We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
110
97
27
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
97
27
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift third floor quiet location overlooking the marina minute walk train station restaurant next door pleasant walk main town continental style book well in advance exercise walking croissants sea view room top floor harbour wall main part
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Having booked flights to Nice, found it hard to choose where to be based - we were so delighted with Villefranche and Hotel de la Darse.
Hotel is a picturesque walk by the Citadel to old town or up steps to new town. VSM is great base for day-trips (hotel is 15 mins walk to station or bus-stop, and can do long coastal walk to St Jean Cap Ferat). It's a nice town, lots of restaurant choices; hotel is by the old harbour so quieter than the centre.
We paid for sea view room and it was worth it, for view and balcony. Room was spacious but uncluttered. Sufficient storage. Modern bathroom. Bed was so comfortable we are trying to buy the same mattress!
No sound from road but there can be internal noise, and just nets rather than curtains so daylight in early - but wouldn't put us off coming back.
Room and public areas spotless.
All staff friendly and helpful.
Having tried breakfast in town, realised the breakfast at the hotel couldn't be bettered - ample choice, fresh and constantly relenished, lovely verandah - cost €10 but we didn't need lunch afterwards.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LisasReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We stayed there in early June and thought it was wonderful. The bathroom and room were very clean and pleasant. We had room 301 which has fantastic views of the bay and a balcony with a nice breeze. It was relatively quiet - and probably quieter on the top floor. We enjoyed the breakfast and thought it was reasonable for 10 Euros. The staff were friendly and helpful. It wasn't hard to find parking on the street near the hotel although that might be more difficult on a nice weekend when the beaches get crowded. It is a short and very pleasant walk to the old town of Villefranche-sur-Mer. This was definitely the nicest two star hotel we have ever visited. Really great value. And it gets that two star rating because it doesn't have an elevator. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daves111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Lovely hotel located on the small port of the Darse in Villefranche, 5-10 minute scenic walk from the town along the seafront. Good breakfast selection. Would definitely stay there again and would pay more for the view of the sea next time. Only downside was the lack of lift as we were on the third floor which combined with all the steps up to the bus stop makes for a lot of exercise with luggage! Wouldn't put me off staying there again though.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank pocket-sized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Harbourside location,small well renovated rooms with small well equipped bathroom.
(Shower not bath) very convenientand relatively quiet location.
No lift or elevator:stairs to upper floors.Not too expensive.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

We stayed 13 Apr 2018 for 4 nights on the third floor facing the ocean. Incredible. Yes, its not the most soundproof room I have ever been in, but it was clean, up to date, with a comfortable bed, and had a million dollar deck view. Worth the stair climb, let me tell you. And breakfast was a good value, lots of variety. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the ocean views
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank soccersusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews