We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Regence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Regence
Ranked #35 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, and enjoyed the location. It is clean, and we slept well in room 502 which is in the back (tucked away behind the breakfast area). However, the decor is outdated, and the room does not have a frigde. I also thought it was a bit strange not to have a mirror. Only in the bathroom. We enjoyed our stay, but I think we will try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VibekeVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    375
    98
    18
    11
See reviews for
67
383
75
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenscliff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here three nights, two late April, one early May 2012. We were travelling from Australia to Entrevaux in Alpes de Haute Provence in the first case, and from Entrevaux to the Cinque Terre in the second. After the long flights from Australia, we wanted a rest before the nearly two hour train journey from Nice to Entrevaux.
As other reviewers have pointed out, the hotel is perfect, for it's price. We had already booked the second stay before leaving Australia, but there was never any question in our minds about going elsewhere. Should we return to Nice (which is definitely worth returning to) we would think first of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I helped to organise a trip to Nice with seven friends who were looking for a well situated, good value for money hotel, and the Regence did the trick. I checked the reviews and what we got was on par with previous comments. Great location, friendly, rooms were small but clean, very little storage and wardrobe space. Bathroom was good.
Regence is located in a pedestrianised area so no road noise or hassle. For what we required, which was a reasonable base to tour the city, it was spot on.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluediamond64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This is the third time I've stayed in this hotel. The best thing about this hotel is its location. Its on a busy pedestrianised street and only a 5 minute walk from anywhere you'd want to go - old town, Promenade d'Anglais, Place Massena etc. Considering its on such a busy street, the hotel is remarkably quiet. Rooms are basic - clean and comfortable. Wouldn't opt to upgrade to the superior room again, couldn't see much difference between the two and not worth the money. Chose not to eat breakfast as there are plenty of cafes nearby. Try either of the cafes on Place de Palais du Justice - bread, coffee and pastries for either 6.50 or 8 euros.
Some tips on Nice itself. This hotel is nothing flash (but you're not paying for flash) but it is a reasonable place to sleep and shower and basically does nothing wrong.
- Eating and drinking varies greatly in price. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the Cours Saleya and plenty of the restaurants offered reasonably priced fixed menus. A la carte is much more expensive. House wine is good quality, particularly the rose.
- Public transport is ridiculously cheap in comparison to the UK. When travelling to the airport you need to buy a 4 euro day pass. This entitles you to unlimited travel on the metro and all of the buses. All bus journeys are 1 euro if you pay for them individually.
- The main bus station is at Vauban which is a bit out of the centre. You need to get the metro there which will take about 10 minutes. Here you can get the bus to Eze etc. Buses to Cannes and Antibes go from JC Beaumond (not spelt right!) which is much nearer the centre of town. If you are confused go to the Lignes d Cote d'Azur office on Place Massena. Staff are very helpful and speak good English.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the superior rooms. Request a room at the back if you are a light sleeper and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HECSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#13 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regence? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regence

Property: Hotel Regence
Address: 21 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#35 Family Hotel in Nice
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,748 - ₹ 10,794
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regence 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regence Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing