We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay!”
Review of Le Meridien Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Nice
Ranked #80 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We booked a superior room for 5 nights in June. The room was spacious and well laid out. There was lots of closet and storage space, and lighting was excellent. Our room had a fairly large terrace overlooking a side street with a partial sea view. Terrace was furnished with a table, two chairs and two loungers. Bathroom was lovely- granite countertop, excellent bathroom amenities, bidet and a large bathtub/shower combo with a real shower curtain & liner (not always a given in Europe). Staff throughout the property were friendly and helpful. Our room was always cleaned before noon. The only low points were the pool area and the fitness area. These two areas of the property could use an update.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatCaithness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,022 of 2,142 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

We have now stayed here twice, once in June of 2012 and once in July of 2011. Both times we had to get our first room changed. The first time was because we were put in an old standard room, which was awful, but got ourselves upgraded to a deluxe corner suite, which is a great room. The second time we booked an executive terrace and were given what the manager said was the smallest one of its kind - we had to climb over things to get around for roughly 650 Euros a night. We had ourselves downgraded to a deluxe corner suite the next day. Managers were good both times.

All in all, the hotel is in a great location if you like to walk around. The major knock here is that it is fairly expensive and a generally average experience. Also, given the vast differences in qualities of rooms, you can end up with very different experiences each time you go, which is something you hope to avoid at this price point. Likely will try a different hotel the next time I go to Nice.

Room Tip: Deluxe corner rooms are great. Some of the standard rooms are terrible. The farthest executive terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Purple corridors straight out of the 70's and I don't think the hotel has been modernised since then. Traditional French service, ie some very good, others outright rude. Overcharging where ever possible. Good location but I will never go back. Too many other friendly hotels very nearby at a much better price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterV771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We were treated like stars at Meridien Nice. We were upgraded to a corner suite at check-in, with an amazing view of the water / the city. Our "butler" was quick with ice, robes, ironing board and other requests we made. We were given good recommendations on food and shopping. We had none of the issues discussed in the other reviews. Even having a McDonalds downstairs was useful, since we were able to grab a late night coffee without really leaving the building.

One bad note: the wi-fi in our room was spotty. But hey, internet all over Europe is subpar.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Rich1984
So glad that you appreciated Le Méridien Nice experience !
Thank you for staying with us in Nice and also for taking the time to post your review on this website.
We had taken note of the various remarks about wifi and have now changed our internet supplier - cross fingers !
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Meridien Hotel for five nights for the Ironman France event. Location for me was everything and the hotel was perfect for all the pre & post race festivities. The staff was efficient, the room was very nice overlooking the sea and finish line, and the weather was perfect. Those are the positives. I did have a few negative experiences as well. The reservation was incorrectly stating 4 nights instead of 5. Because the reservation was incorrect and I needed to add another night to our stay, they jacked the room rate up on us for the "one additional night!" I was being nickle and dimed (euro'd) for everything. I needed a plate and knife for some cheese, bread, and meat that we bought for a nice dinner on the balcony. I was charged $5 euro for the plate to be delivered to the room. No breakfast included in the daily rate. I did manage to get free internet included in my room rate. "Do Not Disturb" means don't bother me when you come into my room anyways. And here's the kicker of all this.
I hung an American flag from our balcony on race morning. By 10:00 am in the morning someone had gone into our room (with the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door, cut the flag from it's tie-wraps, and take it. No note, no explanation for the removal of the flag, and taking it until I mentioned it two days later that someone had removed it from our room.
Bottom line is that what we paid did not match the service I would expect and will look for alternative locations on our next visit.
Cheers!

Room Tip: You stay at this hotel for location only. If price is not an issue and location and unsurpassed vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ironman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Ironman3,
I’m glad that you found Le Méridien Nice location perfect for all the pre & post Ironman France race festivities. Indeed, you had a bird’s eye view from your room overlooking the sea and also the finish line!
We have an excellent in-room dining selection and it’s unfortunate that you didn’t enjoy a wonderful meal with your wife on the terrace, delivered by the butler.
With regards to the American flag that was unhooked from your balcony, nothing whatsoever is to be hung over the balcony railings on the Promenade des Anglais as it is against the local law.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back to Le Méridien Nice at a future date.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel West End
#39 of 204 in Nice
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Nice? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nice

Address: 1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nice
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#37 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: ₹ 8,650 - ₹ 24,802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At n°1 Promenade des Anglais, Le Méridien Nice is set in the perfect location, facing the sea, right in the centre of town. Featuring a a roof top terrace with the main restaurant "La Terrasse" offering a spectacular view and a taste of the Mediterranean and a heated swimming pool, the hotel also benefits from an indoor restaurants, "Le Colonial Café," in a relaxing lounge setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Nice Hotel Nice
Meridien Nice
Nice Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing