We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location”
Review of Hotel de la Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Mer
Ranked #77 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The location for the this hotel was great, right on the main square where there is always something happening, just a few blocks to the beach, and right next to the old town where all the best food is! Its also very close to a bus stop for an express airport bus, which was very easy and convenient. We stayed in a non-renovated room, which was clean but the bathroom was pretty small. Very typical of European rooms, but if we stayed here again we would try for a renovated room. The website boasts "soundproof" but that must be in the renovated section as we could always hear our neighbors. Breakfast is extra, and only a basket of bread and croissants and coffee (not worth it). But overall we enjoyed our stay, the location is perfect and it's a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbsaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the hotel de la mer for 5 nights in July 2011, in a standard double room. Although the room and bathroom were quite small, it was perfectly fine and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We didn't have a refurbished room like the photos, but the room we had was great. The location of the hotel was amazing, right on the place Massena and just a couple of minutes walk from the beach. The staff were always lovely, and made us feel very welcome. No complaints about anything!

Room Tip: Our room was on the back of the hotel, away from the busy square, but it wasn't refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Hotel de la Mer was perfect for our stay in Nice. It was very, very reasonable (99euros) and our room was spotless and had a great view of Place Massena. Also, the air conditioning worked great. The room was small, but we were expecting that. The bathroom included a tub and the beds were very comfortable. The front desk was very helpful. If you are coming back after midnight, you have to know how to open the outside door and the hotel door, as the reception area is up on the second floor and at midnight they go to bed, although they are still on the premises if there is any emergency. This was no problem. The only negative was that the stairway outside the hotel's reecption area is badly in need of replacement. This didn't affect our stay at all, but might upset some other travelers. Also, our room, #7, adjoined the little lobby and at 4 AM some young adults returned from their evening and decided to start mixing drinks in the blender and I am afraid that it was impossible to go back to sleep with their little party out in this area at that time of night (morning???) However, I still really enjoyed the hotel. You can't beat the price and we were quite pleased other than that little extra early wake up call by the drink blender.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep late, get a room removed from the little lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grams98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Great hotel, very large spacious rooms. Excellent facilities. Outstanding location. Very clean modern rooms, quite beautifully decorated. Would definetly reccomend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnWilson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed one night and were very disappointed. We obviously didn't get one of the renovated rooms described by a review. Our bathroom was old and ridiculously small and bed not very comfortable. The walls of the bedroom were very thin and we could hear our neighbours talking. The website has private parking, which means that you walk around the corner to the next block and park your car in a public carpark and pay quite a lot of money for it, so take that into account when looking at price if you have a car. It is in a convenient location and the room was clean, but we were not that impressed with Nice nor the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamer1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Palais Saleya - Apartment & Suite
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel Villa La Tour
Hotel Villa La Tour
#128 of 203 in Nice
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Hotel de la Fontaine
#7 of 203 in Nice
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Mer

Address: 4 Place Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Old Town / Vieux Nice
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: ₹ 4,359 - ₹ 12,455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Mer 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing