We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Ranked #40 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We loved our room - it had an amazing sea view and a small balcony! It was very modern. The bathroom was not separate to the rest of the room and was more like open living! Even though we had our Do Not Disturb on our door, the hotel staff kept walking into our room!! They Would knock and just walk on on three seprtate occassions!! There was one incident when I was coming out of the shower and housekeeping just came in!! At breakfast, i had just sat down to start eating and i got up to get a drink and came back to the table which had alreafy been cleared! When i told the girl i wasnt finished, she just laughed at me!! They were also very unhelpful when we requested a further 15 minutes to check out and were told that if we were one minute late we would be charged, by a very rude man!! Awsome room terrible service!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woogie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 848 of 1,989 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Staff experience both very positive and very negative. Great early check in during very busy season, personable, very accurate restaurant reservations. At the same time coffee/tea not refreshed, nor towels, nor is there staff to do so if you don't want to hike to front desk. Hmmm.


Used to 5 star, but this was clean, but street very loud, although they used double glass doors very effectively to block. Mold smell strong in room although everything looks new.

We arrived last minute and just happy to find a place in a pinch. Prices triple simply because of race in Monaco. Good value at 160€. Not at 360€. . Beware bar(?) next door, double prices for tourists, go right across the street for clean normal coffee/bar service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KellyDodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My traveling companion and I spent 4 nights at the Mercure and it was very pleasant. Every problem we came across, and there weren't many-or very important, was met with one of the staff helping us and solving our situation - all done with a smile. I will probably stay there every time I go to Nice, I liked it that much.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaemicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a twin room. After arriving by train into Nice Ville station we caught a taxi (18 euro) to the hotel. It took approx. 5 minutes in the taxi.

The hotel is in a perfect location. Directly opposite the beach and right near the restaurants and shopping area. Even the taxi driver said we had chosen a great hotel to stay in.

Check in was quick and very informative. We were given maps and the check in staff member circled all the places of interest. We were greeted every time we walked past the reception desk. The customer service was of a very high standard - from the check in staff to the cleaners. Everyone smiled and said bonjour.

The room was lovely and much bigger than the hotel rooms in Paris. The beds were so comfortable. Best sleep we had during our Europe trip. The bathroom was nice too and the shower was excellent.

Breakfast consisted of hot and cold food – including scambled eggs and pancakes. There is also a lovely view of the beach.

We went to Monaco for a day. The bus stop is close to the hotel and only cost 1 euro each way. The bus route is number 100 and takes approx. 1 hour.

This is probably one of the best hotels you can find in Nice. The only negative would be the twin rooms not having an ocean view option. All twin rooms only have a courtyard view. However I would definitely recommend this hotel and will return again. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie_traveller021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Day visited: 13-16 April 2012

Good location, by the beach and with plenty restaurant mostly Italian in vicinity. 5mins walk to high end shopping street and 10mins to the mid-end such as a simple Lafayette. Would prefer the older side of nice though. Excellent stay if not for the staff. Good luck to those who are booking.

Atrocious Service. Cant help but felt the staffs are pretending to be nice.

Day 1
Upon stepping into my room, disappointed as i got half of the sea view knowing my love one had spent more for a room overlooking the sea. Called to request one with full view, was told it is unavailable, change of room may be possible if i call at 7am the following day. I gladly agreed thinking is this what they meant by sea view too. 5 minutes later, I was told to collect my new key at the lobby! While collecting the keys, the staff told me i was given an upgrade without additional charges. There i requested for a city map and was given a pocket city map. As this seems well.....

I felt cheated when i saw my hotel reservation print out days after... "Superior Room overlooking the sea with 1 queen- size bed" with a photo of a full-sea view room furnished exactly like the room we stayed. There isn't any upgrade! There are no excuse! We booked the room using their website, not through some third parties, it cant be wrong photos or rooms booked.

Day 3, about 8pm
We went reception to check if airport transfer is confirmed. The receptionist then said, "room 306? here is something for you." Opening the envelope, we got 2 very usefuL 1day pass for the public transport, an awesomE city map and some coupons etc... We were speechless and stoned for awhile before saying "Er... Its 8pm now and we are checking out tomorrow morning at 4am. I........ dont think we can use this". Their response was...oh okay.

Oh never-mind, there's nothing we can do about it. We went on to ask where is the french restaurant. Being non-french speaking, we did not quite get what she says. Hence requested she to write and the reply was its xxxx! x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x she spelled out, didnt quite get her accent. We request to have it write down AgaiN despite her so inhospitable face.

Absolutely hopeless service staff. They could have given us the envelope while i collect the key or when they placed water in my room shortly after checked it. We thought water bottles were part of the welcome 'goodies' mentioned, for they wrote subject to their availability. No apologies given.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eLazyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
0.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
2.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
0.5 km away
Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
La Villa Nice Victor Hugo
0.1 km away
Le Meridien Nice
Le Meridien Nice
#80 of 204 in Nice
2,142 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel West End
Hotel West End
#39 of 204 in Nice
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Address: 2 rue Halevy, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#11 Green Hotel in Nice
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#29 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: ₹ 7,042 - ₹ 17,989 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea, at n°1 on the Promenade des Anglais,the hotel is located above the famous Ruhl Casino. In thevery heart of the city, you will enjoy Massena pedestriandistrict as well as the typical Old Nice. As far as practicalmatters are concerned, a car park with direct access islocated below the hotel (fee-paying service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Promenade Des Anglais Hotel Nice
Mercure Nice Promenade Hotel Des Anglais
Accor Nice Promenade Des Anglais
Mercure Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing