We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely comfortable Hotel, in an excellent location with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port
Ranked #5 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2017

The hotel location really couldn't be any better for Marseille, it has a quayside position right on the old port Marina. I had an absolutely stunning view of the marina. It also faces the Notre Dame de la Garde basilica, on a distant hill, which nicely tops off the view. It's also well placed for the main tourist sites and the wide range of restaurants, bars etc, all within walking distance.

I had a prestige view room, which had a better balcony, it was well worth the extra cost. Noise levels were fine, especially considering it is in the middle of the tourist area, but make sure you properly lock the balcony doors to best shut out outside noise.

The front of the hotel is not particularly pretty, but the outside restaurant area is nice and the interior is quite stylish with elements of the 'Mondrian' style that you'll recognise even if you don't recall its name. My room was cosy with a good sized comfortable double bed.

Bathroom was a reasonable size and it was clean and hygienic (as was the bedroom).

Kettle with coffee, tea and creamer sachets was provided, and appreciated. As with most hotel though, i'd recommend you bring milk pods for tea!

The complimentary (I assume!) broad brimmed hat proved proved to be essential in the very hot sun I had while i was there (it was well over 30 degrees at times). There was also a complimentary bottle of water, which was also very handy and appreciated.

Only two very minor negatives. first was that the remote for the TV didn't work, but there are much nicer things to do in the old port area than watch tv, so I didn't bother reporting it. The other minor niggle was that I couldn't just buy a beer without food in the restaurant area despite it being virtually empty at the time, I could have understood if it was busy. I had just eaten so I wasn't go to buy more food. I don't believe there was a hotel bar.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful. I didn't see the maid but she did a great job cleaning the room etc.

This was an excellent hotel in a lovely area with great staff so I don't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Prestige balcony views are well worth the extra cost, but there's only a few available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017

We were so lucky to find this hotel. We had a large room, two actually, a great bathroom and a beautiful view of Notre Dame Cathedral. The hotel staff were great . The beds comfortable and everything clean as expected. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and it was delicious with a renowned chef preparing. I have no faults with anything at this hotel.

Room Tip: Fourth floor and port view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Very nice hotel - great location. Close to major attractions, shopping, metro, and anything you could eat. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Free wifi (secured! as we found many hotels offer wifi, but with no security). We booked a superior room which well worth the cost since these rooms are larger, especially by European standards. Bathroom was large as well, with 2 sinks, towel warmer, shower, and bathtub. The lounge is great and includes free espresso - we used the area upon arrival and departure. Loved the view of the port

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ufitnthin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We stayed at La Residence for two nights and really liked the hotel. It's in a wonderful position right on the harbour and perfect for exploring. We had a room on the sixth floor and the view from the balcony was spectacular.
The absolute best thing about the hotel was the staff. Everyone we met there was excellent. So helpful and kind. They really couldn't do enough to make sure we had a great stay. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ShellyWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Keeping going back. Nice style, great views, terrific breakfast, and wonderful staff all around. Maybe the best location in Marseille. Steps to Le Panier, the MUCEM, and great people watching. We had a room with balancing. The wifi has improved from previous years. Higher up rooms are slightly bigger.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stuartseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#3 of 131 in Marseille
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port

Address: 18 Quai du Port, 13002 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#4 Family Hotel in Marseille
#5 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: ₹ 9,033 - ₹ 19,951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "La Residence du Vieux Port Marseilles" is on the south bank of the famous Old Port, and offers stunning views of the waterfront whatever the time of year.At the rear you can see the breathtaking Notre-Dame de la Garde cathedral, perched on the top of the hill overlooking the city.Every room in our hotel has been newly renovated with a chic 50s retro feel, blending style and comfort. Most of our rooms have a balcony overlooking the Old Port and the Basilica.... Big flat tv, International channels, mini-bar, spacious bathroom, with L'Occitane en Provence products.And if you are looking for delicious food with high quality service, you need only to step into our adjoining restaurant Le Relais 50.It is the perfect hotel for your stay in Marseille: Ideally, a very good standard and a high quality service that have won our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Du Vieux Port Hotel Marseille
Residence Du Vieux Port Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing