We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There must be better in Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Ranked #23 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
East Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“There must be better in Nice”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at Le Grimaldi and had 2 rooms - a double for my wife and myself on the 2nd floor and a double/single for our friend on the 5th. Our room had 2 broken chairs, a cracked washbasin; no view of the mountains as promised. Our friend's room was not cleaned on our second day and the door handle came off. The lift broke down and nobody put a notice on, so we waited for some time in vain. The alternative stairs were old, dangerous with the rail on the wrong side. Nobody offered to help down with luggage; indeed, nobody seemed to care. On checkout we were charged for breakfast which we had not had and had to suffer an identity parade by the waiter to prove it. Our friend had paid a deposit of 1 night but they tried to charge him again. Reception left unattended so anybody could take the room keys. This is really service of the most slipshop standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomerEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    378
    151
    46
    20
See reviews for
128
515
35
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in a standard room which was larger than some superior rooms in other hotels .
Room as stated large and well decorated with all the amenities you could require,
Breakfast was okay your usual fare and unlike some other reviews never had to wait for a table.
Hotal staff excellent when i went to check in online for our flights home the computer room was out of order told be told that i could use the main hotel computer.
Would definately return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed at Hotel Le Grimaldi on July 2010 and I am writing this review now, because I'm desperate for a vacation and the one I had in Nice stands out in every aspect. I must admit, one of the reasons which made this holiday a real treat is Hotel Le Grimaldi.
First off, I was incredibly lucky to book the last room available. It was on the first floor and had access to the hotels' WI-Fi. Since I was there by myself, I found the size of the room and its facilities GREAT! The room had a full size ensuit bathroom (not a shower), a large window, a very powerful A/C (never to be underestimated in Nice during the summer!!), a comfortable double bed, an adequate closet with a vault in it, a TV set, a dresser with multiple spacious drawers and … a mini-fridge!
I'm taking the time to emphasize the mini-fridge's importance since I got a complimentary wine bottle once I got into the room (I think they still do that and it's such a treat!) and we had a pretty good time together, that bottle and myself LOL. Plus, considering the proximity of the hotel to the market – you really can save up on some money in this very expensive city while storing some fresh products in the mini-fridge. The bed was comfortable and large, the WI-Fi worked very well, the staff was truly helpful and kind (they were all just as excited as I was about the concert I was attending) and the location is truly great and quiet. I haven’t booked the full package which includes breakfast since I had a very limited budget, so I can't comment on it. I can say that the room was cleaned on a daily basis (and cleaned well) and the fresh towels kept coming, soft, white and indulging. I really do remember this vacation (and concert) as one of the best I ever had.

Room Tip: Tip: if you're in Nice during the summer, make sure to buy a voucher to the private beach ahead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intown4concert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in the first week of April using Nice as our base for the Riviera. We took the Riviera package offer with a superior double room which included daily breakfast and a full day Riviera tour for 750 euros.

Our room was #46 and it was huuuuuge and very comfortable. Really loved how big the room was and it was quite pretty. The spacious bathroom had a bathtub with L'Ocitane toiletries. Fab.

The staff were friendly (if not exactly super warm or smiley) and helpful. Ready to give recommendations for restaurants, directions and shuttle bookings.

Breakfast was simple but good. Free wifi and some English channels.

The full day Riviera tour (which normally would cost around 80 euros or more) was nice. It took us to so many places which was good as we didn't have to figure out how to get there ourselves. We just sat in a comfy tour van and let them drive us around. It was a little rushed at most places because we were only given an average of half an hour at each place. But it helped us to narrow down which places would be worth revisiting since we only had 5 days in the Riviera.

Location wise I thought the hotel was alright. It's in a central location from the train station, Old Nice, Jean Medicin (where the tram line runs) and rue Massena (the touristy street). It's 5 minutes walk from rue Massena, an easy 10 minutes walk to Jean Medicin and I'd say a 15 to 20 minutes walk to Old Nice and the train station. There is a small supermarket less than 5 minutes away. I say the location is alright because the big spots like the train station or Old Nice aren't right next door. A 15 - 20 minutes walk away would seem a little far for some and definitely a drag if you're pulling luggage from the train station. You also cannot see the sea from the hotel so if that's what you're looking for, this is not the hotel for you. The street where the hotel is located is quiet but seems kinda safe at night.

If you are going from the airport and have heavy luggage with you, I don't recommend taking the #98 bus to the hotel. We took the #98 bus and the walk from the bus stop to the hotel felt like forever when I was dragging my heavy luggage with me on the cobblestone streets. When we left, we got the hotel to book us a shuttle to take us to the airport. It was 28 euros for 2 of us. Even though the airport is not too far away from the hotel, traffic can get pretty bad during peak hours in Nice so make sure you plan properly.

I wouldn't mind staying in Le Grimaldi again if I ever go back to Nice. Thought the stay was a great value for the price I paid.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Bit more than we normally spend and well worth it. Difficult to find fault with any aspect of this expertly run hotel. Good location, centre ville, if you don't mind a short walk & close to a good range of restaurants with a discretely located mini Intermarche close by.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisAnvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#19 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Address: 15 rue Grimaldi, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#45 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,835 - ₹ 17,452
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the famous Promenade des Anglais and the beach of Nice in the heart of downtown, Le Grimaldi is ideally located for your stay in Nice. The hotel is the perfect illustration of our taste for the Provence and the Azur Coast. You will find a colourful, a warm atmosphere and allude to with modernity the eclectism of the Riviera. From 2pm until 7pm, be our guest at our HappyTime, enjoy one ice-cream tasting with original flavours of the Provence : lavander, amond milk, calisson and so many yummy and fresh others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grimaldi Nice
Le Grimaldi Hotel Nice
Grimaldi Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing