We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
345
202
60
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
202
60
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great garden airy restaurant nice hotel spa area ground floor hear everything reception desk pool bar dining areas worth the effort modern amenities other hotels rooms are large quiet location would highly recommend this hotel breakfast buffet baguette
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Nice hotel with great garden and pool, although the pool could benefit from more quietness and less inflatable tools in it. Nice fitness room with excellent Technogym equipment
Concierge, pool bar and restaurant service could benefit from improvement when it comes to professional service
Schwan Chairs in lounge are obviously fakes which destroy the hotel's ambition to appear drawn to design and art.
Food is ok but nothing for vegetarians.

Room Tip: carpets in rooms very old, could do with an exchange to wooden floor
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Myriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDirectionVSP, Directeur général at La Vague de Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Myriam,
Thank you for your comment : we are glad that you mostly enjoyed your stay at La Vague de Saint Paul.
Opinions are divided regarding the inflatable tools : some guests enjoy relaxing time sunbathing on it too.
We are sorry that you met some service issues as everyone do his/her best to be there for clients as they expect us to be. The message has in any case been passed to both departments.
Regarding Schwan chairs in lounge, they are real ones actually as our owners are art lovers. What kind of hotel would we be to pretend to be an arty one but have fake pieces ? We would not be honest towards our guests; its not our way of doing things.
Likewise, we may not have dishes for vegetarians on our menu but our chef can prepare special ones on request : you only have to ask to our Maitre d'hôtel.
We thank you for having chosen our peaceful area for you stay and hope to welcome you again for a next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

The most beautiful hotel in France and perhaps even the world – La Vague is a fantastic, small, intimate, and fantastic hotel in the mountains, just outside the scenery Saint Paul de Vence.

La Vague means The Wave in English, and the name originates from the building style of the hotel that is a wave seen from the bird’s perspective. This makes the hotel interesting and unique – there aren’t long hallways abut curved ones, and it makes it interesting to walk around. I have stayed at the hotel five times, and I each time get surprised of how fantastic an atmosphere there is at the hotel. The reception is world-class with an extremely high level of service. Cleaning is excellent, and the entire area is kept very neatly. There is a large and gated parking area, a garden, various sitting areas, tennis court, a nice pool area with lots of sunbeds (this is not a place where it is necessary to reserve a sunbed). The pool offers a pool bar. Various sitting and dining areas around the pool. The area around the pool is gated, too.

Then there is the restaurant. Local French residents like to sit inside, but the restaurant also offers a large terrace with awning, and that is where I had all my meals. The service is excellent in the restaurant and the chef is really awesome and Michelin-worthy. He offers an exciting menu and very fantastic wines.

The hotel is very family-friendly and it is gated and safe for children. The pool area

Also, there is the art. La Vague is also an arts museum with two exhibition a year. The art is displayed in the garden and inside in the bar, in the reception, and in the restaurant. The art is exciting and new, and you can spend hours on studying the various artworks. The arts is groundbreaking and modern, and it’s fascinating.

The hotel also offers some conference facilities and a large conference hall.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDirectionVSP, Directeur général at La Vague de Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Nicholas,
What can we say after such a touching comment ?! We are so grateful : all the team of the hotel La Vague de Saint Paul and its restaurant Au Jardin de la Vague thanks you for that complete and exquisite description.
We are all doing our best to offer to our guest the best welcome and above all the best holiday with us.
Thanks again and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately this is my first ever poor review for accommodation.

Stayed here for 4 nights with my partner earlier this month.

Positive points: beautiful area about a 5 minute drive from St Paul De Vence which is beautiful. The hotel reception, bar and grounds/pool are beautiful and very well maintained. There is plenty of on site parking.

Negative points: The room was not dissimilar to a cheap 3 star hotel we stayed in several years ago (infact it was in a worse state of repair) it certainly was not the quality expected from a 4* hotel on the French Riviera. The carpet was dirty and extensively stained, the furniture had various very obvious dints and scratches, some drawers did not close properly, the tiles in the bathroom were in need of a good bleach and the sealant around the shower was mouldy and discoloured, the shower had such low pressure that it took me forever just to wash my hair. The mattress was uncomfy, the furniture outside was dirty and on one occasion we were given a dirty towel, however perhaps that was better than the next day when the room wasn't cleaned at all.
We only drank twice at the bar, the second day we went for a drink we were told no drinks were being served inside and to go outside (despite being clothed and wanting to drink inside, not around the pool) after 5 minutes sat there someone turned up and we were served one beer and a horrifically overpriced orange juice (€6 if I remember) poured straight out of a carton in front of us into gaudy plastic cups which we then sat inside drinking, akin to toddlers. I tried to mention the downfalls to reception however was told 'all rooms are the same'. Can't comment on the breakfast which was advertised as €20 for a buffet breakfast.

The area is beautiful, St Paul De Vence is amazing as is nearby Tourettes Sur Loup, the food we ate at restaurants nearby was the best we have ever had and the service second to none, the French are some of the friendliest people we have met, by all means visit this area but there are plenty of other 4* hotels to choose from or save some money and stay in a cheaper 3* that does what it says well.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hol899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDirectionVSP, Directeur général at La Vague de Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear Sir, dear Madam,

We are sorry that your experience at La Vague de Saint Paul was not what you expected.
We always wish our guests have a great time with us and enjoyed their holiday.

Carpets were planned but some unexpected technical troubles made us postpone the project : we would be ready now but difficult to have free rooms and technicians in this high season as you can understand.
Same thing for the fourniture : rooms are maintained throughout the year, especially during winter, but in high season, guests come and go and we have to do our best between them to clean and repair if needed.
Regarding the shower and the terrace, please accept our apologies as there was clearly some cleaning troubles : remarks were transfered to the housekeeping.
I'm however surprised that your room was not cleaned "the next day" : did you put the sign "Do not disturb" ? Maybe the service has ended when you turned it ?

Plastic cups are used for all drinks at the Pool Bar for security reasons. Hotels always want to avoid any troubles around their guests.

Our buffet breakfast is offered at the rate of 20 Euros per person from 7.30 to 10.30 with a very large choice of food and beverage : viennoiseries, bread, brioche, cakes,different kind of marmelade, fruits and fruit salad, cereals, charcuterie, cheese, eggs, mushrooms, sausages, fruit juice, hot drinks, milk, and so on.

Each member of La Vague de Saint Paul has chosen to work in 4-star hotels (or restaurants), therefore wants to welcome guests properly and give then a relaxing and unforgettable experience.
Be sure that we all do our best to keep this motto every day.

Best regards from the French Riviera.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

Stayed at this hotel for a week and really enjoyed it. The rooms are lovely with good sized balconies. The restaurant was nice for breakfast which cost 20 Euros per day but in the evening the menu was very limited and didn't change all week and was fairly expensive. There was a nice pool and plenty of sunbeds. There is also free parking. Staff were pleasant and helpful

Stayed: June 2018
Thank godot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDirectionVSP, Directeur général at La Vague de Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you for your comment : we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and all services.
Our Chef is "Maître Restaurateur" which means he cooks only local and fresh products, for that reason we can not allow ourselves to propose a large menu but 4 different dishes per part (Starters, Fish, Meat, Dessert). The 4-course dinner set-menu of the day is added to complete them (as the 3-course lunch set-menu of the day). This one varies according to the services and what was served : it can remain during 2 days, exceptionnally 3. Rates are in agreement with other restaurant of the same quality actually.
We thank you for having chosen our establishment and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

A very beautiful hotel, in beautiful setting, ideal for relaxation and very near to villages around to visit. Although I stayed there just for a weekend seminar, I enjoyed most of it! Very polite staff, comfortable room with private small terrace outdoors, access to garden and pool, delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sgiannatou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDirectionVSP, Directeur général at La Vague de Saint Paul, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Many thanks for your comment : we are pleased that your enjoyed your stay and seminar with us.
Saint-Paul-de-Vence, Vence, Tourrettes, Gourdon are all villages around to be seen, especially the old part.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews