We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Cathedrale de la Major
from US$ 109.90
More Info
from US$ 40.50
More Info
Reviews (2,058)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
173
148
47
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
148
47
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews impressive cathedral mosaic floors worth a visit old port white stone other attractions open to the public notre dame le panier great architecture de la port area cruise ship interior stripes domes altar
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Very nice to walk around outside but unfortunately the interior is closed to the public due to structural damage by sea air full of salt.

Thank mike_3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is an impressive structure and is also surrounded by a large plaza area with great views across the city coastline. So worth a visit in that respect. However, if you are short on time and only have time for a couple of stops

1  Thank GC1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After being dropped off by the harbour, we saw this large cathedral. We walked around clockwise looking for a gate opening. Not until about 3 o'clock do you see the closed for renovation signs. However, it was still worth the walk. The stonework was quite unique. One area had a stack of stones cut and ready for installation. Don't recall when it should open.

Thank JimTVictoria_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

An abundance of architectural references and poor taste. It’s a fun walk through, but nothing more. The tiny Medieval chapel next door is going through extensive renovation and will be a gem when reopened.

Thank Bob_and_friends-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A massively building, beautifully built on the outside and even more stunning on the inside. Thought we wouldn’t be able to go inside as it is closed Tuesday’s, but went in the next day. Well worth seeing both this Cathedral and Notre Dame.

Thank ianwebb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We often gawk at the enormous structures that these old churches represent. The engineering to build the gigantic inside spans when there were no mechanical aids whatsoever. This building is architecturally amazing on the outside and really quite stunning inside. A must

Thank bigvicSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Cathedral is worth a visit for both the black and white stone construction outside and the dual colored stone decoration inside. The high arches, multi domed main and side altars, and multiple flags add to the interest and color. Add to your visit a stroll through the quaint streets to the east of the cathedral. Shops, restaurants, wall paintings, and laundry add to the ambience. The cathedral and surrounds are an easy walk from the harbor as well as where Royal Caribbean ships drop off their passengers.

Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A must see in Marseille - tips- you can get 75mins free parking at the carrefour 5 mins walk down the road as long as you buy something like a drink, or in my case, a croissant and a bottle of water for breakfast

I don't need to write about the Cathedral as I am sure it is widely covered

address of the carrefour: Avenue Robert Schuman, 13002 Marseille

Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

The interior Cathédrale de la Nouvelle Major is radiant with beautiful mosaic floors and lots of color all around.

Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

I can not believe the massive size of this cathedral. Easy walk from where Royal Caribbean cruise ship buses drop you off on town. I would recommend double checking the times it is open. When we were there, they were closed but it was still very nice to see the outside of it.

Thank jpsbigr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews