We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnifique!”
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Poolside Parasol Perfection Sun spotting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Poolside Parasol Perfection
Sun spotting
Al fresco breakfasts always available
Your sunset view from l'Escalinade's terrasse
Chambre No. 1
Chambre No.2
Perfect Blue Skies over St Tropez Bay
Ste Maxime Marina
Summertime refreshment
Poolside or seaside...
Chill-out Zone
Bastille Day celebrations
Plage de Ste Maxime
First sight of St Tropez from the sea
Amuses-bouches
Giraglia Rolex Yachting Cup Race
Cheese & wine obligatory!
Aioli & Crudites - Bon Appetit Provencal Style
view from the sun-soaked terrasse
laidback at l'escalinade
Chambre d'Eau
Chambre No. 2
Chambre No. 2
Chambre No. 1
Chambre No. 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
PDXtothew...
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnifique!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

L'Escalinade has everything one could want in a B&B. Stunning beauty from every vantage point. Attentive, caring hosts. Refreshing pool. A couple minute walk to classy town and beaches. A short boat trip to St. Tropez. Walking. Shopping. Eating. An awesome experience and one we hope to replicate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The serene setting
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review! It was a pleasure having you to stay, and look forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful house with amazing views.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

John and Joan (not forgetting Ronnie their dog) are fantastic hosts at their amazing house in Ste Maxime.
From the moment you arrive they make you feel welcome and look after your every need. The rooms are well furnished as well as being air conditioned. Joan thinks of everything and there is even a full sized fridge in each room to keep your drinks cool. The gardens and pool are wonderful with fantastic views over Ste Maxime and the Gulf of St Tropez. Breakfasts are a delight, served outside by the pool, with fresh croissants, bread and home made jams.
It is only a short 2 minute walk to the centre and a couple of minutes more to the beach. Brilliant location, beautiful house, garden and pool together with wonderful hosts this has to be the best B and B on the Mediterranean.
Thank you for a memorable holiday, we will return. R, P and L

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, location and hosts
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much! Our returning guests have become our friends and we thoroughly enjoyed the week too.
It will be wonderful to welcome you again here soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmayfield...
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Home away from Home!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here this week and I must say that we had the best time here. Joan and John are absolutely fabulous hosts. The location is beautiful and but a few minutes walk into the main town area. We were greeted by a wonderful breakfast every morning as well. Just like family or longtime friends... A MUST!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are delighted you had such a great time here and it will be lovely when you come back. Thank you for being such fantastic guests travelling all the way from USA.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to l'escalinade and hopefully won't be our last! We enjoyed wonderful hospitality from joan, john and ronnie the boxer dog. The breakfasts were lovely and the views over the bay were spectacular. The b&b is only a couple of minutes from town so is very convenient to all amenities.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is really appreciated! We do hope you will be back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cas2814
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“our 5th time at this special B&B”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Each time we go back we get the warmest welcome and each time the friends we take love it at L'Escalinade.
It is in Ste Maxime, close to super beaches and restaurants and close to the ferry to St Tropez. The rooms are clean and bright and Joan and John's breakfast is delightful .
A peaceful oasis to come back to after busy fun packed days.
Highly recommend

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Once more, thank you so much for writing the review, you know how much we enjoy you staying here and how delighted we are that you want to keep coming back and bringing your friends! Hopefully we will see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing