We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but basic”
Review of Hotel Berlioz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Berlioz
Ranked #147 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the Berlioz at the end of September 2013 and it was in a good location for exploring Nice & the Cote d'Azur, with the railway station a brief walk away. The walk to the promenade was 10 minutes and it was about 15-20 into the Old Town and a bit further to the Port.
The hotel itself was basic and clean. There was no fridge in our room (4), as some have said, which we would have welcomed.
And when we arrived at 18:30pm there was no-one at reception. Instead we'd had an answer phone message giving us a code to get in and our key was left in an envelope on reception - along with several others.
The hotel owner was there in the mornings only, meaning there was nowhere secure to leave the room key during the day & we had to take it with us.
Another fault relates to the City Tax. We booked with Expedia and there is no indication that we'd be charged a City Tax - until we checked out and were given a bill with no explanation about it. We paid but I wish I hadn't!

Room Tip: Were not given a choice over room and the owner was not there to help us change, had we wanted to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoDo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great budget hotel,easy access to main train station. Easy walking distance to beach, bars,restaurants and shops. Clean rooms,very helpful staff/owners. Free Wifi,air con in rooms including reception. Would recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: All rooms of good size with en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a budget hotel, it is simple, basic and clean. It was more like a hostel than a hotel. Staff were friendly, helpful and informative. Our room was very small but adequate to sleep in. There was no access to the roof terrace, we were told it had to be closed due to safely concerns. this was disappointing as it was one of the reasons I had chosen this hotel. The hotel location was good for onward travel as was near the train station and buses to airport. The tramway (to the centre) was 5 mins walk away, and Nice centre about 15 mins walk.
Missbrightonrocker.

Room Tip: Ask for largest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missbrightonrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The staff was amazing and very friendly, internet connection was very good. The rooms were quite big and most importantly very clean. The neighbourgood is said to be a little shady, but we didn't have any problems whatsoever and the fact that the Hotel is close to the train station was actually very convinient for us. Excellent price/value. Would go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deva2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The hotel is very close to the train station, just 5 min walk. The host is nice and helpful. We live in room no. 2, it is big in size, quiet and with cool air conditioner. The fridge is offered so that we can keep a lot of fruit, salad and drink cold. Don't forget to get a coupon leaflet from the reception desk. You can enjoy a big discount for sightseeing spots like palace and museum. There are many restaurants and cafe nearby. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 191Wanglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#63 of 204 in Nice
154 reviews
Hotel Parisien
#98 of 204 in Nice
140 reviews
Riquier
Hotel des Dames
Hotel des Dames
#102 of 204 in Nice
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Danemark
#79 of 204 in Nice
189 reviews
Centre
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#117 of 204 in Nice
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berlioz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berlioz

Address: 55 rue Berlioz, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Le Petit Hotel)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: ₹ 3,759 - ₹ 8,620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Berlioz 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Berlioz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlioz Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing