We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Marseille.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Tulip Villa Massalia
Ranked #29 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is by far my favorite hotel in Marseille. People working there are so nice and everything is just perfect. The room was big, and the bed was really comfortable. Super clean and with a nice view. The breakfast is totally worth it! So many options (and good ones)!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraBranches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear SarahBranches,

Thank you for giving us the Best Hotel in Marseille award! It goes straight to the heart of our entire team.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you very soon

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is a very good 4 star hotel. We chose a "deluxe" room which had a balcony with a sea view and overlooked the swimming pool and a small horse race track which occasionally had some races lasting all of 5 mins. The hotel is a 10 mins drive from downtown Marseilles and one minute (by car) from the beach in a safe residential neighborhood. The secure indoor parking with a elevator with direct access to reception and to our room floor made moving luggage very easy. The breakfast buffet included a wide selection of pastries, breads, cheeses, cold cuts. Being February, the fruit salad was not great; but there was a small selection of hot food (bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, crepes) In the evening, the hotel's restaurant serves experimental French food which is best avoided. We had a bad experience with Duck Canoloni. Our waiter, without hesitation on his own initiative, removed the charges from our bill. This is highly unusual in Europe and speaks volumes for how service oriented this hotel is. So overall, would definitely recommend this hotel and we do plan on returning again next time we visit Marseilles.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room with balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VM1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Dear VM1960,

We thank you for your great comments concerning our hotel.

We took good notice of your highlights regarding the restaurant and have worked on a new menu to improve your satisdfaction.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon again.

Best regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Good 4* hotel with good staff and service. My room was good but nothing extraordinary – no great views as it overlooked the local gas/ petrol station. However, it was clean with a comfortable bed and a nice en-suite – although the shower is small and weak. TV channels are all French. Breakfast was good but little hot food available. Dinner in restaurant was OK but as there are a number of nice restaurants about 5min walk away in the direction of the sea that is not a problem except this was February and very cold - it snowed during stay. I was staying there at a business conference so had little chance to get out and sample the locality.

Room Tip: Hotel is the other side of Marseilles from the airport and be aware a taxi is about Euro60. Better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldbolter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Oldbolter,

We would like to thank you for taking time to give your impressions following to your stay and we are sorry to hear it did not match your expectations.

Our Superior Rooms have indeed a city view, so why not try a Deluxe Room for your next stay? These rooms have view on the horse race or on the sea.

We are looking forwad to welcome you soon again.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We ended up staying one night here because our home in Marseilles had frozen pipes... Emily, by phone and later at the reception desk, almost made me forget our misery after two days of no water... She was so warm and welcoming, arranged a remarkably good deal (127E for three people in a nicely located room), found a room that would be ready for us to move in immediately (at 11 am!) and actually had laundromat addresses waiting for me when we arrived...

From beginning to end, the service really stood out for us because overall, customer service in Marseilles is lamentable... We've had some horrendous experiences putting family and friends up at other places.

The room itself was not the greatest... a fold down bed that did not allow for reading in bed at all because of how the light fixtures worked... and they could use a soundproofing overhaul... could hear partying on our floor... Nice bathrooms, slippers, bathrobes, toiletries though.

The food was really quite good... And not expensive... Room service for the same prices as eating in the bar (a very extensive menu, too)! We never actually ate in the restaurant, so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marseille-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Americaninmarseilles,

Thank you very much for your review on your stay in our hotel. Emilie was touched by all your compliments regarding the help she gave you while staying with us.

As far as the room is concerned, we are indeed working on a process to have the reading light at the inner side of the bed.

The entire team hopes to have the pleasure to welcome you soon again.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Good 4* hotel.
Nice parking, excellent welcome, the room wasn't too bad: it was clean, confortable bed, with a nice terrace w. sea view (the sea view is really overated...it is so far away). I was in a superior room not a standard room.
It lacks some light in the room especially near the cupboard in which I couldn't see a thing.
There was an expresso machine in the room but who really cares.
TV had a decent amount of channels.
The room has curtains but also electrical blinds which is a plus if you like your night being pitch black.
Insonorisation is not excellent, luckily for me my neighbor was in bed early.
There is a heated swimming pool but haven't had a chance to try it.
Breakfast was good but no eggs
It really is a business oriented hotel.
Some nice restaurants are a 5min walk away in the direction of the sea and the neighborhood is brand new, clean and very quiet. At least when I was there (January).

Room Tip: the sea view is not worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tZar972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear tZar972,

Thank you for your detailed feedback on your stay in our hotel.
The seaside is indeed at 200m of our hotel and all our Deluxe, Junior and Executive Suites have view on the horse race and the sea.
Our continental breakfast offers scrambled eggs as well as boiled ones; we are sorry to read you did not find them on our buffet and proceeded to a check of our breakfast’s standards with our Team.
We hope that you will see this improvement while staying with us during your next trip in Marseille.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
New Hotel Of Marseille
#19 of 132 in Marseille
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Marseille Palm Beach
#15 of 132 in Marseille
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Villa Massalia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Villa Massalia

Address: 17 Place Louis Bonnefon, 13008 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#7 Family Hotel in Marseille
#15 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#15 Business Hotel in Marseille
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: ₹ 8,226 - ₹ 13,813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Villa Massalia 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the Borély park, facing the sea and the islands of Frioul, the 4- star Golden Tulip Villa Massalia hotel with its 140 rooms, invites you to a comfortable and relaxing stay, close to beaches and calanques, it offers unique spaces for vacations, seminars and events. 1000 m² of space, our 8 rooms can host your events from 10 to 500 people. The majority of the rooms enjoy natural daylight. Chef Cyrille Repetto offers a Mediterranean cuisine, inventive with regional flavors and traditions. Our restaurant is listed in the 2016 Top 20 Best Marseille and Aix-en-Provence restaurants. On sunny day, the terrace restaurant welcomes you to its green. For your well-being the hotel has a fitness area, a spa with outdoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. Location : • At 5 minutes walk from Borely Park and Beaches • A 5-10 minutes drive from the Stade Vélodrome • At 15 minutes from the Saint-Charles Station and the Vieux Port • At 35 minutes from Marseille Provence Airport International ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Villa Massalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Massalia Hotel Marseille
Massalia Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing