We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clearly not a 4 star Hôtel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip Villa Massalia
Ranked #20 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Nice
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clearly not a 4 star Hôtel”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Very noisy Hotel.

Such noise into the room (heat system at the roof) that we asked for another room.
After 1 hour and 4 calls we obtained a new room at level 3.

Breakfast very expensive (21€)
Tiny Swimming pool

Flee !

Room Tip: Avoid last floor (4)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierrick06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, General Manager at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Pierrick06,

We would like to thank you for taking time to give us your review following to your stay in our Hotel.

As comfort and satisfaction is at the heart of our preoccupations, we have taken good notice of your comments and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon again so you can see for yourself the improvement of our facilities.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    356
    136
    51
    31
See reviews for
147
438
35
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The good:
Location is near the sea front. Marseille is not much of a holiday destination, but for a short break this would be fine.
The rooms were good, there is a nice pool and seating area. Interior looks smart.

The Bad
I sometimes thought the staff thought they were doing us a favour by serving us at the bar. The service was either slow or absent. Lots of sighing and scowling from the bar staff especially. The food was very average. For conference facilities, it was rubbish, as the conference rooms had no projectors and few other facilities.
Really, the bar service was unhelpful and awful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, General Manager at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear TheGP,

We would like to thank you for your comments following to your stay at the Villa Massalia. We are sorry to hear it did not match your expectations.

Please be ensured that your comments have been treated by our F&B Manager so that the service is improved.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Away from the busy city of Marseille the Hotel is in a fairly quiet location, I say fairly because there is a busy roundabout on its door step,however to the rear is a horse racing track and golf course which the pool area overlooks.Pool area is of modest size but is very clean and a relaxing place to be.Be quick to get a sunbed in peak season.Are stay was in Early August
The staff were all very polite and helpful.
Loved the bar area, dark and tranquil,contempary decor. All made for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Best rooms are those overlooking the race course and pool which is a the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Dear harleydays,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write a review following to your stay in our hotel. Our entire staff is happy to be at your disposal for any help.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again for your next trip in Marseilles

Best Regards,

Jacques CHESNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I liked this place. Very good position for being in Marseille. The area is quite and safe. You can walk to the beach and restaurants on the beach side. The Hotel is quite and confortable. Rooms are big enough and clean. Nice view. Spa and outside pool very noisy and croudly: too many people and children. Breakfast there's a lot of choise, not always excellent quality but Ok.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggs47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Eggs47,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Villa Massalia and are happy to see that you appreciated your stay.

We have indeed a lot of people at the swimming pool during the summer and are sorry to hear the noise disturbed you.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again for your next stay in Marseilles.

Best Regards,

Jacques CHESNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This is a good hotel for business. It is located in an un-interesting area of Marseille but not far from the Vieux Port and not too far from the beach. Having a car is definitely required.

When it opened a few ago. I thought it had a good chance to become one the best hotels in Marseille. The design was bold and it brought something new to the hotel scene in Marseille. Unfortunately business has been disappointing. So well trained staff is now replaced by interns, some maintenance is postponed etc...Wifi coverage is patchy. It gets better near the elevator but then you have the noise of the elevator. The fitness area and the swimming pool are very small.

The most disappointing is by far the food. Totally worthless. Pretentious, expensive and bland. The selection of wines is the same. When I stay here I go for dinner in the Vieux Port area.

I stay here because it is conveniently close to my clients office and I know that I can have a good night of sleep. But I avoid to spend any time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carnetdaventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear Carnetdaventure,

We would like to thank you for taking time to give us your impressions following your stay in our hotel. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed.

Our staff is at your entire disposal at all times to help you with any issue. We do indeed have trainees; it is indeed very important to us to give young people the chance to learn how to work in a four stars hotel.

We change our Restaurant menu every two months so we hope that you will find a meal that matches your expectations next time you come to visit us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.


Best Regards,

Jacques CHESNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
NH Marseille Palm Beach
#13 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 96
#1 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Villa Massalia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Villa Massalia

Property: Golden Tulip Villa Massalia
Address: 17 Place Louis Bonnefon, 13008 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#12 Family Hotel in Marseille
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#15 Business Hotel in Marseille
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,980 - ₹ 17,742
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Villa Massalia 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the Borély park, facing the sea and the islands of Frioul, the 4- star Golden Tulip Villa Massalia hotel with its 140 rooms, invites you to a comfortable and relaxing stay, close to beaches and calanques, it offers unique spaces for vacations, seminars and events. 1000 m² of space, our 8 rooms can host your events from 10 to 500 people. The majority of the rooms enjoy natural daylight. Chef Cyrille Repetto offers a Mediterranean cuisine, inventive with regional flavors and traditions. Our restaurant is listed in the 2016 Top 20 Best Marseille and Aix-en-Provence restaurants. On sunny day, the terrace restaurant welcomes you to its green. For your well-being the hotel has a fitness area, a spa with outdoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. Location : • At 5 minutes walk from Borely Park and Beaches • A 5-10 minutes drive from the Stade Vélodrome • At 15 minutes from the Saint-Charles Station and the Vieux Port • At 35 minutes from Marseille Provence Airport International ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Villa Massalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Massalia Hotel Marseille
Massalia Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing