We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A delightful hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Petit Palais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Petit Palais
Ranked #1 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
624 reviews
252 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 655 helpful votes
“A delightful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed overnight as we were meeting friends in the area. It wasn't cheap for room only but was a delightful hotel in a very classy setting slightly on the outskirts of the city. It is a fifteen minute walk from Nice, uphill on the return. The staff, without exception, were welcoming and couldn't do enough to please. Free wifi was very welcome as was the oasis of a garden to enjoy a quiet afternoon drink in the shade.
The room wasn't large but had a terrace which overlooked Nice towards the sea, very nice indeed.
The bathroom was fine but the shower over the bath spilt water all over the floor. Parking is available on the road outside of the hotel and was safe enough.
All in all, a very pleasant stay in a delightful hotel and if we were in the area again, we wouldn't hesitate to book the Petit Palais.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views over Nice towards the sea. Slightly more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    145
    22
    8
    9
See reviews for
66
274
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shoalheven
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights in this quiet hotel up the hill from the hustle and bustle of lovely Nice. Our garden room had recently been upgraded with new carpet and a new bed. The 3 staff we dealt with - Phillip, Patrick and Christine could not have been more helpful. For example when a tree branch fell in the car park and made the car park unusable for a couple of days they reserved a car space on the roadway for us. This was much appreciated as parking on the street is very tight.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodsieShoalhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

Nice relaxing athmosphere, fantastic garden ( where breakfast is served ) and clean, nice rooms with balcony -from our balcony towards the sea and the town! Excellent breakfast and good, friendy service all way through. I would really recommend this to anyone.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaarina2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

we are a couple in our 20's just returned to rainy Liverpool after a lovely stay at the Petit Palais in Nice. The hotel, as I think other reviewers have mentioned, is outside of central Nice and up quite a steep hill, so possibly wouldn't suit those with small children or anyone with poor fitness or mobility. We did struggle with the climb in 30 degree celcius temperatures even though we consider ourselves very fit, but arriving there was worth the effort every time, as the air conditioning was very much appreciated, the decor a nice blend of fresh/modern and old style French chic, the bed was soooo comfortable, the room impeccably clean, view amazing, and the staff fantastic, particularly Philipe. I must mention him as he really did go the extra mile, not only recommending restaurants for us but also calling ahead to check that they were able to cater to my vegetarian diet. All the restaurants/bars he recommended were gorgeous, some of the best food we're ever had, and we looked forward to his friendly banter every time we passed reception. We felt lost when heading out to dinner on our last night and Philipe was apparently having a day off! The courtyard where you eat breakfast is so sweet, and breakfast itself was very nice. Abit pricey for us at 14 euros each, but nice if you'd rather do that than trek down the hill to a cafe. Obviously if you're driving or hiring a scooter then the hill climb is not an issue, and it was lovely to be out of the hustle and bustle of central nice. Very tranquil considering you're only 10/15 mins from the centre. Can see central nice, the old town, the med and even the airport all from our room balcony. Would come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: we paid extra for a sea view room and felt that it was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
124 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here because of it's close proximity to the University where my wife was working for a short period. I was little apprehensive about reviewers comments regarding it's location. Yes it is in a hilly part of town but this gives the hotel fantastic views across the city and the Mediterranean. The hotel is situated amongst some beautiful villas in an up market part of the city. The hotel has character in abundance and is a delightful change from the more sterile feel of chain hotels. We had some teething problems with the wi fi but the staff and manager could not have been nicer and helped me fix the problems. The rooms again were delightfully kitted out in a traditional French style and our room had a balcony with stunning views. Not particularly large but sufficient.The bed was large and very comfortable. The bathroom had a small bath and shower. There was a wc and a bidet. We did not have breakfast but it is served in the garden .and looks a lovely spot to start the day. I would recommend coming to terms with the sun blind when you arrive. We were woken early with the sun streaming into our room until we realised that there is a cable that converts into a winding mechanism to open and close the blinds. We had fantastic sleeps after that.

Room Tip: Get a sea view. Fantastic views to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hunterstrystjambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#14 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Petit Palais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Petit Palais

Property: Hotel du Petit Palais
Address: 17 avenue Bieckert, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#3 Family Hotel in Nice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#3 Business Hotel in Nice
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,339 - ₹ 21,440
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Petit Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ostrovok so you can book your Hotel du Petit Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Petit Palais Nice
Nice Le Petit Palais
Nice Hotel Le Petit Palais
Le Petit Palais
Du Petit Palais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing