We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surly staff but awesome hotel”
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
Ranked #13 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 795 helpful votes
“Surly staff but awesome hotel”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Negresco is not for everyone but if its genre appeals to you it is an awesome hotel (we loved it!). The hotel was built in 1912 and walking through it you feel walking back in time but with modern touches. Everywhere in the hotel you are surrounded by original works of art – some modern some classics. For example, our wing was completely decorated in original works by Salvador Dali who used to stay in the hotel a lot. The rooms are decorated in Napoleon era style with updated bathrooms (the tub, toilet and bidet were sparkling gold glitter – spectacular in their glitziness). The elevator is indescribable – a beautiful and complete throwback to an earlier era. This is not a modern steel and glass hotel but falls into the category of world class treasures.

Also remarkable is the restaurant Chanticleer. It has 2 Michelin stars and deserves them (if you are unfamiliar with Michelin restaurant ratings – 2 stars are very impressive in its own right.) Expensive, it is worth every penny if you enjoy world class service and gourmet food. We do not consider ourselves gourmands by any means but even we were extremely impressed. Reservations and Jackets recommended for men.

Regarding the practical parts of The Negresco, the hotel is in a great location on the Avenue de Anglais (the main seafront street) and about 10 to 15 minutes’ walk from Old Town, the Flower Mart ( a must see!), the elevator to the top of the Citadel and about 20 minutes’ walk to the main Nice train station.

Before arriving we were concerned that a “sea view” room looking out over the high traffic Avenue de Anglais would be very noisy with traffic. At night, the rooms have electronically operated metal roll down shutters that block the street noise very effectively. If you get noisy neighbors, be aware that the walls, while not paper thin, are not extremely well insulated.
The summary for this hotel is that it is excellent in spite of not having any exercise facilities, no pool and a very surly staff. By the way, except for the restaurant, all the staff is surly and very pretentious. They generally are unhelpful and almost seem to snarl at the guests. It is a weird given how grand the rest of the hotel is. If they could fix the staff attitude, this really would be a world class 5 star hotel.

On balance, if you can look past the unhelpful concierge desk and the surliness, this hotel is awesome!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davekv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Davekv,
We thank you for taking the time to post a comment. You do describe the hotel very well and we are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay. We do take into consideration your remark on the staff which is a subject we are particularly sensitive about. We strive to offer a warm welcome to all our guests and will definitely be more vigilant in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Pierre Bord, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    529
    235
    126
    116
See reviews for
326
1,203
88
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had admired this beautiful hotel on a previous visit, but thought it completely out of our price range; however, we were able to get a reasonable price for a hotel of this caliber, maybe due to preseason prices. It lived up to high expectations. The hotel is also a museum, displaying high quality art on each floor, which adds to the beauty of an already lovely place. The rooms are impeccable with pretty wallpaper and furnishings. Ours had a lovely view of the world renown beach across the street, while our family members had no view but an equally pretty room with an even larger bathroom. Location couldn't be better, since it is also walkable to shopping and the historic area. We chose breakfast in our room to allow us to enjoy the view. Service and food were excellent. This definitely is a destination hotel. For info: As is typical in European hotels, rooms accomidate only 2 people.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahR358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear SarahR358,
We are very happy you enjoyed our stay with us! Our rooms can accommodate 2 adults and up to 2 children depending on the category. We also have 2 bedroom suites for families traveling together.
We hope to see you again soon in our hotel !
Pierre Bord, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Negresco is one of the most renowned hotels in Nice and France. It is hosted in a gorgeous art nouveau building right on the Promenade des Anglais. We booked a Junior Suite with sea view and were not disappointed. The room was spacious with a great bathroom and a sauna/shower. Two balconies overlooked directly the sea and it was sensational to go to bed and wake up with such a stunning view of the sea and the sound of the waves. Staff at reception was extremely helpful. Staying at the Negresco is like stepping back to the early days of the 20th Century. Grand ballrooms and reception rooms are worth visiting and spending some time to take in the eclectic art collection of the hotel owner and the great ambience.

The buffet breakfast (included with our room) was also ok and served in The Rotunda, a carousel like room that is much better than it looks in the pictures one can find on the web. The buffet consisted of fresh juices, bread, viennoiserie, cheese, salmon, ham, yogurts and a selection of eggs, sausages and bacon.

I would definitely recommend the Negresco to other travellers as a unique place where to stay. It is true, as some other reviews on tripadvisor state, that the quality of service (concierge, breakfast etc) is not on the same scale as that of other 5 star hotels but this is a unique place that must be appreciated for what it is: an historical gem in a great location, a one of a kind.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariodibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Mariodibi,
Thank you for taking the time to share your point of view on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Le Negresco! You are right about La Rotonde, it is a place you should see with your eyes rather than in pictures, just like the Negresco itself !
We will take your remark into consideration regarding the staff. However we hope to see you again soon !
Pierre Bord, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel has the perfect location by the sea. It is old but still going strong. The staff were very becoming, always. There are two reataurants in the building: La Chanteclere and La Routonde. The first with its two stars was heavenly in ALL aspects, the second felt a little disorganized when it came to service and timing. The bar was nicely furnished and gave an impression of early pre WWI luxury, though the Bloody Mary was far to weak.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Bettinasgranddad,
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment! Our Chef, Jean-Denis Rieubland was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your diner at Le Chantecler. Did you know that Le Chantecler was just awarded its second Michelin star?
As regard to La Rotonde, we take your comment into consideration and we will work on it.
Yet we hope to see you again soon!
Pierre Bord, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I have just returned from 3 nights at Le Negresco and we couldn't have had a more wonderful honeymoon. Upon check in we were upgraded to a sea view room which was gorgeous. The room was a good size, we particularly loved the gold bathroom! The service we received throughout our stay was excellent. We enjoyed cocktails in the bar and dinner at the brasserie restaurant. The position of the hotel is perfect, we walked everywhere and loved being directly opposite the beach.

All in all, an amazing hotel for a special occasion!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlynch87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Jlynch87,

First of all thank you very much for sharing this unique moment of your life with us! We are flattered you chose Le Negresco for your honeymoon! We are also very happy you enjoyed your stay and had an unforgettable moment. We look forward to welcoming you again soon… maybe for your first anniversary? :)
Pierre Bord, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Property: Hotel Negresco
Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#11 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Family Hotel in Nice
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,484 - ₹ 53,754
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing