We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great atmosphere, really charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, really charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

A little hidden jewel, just the right size to feel almost at home. A beautiful garden with a pretty pool on top of a hill, a charming and delicious little restaurant, and large, pretty and super clean bedroom. The warm welcome of the owner ended up convinving us, what else to ask for ? We had a wonderful stay and look forward to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pounatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    131
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
65
210
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Was desperately needing a getaway from an appalling summer in Paris so was very much looking forward to this trip courtesy of a last minute deal. Usually with such high expectations, that there would be some letdown. Not all, the hotel surpassed expectations. The room was lovely, incredibly clean. The location delightful (yes it's a 10 minute walk to town but with some lovely views on the way back). The service attentive, the pool great. A few pointers ... The room service menu is a bit limited and expensive for what it is but agin, just walk into Vence itself and you can find decent places where you can order a bowl of pasta for 10 euros. The choice of English language channels on the TV is limited to just BBC 1; not that one comes to the south of France to watch TV but would suggest to the management to access a cable service that offers a better range especially since most French households these days have a wide choice of channels (domestic and international). A warning there is no actual on site beautician or masseuse so you do need to book in advance but having said that, I had one of the best massages ever.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaminechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

My family and I had a relaxing and enjoyable stay at Hotel Cantemerle for 10 days. We had availed of their Gourmet Provence offer which includes breakfast and 4-course dinner for 2. The dinners served were EXCELLENT!

Location: What we really liked about the place is that it is in the outskirt of a quiet peaceful town yet near enough to drive to the city (e.g. 20 min drive to Nice) and other places of interest. The hotel is just a 15 min walk (5 min by car) from the center of Vence and around 7 min drive away from St. Paul de Vence. It is a good base for people who would want to drive around the area and visit the surrounding villages. If you don´t have a car, there are local buses that can take you to the nearby villages, Nice, or the airport for only 1€ (our baby and big baby pram got to ride for free!).

Room: We had booked a duplex room which was pretty spacious even with the extra bed for our young child and a crib for our baby. The hotel had provided us with a baby crib which was in good condition (looked pretty new too). We were lucky that our private patio had a view of BOTH the hills and the Mediterranean sea!

Facilities: It was great that aside from the outdoor pool, there was an indoor pool that we could use during chillier/rainy days and after using the hamam. The only downside is that there is no separate massage room so I had to send the kids and the hubby out of the room during treatments. The garden and pool area have comfortable lounging chairs. It was so nice and relaxing to just lie down on a lounge chair under the trees and listen to the cicadas during the hot afternoons. Basically, the photos you see on the hotel website show exactly how the facilities look like - no doctored or stylized photos!

Service: All the staff (reception, restaurant, cleaners) were very friendly and attentive. They had made our stay very comfortable and offered their assistance in a number of things even before we had arrived!

Food: The food was probably the highlight of the stay! We always looked forward to dinner and it was always excellent! Lunchtime menu was a bit limited but everything on the menu was delicious. Breakfast was also pretty good, with a selection of yummy fresh breads, croissants, and sweet breads.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nordics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lelystad, Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We (teenage daughter and me, Mom) stayed here for 3 nights in july 2011.
It was à very, very pleasant stay. Alltough a 3 star hotel, we have stayed in many 4 star places that could not match Cantemerle 's service and beautiful pool and garden area.
Highlights: very good beds, more than enough sun beds AND garden to put them, very quit, only 20 minutes from Nice Airport, lovely terras for drinks at poolside, NO horrible plastic chairs, wood and wicker only, lovely private terras with our two story duplex room, great free Wifi.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilylady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arezzo
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

This hotel is within walking distance to the historical centre of the town. It has two pools one indoor and one outdoor. There are good views from the pool of the surrounding countryside. It is very quiet. The rooms were plainly furnished but comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable stay in this area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m0ntesansavin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vence
2.2 km away
Chateau Saint-Martin & Spa
1.5 km away
Hotel Villa Roseraie
Hotel Villa Roseraie
#3 of 13 in Vence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
3.2 km away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#5 of 13 in Vence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
3.7 km away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant

Property: Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant
Address: 258 Chemin de Canta Merle, 06140 Vence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vence
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,696 - ₹ 22,264
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is enclosed in a stunning Mediterranean park, where you canrelax in the shade of the umbrella pin tress by the heated pool or on the sun terrace offering views of the Mediterranean. The Hotel Cantemerle also has a SPA including a heated indoorswimming pool, a superb Hammam, showers and a fitness area. For total relaxation, beauty treatments and massages can be booked during your stay. The hotel is entirely air-conditioned and offers a gourmet restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Cantemerle Vence
Relais Cantemerle Hotel Vence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing