We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel, good value.”
Review of Hotel Windsor Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Windsor Nice
Ranked #21 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel, good value.”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed there for a night in April 2012 before proceed to Monte Carlo. A nice hotel with a beautiful small garden , unfortunately it was drizzling and a bit too cold to enjoy our afternoon tea there. Front desk is very friendly and English speaking, rooms are small but clean , nice and bright , we have a balcony facing the street, it was a Saturday and not noisy . Like most typical European city hotels, the elevator is small and slow.
10 minutes walk to the beach and only 5 minutes to the beginning of walking streets of shops and restaurants. Our breakfast were included, although the varieties were limited, they were well presented and quality is above average, nice coffee! And each lady guest was welcomed with a rose !
Very good value in Nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKGC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    468
    132
    35
    21
See reviews for
116
558
60
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Great location as you are only a few minutes from the beach and Promenade. A further 5 minutes and you can be in the old town or train station. Staff were very good from replying to our emails prior to arrival (we had booked via Expedia), to the actual service and help offered in the hotel. I was pleased they were happy to oblige my efforts to speak French too!

The rooms were perfectly pleasant. We had an "Intimacy" room and there was ample wardrobe and cupboard space. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. They had a basic air conditioning (more of a built in cooling fan). The bathroom was small though with the toilet a bit of a squeeze but the walk in shower was good. The decor and style of the hotel was quite quirky which we liked and in line with what they were looking to offer.

A real plus was the free WI-FI and the "tropical" style garden which had areas of shade and areas which got the sun: the pool etc. There is even a couple of parrots in there too!

On the whole I think this place is good value for Nice based on its location and good staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoatySimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The reception team was knowledgeable, helpful and one of the best we've experienced in many years of travelling. So, check-in was efficient with all our questions promptly answered.

The good-sized room - Chambre quatre - was, as requested, quiet although it was street-side. Double glazing that works! Decoratively, it was odd; Alcatraz grey wall and carpet, brightly coloured tables attached to the walls with matching artwork behind the bed, electric wiring beneath - not in - the ceiling. Wot would "Elf & Safety" say? The bed was large & comfortable. The aircon was effective & not in the least noisy. Our bathroom was a little small with a fixed shower head, mirror that steamed up and a plug in the sink that didn't quite fit. Our only real complaint was that the bedroom was mirror-less.

The garden was exquisite, an ideal place to relax in the heart of Nice. We weren't sure about the caged parrots. The pool was leafy, as others have said.

The public areas, particularly the bar would benefit from aircon or at least a better aircon. We chose to have breakfast outside & a bistro in the adjacent Rue du Congres did an "English Breakfast" for E6,50. It was in fact a ham omelette with brioche & coffee and was good.

15 minutes stroll to the Old Town, 5 to the Rue de France with its restaurants and under 10 to the Promenade & the bus stop to the airport. Number 98, since you ask. Goes to both Terminals, 2 first in about 20 minutes, 4 Euros, pay on the bus.

This was our 9th trip to Nice and after an absence of 2 or so years, we liked the changes brought by the tramline. The ambience of Place Massena was so much better than before; virtually traffic free (apart from the trams). What we did not like was that eating out - never cheap - had become expensive and did not always represent good value for money. Service standards had declined; there was a botched attempt to double-charge us in one bar. Very disappointing was 'Le Bouchon Provencal' - a perennial favourite in the Old Town where our wine arrived with our meal, a Ravioli of dubious quality. Avoid!

Back to the Windsor where our luggage was stored for free on our final day and wi-fi was also free throughout our stay; now, that's a nice touch!

Overall, the Hotel Windsor is a very good choice.

Room Tip: Ground floor, street-side would be a good selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burtonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon. It is a well-decorated, arty hotel in a nice part of town, a couple of blocks from the seafront. Our room was spacious, with floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking a lush garden (well, it looked pretty lush in the dripping rain!).

There was nothing wrong with the hotel at all, I just didn't feel it offered good value for money. Maybe France is more expensive than anywhere else in Europe, but you can get 5* accommodation - with breakfast! - in London, Spain, Berlin or Dublin for less than the €200 we paid. Parking is extra too. When a staff member knocked on our door with a bottle of champagne, I thought it was a really lovely gesture (we got married two days before) - but it turned out my boyfriend paid for the champers on arrival as a surprise. While I didn't expect free champagne I did think that maybe the hotel could have acknowledged that it was the first night of our honeymoon somehow (just some fruit or a 'congratulations' note or something... in many countries they would do this).

I think other people have mentioned that the bathrooms are kind-of in the room (thankfully the toilets are separate!).

We moved on to a lovely, small and personal B&B in Eze, a hilltop village between Nice and Monaco. It was called Bastide aux Camelias and I would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fozzy_Bear_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odilepayen, General Manager at Hotel Windsor Nice, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Guest,


First of all, we thank you for your stay in our property. It seems that you liked our hotel even if you find it expensive.

Indeed, I understand that 190 € is a budget for most people and some of you expect a top luxury hotel for this price. Nevertheless, in Nice, hotels are expensive and I'm sure you can't find a larger room in an hotel with a wonderful garden, little swiming pool, spa and restaurant in the center of Nice. Besides all the art work gives a special atmosphere and this work is not free for us... Regular room in a standard 3 stars hotel is at least 150€. I think the difference is worth.

We have smaller room for 128€ which are more affordable and allow to enjoy our garden, all ours services and art exhibitions. You can even find small prices between november and march.

Awainting the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel if you don't find a better deal in the center of Nice.

Best regards,

Odile Payen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel is like a little tropical garden in the very centre of nice 5 min walt to the old town & promenade,

Room Tip: I racommend upgrading the room on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank INTESA81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#9 of 204 in Nice
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#41 of 204 in Nice
1,010 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#11 of 204 in Nice
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor Nice? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Nice

Property: Hotel Windsor Nice
Address: 11 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nice
#8 Green Hotel in Nice
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#36 Business Hotel in Nice
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,398 - ₹ 18,345
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Windsor Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Nice Center, tropical garden, little swimming pool. 31 Artist rooms and 25 with frescoes. Restaurant in the garden, among bambous and bougainvilliers. Wi Lounge in winter with fire place. Temporary exhibitions in the Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Windsor Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing