We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“”
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Poolside Parasol Perfection Sun spotting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Poolside Parasol Perfection
Sun spotting
Al fresco breakfasts always available
Your sunset view from l'Escalinade's terrasse
Chambre No. 1
Chambre No.2
Perfect Blue Skies over St Tropez Bay
Ste Maxime Marina
Summertime refreshment
Poolside or seaside...
Chill-out Zone
Bastille Day celebrations
Plage de Ste Maxime
First sight of St Tropez from the sea
Amuses-bouches
Giraglia Rolex Yachting Cup Race
Cheese & wine obligatory!
Aioli & Crudites - Bon Appetit Provencal Style
view from the sun-soaked terrasse
laidback at l'escalinade
Chambre d'Eau
Chambre No. 2
Chambre No. 2
Chambre No. 1
Chambre No. 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
HColouris...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ ”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit and we most certainly will be returning! Joan, John and of course Ronnie the dog were perfect hosts! We arrived after a long journey to one of the most hospitable welcomes, and all throughout our stay we felt so relaxed and very welcomed! L'Escalinade is perfectly situated with amazing views over the bay and just a 5 minute walk to every amenity. There is a ferry every 15 minutes/24 hours a day which takes you across to St Tropez and for 2 people who speak very little French we had no problems at all getting by! Rooms were very clean, air conditioned and comfortable! Our room had its own fridge, lovely fluffy white towels and balcony.
We would recommend this to anyone and look forward to returning to L'Escalinade!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your review! It was a pleasure to welcome you, keep learning French and hopefully we will see you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'..and a fabulous time was had by all!'”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We're probably one of the old timers now who keep returning because we can't find anywhere else that even comes close to the standards and genuine warmth received at 'L'Escalinade'.
This year, we 'block booked' all the bedrooms as we travelled with our family to celebrate a special wedding anniversary and what a time we had! Joan, John and Ronnie welcomed us into their lovely home and ensured that we all had a fabulous time- Joan even made arrangements for a special lunch at 'Le Club 55' which is an unforgettable experience.
Much has been said, quite rightly, of the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms (fluffy towels and all), fresh breakfasts (scrumptious), location (superb) and nightly get-togethers over a bottle or two of rose (who's counting?). But the real joys here are the charm, friendliness and hospitality of Joan, John and Ronnie. Nothing is too much trouble and they succeed in making you feel really special. Thank you all, once again, for another amazing stay x.
If you're looking for somewhere to stay, your search ends here- this is the place to be.
You've read all the reviews by now- so, what are you waiting for? Get booking- it's pointless looking anywhere else and start planning for a wonderful time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2015
And you know we love you staying with us!
Hopefully see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie706
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and wonderful people”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our expectations were high for L'Escalinade and we were not disappointed! John, Joan and Ronnie are wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble. It felt like we were on holiday with friends :)

L'Escalinade is situated close to the town centre with parking on site, a beautiful swimming pool and a fabulous view over the bay. The rooms were lovely and comfortable, with full sized fridges in each, a terrace and beautiful fluffy towels in the bathroom :) Ronnie arrived each morning to escort us to a lovely breakfast. We hope to be back very soon - thanks for a wonderful break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your review! Do come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonGol...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is our new favourite place in the South of France!!”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The ambience was great!!
Joan and John were fantastic hosts
Ronnie the boxer dog was so gentle that even my 86.5 year old mum who generally is scared with dogs was in love with him by the end of the 6 days
I actually cannot believe that the views could be beaten as the Gulf of St Tropez was stunning
Early evenings drinking fizzy as the sun lost its strength were marvellous
Five minutes down the hill and you are in the centre of Ste Maxime
We shall return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The drive up to it and the tight parking but thats because I cant park!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you here again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cas2814
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“superb B&B a perfect stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Joan and John are wonderful hosts and their dog Ronnie is so sweet. The rooms are white clean and bright and the breakfasts delicious. Beautifully situated for trips to St Tropez or for pottering into Ste Maxime
We would not hesitate to recommend this B&B it is charming and so are the hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the charm of the place and the charm of the hosts and the lovely breakfasts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2015
It is always a pleasure to welcome you to L'Escalinade! We are delighted you keep coming back and look forward to seeing you again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing