We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel de Flore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture
Ranked #25 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hotel de Flore”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

A lovely intimate hotel in the heart of the cafe culture area of Nice but within easy walking distance of the Old Town and within 500 yds. of the Promenade.

We had a Junior Suite which had two bathrooms (!), a sitting area and a balcony overlooking a typical narrow Nice-ian street (with boulangerie, fromagerie, pharmacy and two fresh fruit and mini-supermarkets almost within touching distance).

We didn't have breakfasts in the hotel so cannot really comment although 13.50 euros. p.p. does seem rather steep. With so many cafes and restaurants in the neighbourhood, why bother?

The room was spotlessly clean and serviced each day. I would call the decor "comfortably shabby chic" and all the more relaxing for being so.

Another extremely "plus" point is the comfort of the mattress. Both my husband and I slept like logs - despite the noise from the street. Ear plugs are definitely recommended - particularly in view of the early rubbish collection wagons!

All in all - for a seaside city hotel, this is a gem and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only having experienced the Junior Suite, the comments made by others about being able to hear other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jktraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    254
    113
    41
    9
See reviews for
122
293
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Go for it if central, convenient location matters and you get a good deal from travel agent website (probably packaged with flight and comes to much lower than quoted in the hotel website). The room is reasonably clean and in acceptable condition (comes with wardrobe, desk, chair, small TV and not much space in between) but the quality of service varies (Katerina the receptionist was speedy in responding to queries prior to arrival but the male one I actually met didn't smile a lot). Light sleepers may not like the room because the door is very thin that you'll hear anyone walking past your door, especially at night and especially if like me, your door is near the lift. No view from the windows to speak of. Shower etc worked fine but on day 1 we got poor quality towels that small bits were left all over our skin after wiping.

The best bit of the hotel is the location. 5 mins to the beach and 15 mins to Cours Saleya. Next door to a couple of mini markets, patisseries, sushi shop and loads of restaurants. Very close to car park in Rue Grimaldi (EUR8 per night). But the hotel itself doesn't have parking bay. In fact the road in front of it is one way, narrow and can be busy at times. You'll have to drag your suitcase from the car park (2 mins walk and watch out for the dog poo).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HahaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

You need to know, I am not dodgy as I am backpacker since long time. Here I was on a business trip and had a normal price hotel.

> First step in the room, not really clean and there was hair in the bath. There was a terrible smell out of the drainage. So I expect that whole the carpet in the hotel was not really clean at all (at least it smelled like that).
> In the night, the walls are like paper! As people next to my room came home, it sounded like they are standing next to me. You hear all the water lines really good and the doors quailty is poor (lot of light from the corridor came in).
> In the morning, breakfast was not good at all. Cheap toast bread and low quality food. Coffe was okay at least. I just ate breakfast there once, the other days I went to the market right next to the hotal before I went to work.
> The staff was ok. Not bad, not good, Just ok.
> The location was really good. It's a 5-7 minute walk to the old town of nice and the shopping street is right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amikaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had a room at the front of the hotel, on one of the top floors. We could see the Med from our window. The hotel is 5 minutes from the Med and the 'Old town". The staff are amazingly helpful and the location was fantastic. We would definately go back!
It has a lovely garden room were you can relax at the end of the day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyMoffatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The undeniable benefit of this hotel is the location, as has already been pointed out by many other reviewers here. We booked a special offer via a website and were able to have a triple room for a very reasonable price.

Unfortunately when we arrived we were given a double room, not a triple. We went back down to reception to inform them and they said they would bring a 3rd bed to the room for us at some point later that day. I was surprised by this as I couldn't see how they would fit a 3rd bed in such a small room.

A single fold out camp style bed was provided.The maid who delivered the bed was determined to squeeze it in but had to permanently lodge the bathroom door open in order to do so, which wasn't really appropriate for 3 friends who were sharing a room, unless they wanted to see each other whilst using the toilet or having a bath. I was going to go and fetch the manager to complain about this but couldn't really be bothered with the conflict because we just wanted to get on with our holiday. We rearranged the furniture ourselves and managed to close the bathroom door.

The other negative point that I would make is that some of the facilities featured on the hotel's own website were not provided. When requesting the promised tea and coffee making facilities we were told that these were not available in the hotel. The room safe for personal artefacts and valuables was available, but had to be hired at an extra cost.

Would I stay here again? Only if there was a very special offer price and I was on a short trip where I wasn't expecting to spend much time in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U2fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#35 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#52 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture
Address: 2 rue Maccarani, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Quality Hotel Flore Nice Promenade)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#23 Family Hotel in Nice
#24 Business Hotel in Nice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,677 - ₹ 36,790
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Flore Nice Promenade is a 4-star hotel ideally situated in the centre of Nice. The hotel offers 65 rooms that have been carefully thought out and designed for your well-being with a refined, warm Provençal decor. From 6pm, let's enjoy of our HappyTime with Provençal savors in our living room or in the patio : drinks, wines, apetizers... let be tempted yourself ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flore Hotel
De Flore Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing