in 2006 by a group of long time Chamonix residents. It has 21 ensuite double, twin and triple rooms, a restaurant, hire shop and lively bar. The restaurant is consistently rated one of the best in Chamonix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Vert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Vert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing