We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,341)
Filter reviews
1,341 results
Traveller rating
522
679
120
17
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
679
120
17
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift train station family room old town carry bags the hotel is conveniently located public underground parking one night stopover star hotel first floor minute walk enjoyable stay wifi worked well euro breakfast no safe in the room close to the city center croissants
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,341 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Hotel des Alpes is located a couple of minutes away from the station and within very easy walking distance (5 minutes maximum) to the beautiful old town with its tourist attractions and great restaurants.
The staff are wonderful, always so friendly and helpful, and although the rooms are not big they are very clean and recently redecorated. The continental breakfast is good.... especially the croissants.
We have stayed here twice now and happily recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Higher floors less noisy. Secondary glazing keeps traffic noise to a minimum but we always sleep with the window open wherever we are.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bitters237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

The hotel was chosen because of its price and good reviews, unsurprisingly, the hotel was fully booked during my stay.

Arriving by car, there is a free 2-minute spot outside the hotel for a quick dash to the reception to enquire about parking, it can be inconvenient if that spot is temporary taken. FYI - hotel's parking is a public car park located under Stalingrad Square called Parking Poste, get a discount card from the hotel when exiting to qualify for hotel's parking rate (EUR1/hour during the day, free overnight).

Hotel's reception is located on the first floor, check-in was quick and friendly. The reception is also manned 24 hours as one is required to drop their keys at the reception each time you leave the room. The hotel has no lift.

My room is located on the second floor overlooking the train station. The room is thoughtfully decorated, it has a firm queen size bed with two normal size pillows and two small cushions, two small bedside tables with two lamps, a desk with a desk lamp, a chair, a shelf unit for storage, and a rod with ten hangers. The space between the bed and the wall are tight, just enough to tip toe around. Extra pillows were provided upon asking.

The bathroom is small but brightly lit, it has a good size shower box with rain shower, a hairdryer, one towel rail, 3 hooks, and plenty of space for storage, the bathroom also has a timed heater which is very useful to get rid of the dampness. It was very clean.

My bathroom must share the same air vent with the bakery/cafe below because it smelled like one during the day, it was not a good thing.

Although it is a non-smoking hotel, there was a faint yet unpleasant cigarette smell in my room, I wish hotels would do more to enforce their non-smoking policy. Comparing to the bathroom, the room wasn't as clean, there was either tomato sauce or blood on the wall, the carpet also has a damp smell.

Sleep was ok due to the combination of smell and average quality bed linen, I could hear noise from the upstair room, fortunately it wasn't enough to disrupt my sleep. The double windows are great to keep out street noise.

There are plenty of eateries by the hotel, however, the bakery on the ground floor was average. I must note that it is worth venturing to Avenue du Rhône to Le Bistro du Rhône for a meal.

I would consider staying here again if the odour issues are addressed.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank little_ostow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahHoteldesAlpes, Responsable relations clients at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear customer,
We would like to thank you for such a detailed review.
After reading your review, we immediately checked your room but did not find any stain on the wall. There is indeed a bakery on the ground floor, but our air vent is not shared with the bakery.
We are a fully non-smoking hotel but unfortunately this instruction is not always respected. Reception is open 24/7. In case of a problem in your room, we always do our best to find a solution, and change your room is this is possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for the night en route to skiing & it was perfect. The man at reception was very nice, we could walk to dinner, the room was basic but clean & breakfast surprisingly nice with great value for money. Definitely a good place to stay in the center of lovely Annecy.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank CBV_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

The service was great, and the staff very friendly, but it was a bit odd not being able to take the keys to the room out of the hotel. The room was nice, but we had to go and get toilet paper for our toilet - also, the door to the bathroom was a sliding door, and the bathroom had no fan. Small things, yes, but they do add up. The shower was also absolutely bizarre. Other than that , though, it was quite a good room, and the hotel is reasonably placed only a short walk out of the picturesque city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pcrock_936536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahHoteldesAlpes, Responsable relations clients at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear customer,
Reception is open 24/7, and we ask our clients to leave their key at reception desk, so that they don’t have to carry it around, but also for security reasons: in the event of a problem, for example in case of a fire evacuation, we know which rooms are busy. Moreover, our staff is always happy to exchange a few words with you! As for your bathroom, we have been renovating some of our bathrooms, and are keeping it up.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon, and wish you all the best for 2018!
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We had a family room on the 2nd level with windows facing the street and it was quiet. Room felt like a little ski lodge, with a big bed in the middle and a single on each side of the room. Wooden paneling and storage cubes and spaces for storage. Plenty of electrical outlets. Wi-Fi worked well and was included. Bathroom was adequate (I don't understand why many European hotels have no shelf for toiletries in the shower). Staff was friendly. It was a block into the areas with the canals, easy walk. We were happy with the location.

We did not try the breakfast as we were traveling with kids and did not want to start the day off with a 40 Euro breakfast (I believe it was 8.50 per person). There's a bakery shop below and plenty of croissant and coffee options all over.

There is no elevator at the hotel and reception is on the 1st floor (i.e. second level) with rooms above that. The staff helped get the bags up when we arrived, which was very much appreciated.

Right across from the train station so very convenient to arrive or depart by train. We had a car upon arriving and there is supposed to be a hotel spot for unloading, but residents seem to park in it to run into the sushi shop across the street. We just pulled onto the curb to unload.

The hotel subsidizes parking in a nearby garage a block away, but only for overnight parking until ~8am. After that there is a charge for parking, though not too expensive. Street parking was impossible to find an open spot, even on weekends at night.

Overall it felt like a 3 star property, but I'm assuming the lack of an elevator forces a 2 star rating. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, the more stairs to climb.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zorkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews