We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location with a Wealth of History”
Review of La Colombe d'Or

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St-Paul-de-Vence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Colombe d'Or
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Convenient Location with a Wealth of History”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Located just outside the walled city, this historic establishment is a 'must stay' for those who can afford it. The public areas and private rooms are all decorated with interesting objets d'art. Hotel staff, from reception to room services, were invariably friendly and responsive to requests. The restaurant is wonderfully appointed and gives a real sense of fine dining. The food is excellent, the tables nearly always fully booked, and the staff are very attentive and eager to ensure you have a very pleasant dining experience.

Room Tip: All rooms have a double/double window, so any room should be acceptable for noise levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank micleroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    61
    25
    20
    16
See reviews for
64
137
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level Contributor
254 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We've stayed at La Colombe over a dozen times in the past years and if the hotel remains a very romantic place to stay - each room is different and the pool is magic, with it's Calder mobile - the restaurant is getting too crowded and noisy. The owners keep increasing prices, but not much else. The menu is still pleasant, especially the gigantic hors-d'oeuvres plate, but unless you visit off season, the place is just too crowded and competition in the area is getting better. So yes, a great place to visit once, but be ready to spend more than it's worth.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

What a shame, lunch with good friends was spoiled by senseless rude unnecessary comments from an arrogant fool. It is common practise all over the world, that leftovers are taken home occasionally for ones dog, occasionally for oneself. My wife who is French politely asked to take the remains of our raw crudité home. We payed for it after all. My wife was told that vegetables are available at the local market. Not for € 29.00 for a few tomatoes and a carrot mind you. It never ceases to amaze me how foolish people can be and just how petty. This grown up establishment unfortunately has a very childish servant. Good manners should never be taken for granted especially when your food is no better than an average bistro.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank LordBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My favorite inn on the Earth. All one could wish for in the heart of the French soul. Go, be at peace, receive the nature of the care as it is offered, be grateful, and you will be at the place of my heart. Intimate rooms, world renowned art collection, renowned gracious classic restaurant, casual old money attitude, aesthetics and atmosphere, cool pool, charming bar, classic terrace overlooking the beloved walled city of Saint Paul de Vence at the valley below toward Nice, Petanques by the beloved men if the Ville as you leave the gate of the inn, chez mon coeur.

Room Tip: Let the Hotel Family and Staff choose for you. Simply enjoy the grace of classic Southern France at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethAnne53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I love this place. we had been here several times, mainly for borthday celebratory lunches on the terrace. Fabulous.

This time we decided to stay over and ate in the restaurant.
This is a unique hotel, with many beautiful quirky touches. All the staff we met seemed very happy to be working there, the room was just beautiful ...all in all a wonderful experience and a million miles away from those luxury chains .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doghouseblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.5 km away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#6 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.7 km away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#9 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Colombe d'Or? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colombe d'Or

Property: La Colombe d'Or
Address: Place de Gaulle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#9 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,340 - ₹ 18,410
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
La Colombe d`Or Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence
La Colombe Dor
Colombe Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing