We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Best Western” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel
Ranked #55 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the best Best Western”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We use Best Western a lot on city breaks and this year joined their Rewards scheme. It made no difference at all and I suspect I am now just in for a lot of e-mails. Our room (405) was at the front and it too (see comment below) had a sloping ceiling that took out a quarter of the room as usable space. The bed was massive but very little space for clothes.The plastic cups were awful and we had on a number of occasions to ask for milk as it was not left by the room staff.
The plumbing wants looking at, loose fittings and gaps that you would not put up with at home.
We had breakfast once but found better value in a cafe opposite the BW New York just down the road. If you keep going towards the sea look for a restaurant called O'Staff in a side street on the right. Better food and a better price than those in the centre or in the old town.
The hotel is convenient for the railway station and we used the bus from the airport there. It is a short walk to the hotel. The street is used only by trams and cyclists although police patrol regularly and in numbers it seems a safe city.
A must do is Monte Carlo either by train or bus, the bus can be busy.
The hotel will be o.k. for a three night city break if you were not too bothered about where you stayed but there are a number of similar hotels in this area. We stayed 7 nights and should have found somewhere better.

Room Tip: The top floor seems to suffer from sloping roofs (2 reports on this site)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    251
    106
    16
    6
See reviews for
86
247
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

My first bad impression of this hotel started even before I came, when they charged me the whole amount without a chance to cancel. In most hotels, when you want to cancel a week before, they usually let you pay just for the first night.
But that’s not the worst thing in this hotel. We arrived at the Best western Alba in the evening. There is a bad smell that welcomes you in the lobby, some kind of mold. I booked a superior room. The room was not superior at all and on top of it, we are a couple, and we received a room with 2 separate beds. When we asked to change this, we were told it was not possible, and the only option they gave us was to sleep in a standard room. But of course, they did not reduce the fee!!! This room was AWFUL, small and very uncomfortable bed, and the blanket had - and I am very serious about this – BLOOD STAINS on them! (please look at the pic if you dont believe me!!!)
The next night they moved us for a superior room, but for me the damage was done. They should have compensated or at least not charge us for a superior room when we didn't get it! Luckily, we only stayed 2 nights.

Room Tip: if you have to stay at this hotel, try to book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MBlumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Great position near Nice railway station. It is on Jean Medicin avenue so is in the heart of the shopping precinct as well as being a 15 minute stroll to the beach etc.
Rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet although like most hotels in this range the rooms are not large but sufficient. There is no bar nor restaurant although a good breakfast is served in the first floor breakfast room with some limited balcony seating.
You may have the fortune of being greeted by the delightful and extremely helpful Yvane on the front (and only) desk who in our case started and finished our stay on a high. Thank you for everything Yvane, the hotel is fortunate to have you.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hotel is located round the corner from Nice's main station and a short walk (max 15 mins) to the front, or there is also a tram you can take so is well located for exploring Nice or the surrounding areas. Avenue Jean Du Medecin is one of Nice's main shopping streets and can get quite lively. There was loud music blaring out of one of the neighbouring properties on both nights we were there but it was not audible from inside the room (which was at the back of the building). The hotel is in a nice old building which has been refurbished. It's still slightly rough around the edges but is generally fine. The breakfast is fairly small scale, and wouldn't cope if the entire hotel decided to come for breakfast at the same time and the plates were small and replenishment slow, giving a rather mean impression. We think it represents good value for a stay in Nice, however. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and good information was given on breakfast times and the free wi-fi, which you sometimes have to ask for.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MartsAndMarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle england
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We were very happy with our stay at this hotel and thought the location was excellent. We had been going to buy the all day bus tickets, but found we didn't actually need them as everywhere was in easy walking distance. Although the hotel is on a very busy main street we were never bothered by noise. Having the tram line outside seemed to be an advantage in that respect - no cars or car horns to be heard!
The room was a good size and spotlessly clean.
We had booked bed and breakfast at a very reasonable cost and were very glad that we had. It meant that we could eat and then plan our day instead of having to first find somewhere to have breakfast. Also, we noticed that the coffee shop just along the road were charging 4euros just for coffee so breakfast would have been an expensive start to the day!
The breakfast was perfectly adequate although fresh fruit would have been a nice addition. The breakfast room, whilst small, was quite pleasant. Maybe we were lucky when we were there but we never found it full.
Reception staff extremely pleasant and helpful.
We had originally looked at booking a much more expensive hotel nearer Promenade des Anglais but we were so glad we didn't as we spent so little time in the room. Mostly we left the room in the morning and didn't return until evening. That is what city breaks are all about - sightseeing not looking at the hotel bedroom or the view from the window.
All in all we were very happy that we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anneNewcastleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Centre
BEST WESTERN New York
BEST WESTERN New York
#41 of 211 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid
Hotel Aria
#21 of 211 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Hotel Monsigny
#8 of 211 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel
Address: 41 avenue Jean Medecin, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,291 - ₹ 8,582
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing