We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port
Ranked #5 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Everybody we encountered was extremely courteous and helpful except one waiter who was setting up tables on Tuesday evening (8th) who was so rude to us when we wanted to dine at the hotel, that we left and ate somewhere else. Lovely comfortable beds and good soundproofing. Will stay here when we return to Marseille.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tcolli_639846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Really enjoyed our stay at Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port - this was the second year we came and asked for the same room, which we got. Lovely location, very friendly staff, room kept clean and well stocked. Would highly recommend this hotel as a central location in Marseille, close to many restaurants and good night life as well as the touristy stuff. Good shopping experience - C&A bargains.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 787nikic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is an absolute gem. Relaxed friendly and accomodating staff, and a perfect setting in the Old port over which you will have a fantastic view. We had a room with a balcony and it was like having the bustling surroundings invited to your room - in a positive way. An everchanging picture of the boats and people strolling by. We will be back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We have been coming to La Residence for many years. We booked a deluxe suite and upgraded to a Ciel suite. Never stayed at Ciel suite before. Booked a ciel suite a few years back and was upgraded to the Notre Dame Suite.
The Ciel Suite was great. Spacious, Hot pot for our coffee(must have). Since its on the eighth floor, quiet from street noise. Bigger than the other suites except the family suites.
The staff was very helpful and polite. All that we need to visit Marseille. I always parked my rental car in the back of the hotel. Not sure if Im taking a chance. So far so good. Makes it easy and convenient to load in/out. The hotel is on the Vieux Port. Took many great pictures including panoranma shots. I like to try staying on the Monte Carlo Port sometimes and compare.
They closed off the street in front of the hotel back in 2012 and 2013 for the Year of Marseille. Its reopened.
Of all the luxury hotels around the port. I find this to be most accessible. Others are further out from the heart of the port so you have to walk further. We did that one year and you don't need to add on another layer of distance.
Great four star hotel for Marseille.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank universalav_dw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

For a short stay in Marseille, we chose this wonderful Hotel in the Old Port. It was a great experience, the staff were charming, helpful beyond the call of duty, and could not be faulted in any way. The Family Suite was on the second floor looking across the port towards the Notre Dame Basilica. You could not wish for a better view anywhere.The three of us (couple and daughter) thoroughly enjoyed our few days in Marseille thanks in no small way to this Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#4 of 131 in Marseille
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port

Address: 18 Quai du Port, 13002 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#4 Family Hotel in Marseille
#5 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: ₹ 9,016 - ₹ 19,978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "La Residence du Vieux Port Marseilles" is on the south bank of the famous Old Port, and offers stunning views of the waterfront whatever the time of year.At the rear you can see the breathtaking Notre-Dame de la Garde cathedral, perched on the top of the hill overlooking the city.Every room in our hotel has been newly renovated with a chic 50s retro feel, blending style and comfort. Most of our rooms have a balcony overlooking the Old Port and the Basilica.... Big flat tv, International channels, mini-bar, spacious bathroom, with L'Occitane en Provence products.And if you are looking for delicious food with high quality service, you need only to step into our adjoining restaurant Le Relais 50.It is the perfect hotel for your stay in Marseille: Ideally, a very good standard and a high quality service that have won our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Du Vieux Port Hotel Marseille
Residence Du Vieux Port Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing