We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
68
120
89
35
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
120
89
35
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station mont blanc lively bar breakfast was excellent half board first floor haute route du midi rooms are small boot room ski holiday excellent location central location cable car centre of town mountains trek
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Mixed experience - Location is A1, superb. Rooms/bathroom on the small side but ok. Biggest let down is the service. So many small issues that add up to be annoying. Reception on the whole were unhelpful and if we had not pre-researched would have worryingly accepted some of the incorrect/poor info given - eg not offered free local transport pass on check in that every area hotel resident should get. Hotel wifi was down as much as it was up the whole duration of the stay so we had to go to internet cafe. Reception seemed unwilling to help book our taxi back to airport. Breakfast had things missing and hot food not kept hot, cold not kept cold - you get the picture. The choice was pretty wide...however....items at breakfast ran out more than an hour before closing and not replaced. No sliced bread for toast for 2 days as they ran out, a supermarket is next door!!!

Hotel seems generally poorly run/managed with zero attention to detail. Sometimes felt more of a hostel than a hotel. All staff seemed to be young Scandinavians.

Would I stay again...hmmm i would shop around. Location is the only winner here.

Room Tip: shop around before booking
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EssexPalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

First I got a single room. It was very small and had bad smell from the bathroom. Besides, till very late hours there was a noise from the street. After I asked to change my room, I got much bigger one facing the inner yard. It was big improvement. Complimentary breakfast was good, it costs 12 euros. The staff is very helpful and speaks excellent English. There is a very old elevator, from the 1950s.

Room Tip: ask for the room that not faces the Mont Blan.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

On the positive side, the breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly. On the negative side, the hotel is next to a roundabout which attracted loud motorcyclists in the middle of the night, waking us up before a long hike the next day. The room was very small with almost no room to unpack. There's no proper shower set-up in the bathroom. So after one shower the whole room is soaked. It was OK for one night.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank violinjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here twice
Once on the way to Liguria and then on the way to London
It has a very good outside restaurant but it is only good in the warm weather
Had a fantastic lunch
Rooms are very basic but OK
On our way back in September there was not much on the menu at the evening and was also cold so we went to another restaurant.
Arrive early if you need a car parking place
Chamonix is frightfully expensive and in my opinion the restaurants are over priced and not good value for money
However if you feel like showing up it is the place to be seen
The views are out of this world awesome!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EvaM221150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We stayed for 6 nights in room 109.

I do not believe this was good value for money and felt the following issues ruined our holiday in Chamonix.

We did not bring this up with the reception staff as we didn’t want to cause a scene, hassle or stress on our vacation, so we choose to check out a day early because we were disappointed and stressed.

Not good value for money: €804.60 for 6 nights is absolutely absurd and did not fit in line with the other hotels in the area, especially for the amenities included. This was definitely not worth the price we paid.

Dirty room: As we walked into the room our eyes were drawn to a disgusting old chair in the corner which has all the material ripped and a stain on it. We never used this chair once due to its very dirty appearance.

The shower was just one tiny wet room, the floor wasn’t curved downward towards the drain so the entire floor got wet and caused the wood around the door to get all soggy and mouldy. The rooms look nothing like the photos we saw prior to the visit. Hot water was unpredictable when you entered the shower, the water could be hot, and within seconds it can change into icy freezing water!

Walls and ceilings awful: This was the main issue! The noise on Monday and Tuesday night were quite loud but we thought the guests would settle down later in the week. Wednesday night was incredibly loud with stomping feet – It sounded like someone jumping on the floor. Thursday night was the most important for us both to sleep due to a race we had on Friday morning but we couldn’t get any sleep which clearly affected our race experience. Friday night we never slept there due to racing. Saturday night was noisy again so we made the choice NOT to spend a final night in there listening to people stomping around us all night long.

“A good night’s sleep”: Unfortunately we did not experience a good night sleep here as upon inspection of the mattress, these were only foam which was about an inch thick. As per the above regarding the amount of money we paid for the hotel, this was not good value for money for a good night’s sleep and would expect much more quality for the expense paid.

Left a day early: We left a day early due to all these issues and found cheaper accommodation in the valley instead, which resulted in a much better night’s sleep. On expressing that we were checking out early, no member of staff asked why we were leaving a day early or if we had a pleasant stay which I think is very poor customer service.

Please see our photos uploaded which show you the REAL look of the rooms!

I have contacted the hotel multiple times asking for them to resolve this complaint but my letter keeps getting ignored and brushed under the carpet.

Room Tip: Check into another hotel!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i198g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews