We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel. Good location and price.”
Review of Hotel Amiraute

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Amiraute
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Toulon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Average hotel. Good location and price.”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is an average 3 star hotel in Toulon. It's located just off the Place de la Liberté which is a fairly central location. It's only a five minute walk in one direction to the train station and five minutes in the other direction ot the main shopping streets and squares of Toulon. The harbour front is about 7/8 minutes away as is the Rugby stadium (which is why we were there).

The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was an average continental affair. Sufficient (though the coffee was pretty dire). The room was basic and a little dated decor-wise, but it was clean and comfortable. It did seem like there was some renovation work going on on the 1st floor so I think the hotel is in the process of being renewed. Also, there was no notch for the shower head on the wall so the shower was hand held. A fairly minor inconvenience.

Overall, as a place to lay your head for one night in Toulon, the location and rates of this hotel make it a decent enough choice.

Room Tip: This is on the corner of a busy street so rooms not facing the street would be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballynac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    157
    48
    20
    8
See reviews for
60
123
22
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I would not stay here again. I stayed one night for business and did not have a good experience. My room smelled of smoke upon entry. Other guests were smoking in their rooms, which spilled into my room. The stairs on the bottom floor did not have a railing on them, which lead to a 6 foot drop. Staff was nice, but that was about it.

Room Tip: Go to the all seasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed here for 10 days. It was really good value for money, clean and friendly. The breakfast bar had a good variety for French English and Germans. The staff went that extra mile, ordering me a paper each morning without charge.
The position was just right for the old town and the harbour.
I'm sure we will return when next in Toulon

Room Tip: Good views from the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodacious44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I stayed in room 404 for 3 nights. The room had stains on the carpets and when the air-conditioner was turned off the room smelled like urine and the water didn't drain out of the sink in the bathroom. I would not recommend this hotel for it's price. At night I could here a man in an adjacent room coughing and snoring all night. The walls are so thin you can hear everything. My family stayed at Hotel Cornish for similar rates and their room condition and location were alot better. Amiraute is Bad Bad Bad. On the plus side there is a friendly female receptionist who was more than helpful, and a young female cleaner with a British accent was delightful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vessel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2008

I was a little disappointed when I first walked into this hotel. Although it's rated 3*s, it looks nothing like a 3* in the States. A definite 2*, though. Everything was kind of tired and worn looking. The furnishings in my room looked like they might have been purchased at KMart around 20 years ago. The TV was tiny, around 14" in diameter, but it did have CNN & Canal+. The room looked freshly painted, carpet squares in the room looked newish though of cheap quality, and the linens looked fresh and clean.

Although on the hotel's website, it said there was air conditioning, it did not work in either of the rooms I was in (had 2 separate stays) and the outside temps were 23-24 degrees. The site also says complimentary newspapers are available in the lobby. No matter what time I was down, there was only one used French newspaper available to read in the lobby.

Wifi is available for 17 euros a day (around $26!!!). Save your money and walk down 2 short blocks on the Avenue Strasbourg to the McDonald's . For the price of a drink or snack there, you get unlimited FREE wifi!!!

Breakfast is 10 euros a day, around $16. I peeked in and there was only coffee and an assortment of croissants out. Totally not worth it. Paul's Bakery, 2 blocks away , on 11 Rue Berthelot, has a breakfast special of 3.20 euros for a large cafe au lait and a choice of 3 pastries.

Everyone at the reception desk was very nice. Price was worth it. I paid $120 for a single. There's not much choice among hotels in Toulon. Most are in the 2* range. It was only a few blocks (around 5 minutes) from the train station and maybe 10 minutes to the port area. Pretty good location, overall.

I would stay here again if I had to go to Toulon again. Just don't expect a 3*s like in the States.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No air conditioners that worked.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nancysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulon hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Mourillon
Hotel Les Voiles
Hotel Les Voiles
#2 of 16 in Toulon
167 reviews
Grand Hotel Dauphine
#9 of 16 in Toulon
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amiraute? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amiraute

Property: Hotel Amiraute
Address: 4 rue Adolphe Guiol, 83000 Toulon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Toulon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Toulon
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,133 - ₹ 7,302
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amiraute 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven story hotel with balconied windows, multilingual staff; situated in the center of town; 300 meters from the Old Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amiraute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Toulon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing