We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food EVER”
Review of Les Amoureux

Les Amoureux
Ranked #6 of 1,936 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Medford, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food EVER”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

In a 10-day trip through France and Italy, this was the best food we ate. In fact, it may be the best meal of my life. Actually, meals. We ate there twice.

The restaurant is tiny and popular, so make reservations in advance. If you can't make a reservation, you can order the food to go, which we certainly recommend. Or you can try your luck just showing up, which worked for us once. We were served by the owner and his wife, who were both extremely friendly and focused on the quality of our dining experience.

The pizza was amazing. It had all the right elements -a great crust, buffalo-milk mozzarella, and the best sauce I've ever eaten. I don't know how they make that stuff, but I suspect they use magic. I would have paid twice what they charged, but the prices were extremely reasonable -around 6.50-9.50 Euros per pizza.

The one drawback was that it was very crowded, but we heard that they are moving to a larger location soon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,176
    247
    61
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The only chance to have real "Pizza Napoletana" in Nice”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I've been there few evenings ago and I could have a pizza like the one I can find only in my hometown (I live near Naples). The ingredients are great and the price really reasonable.
The place is very small (I strongly suggest to make a reservation before going), but I know they are going to open a bigger one.
If you have never been in Naples, and thus you do not know what original pizza is,
this is definitely the place to be.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quirino_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great pizza experience.”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Finally made it to Les Amoureux after reading and hearing about the place. Was well worth the experience. Beautiful pizzas, served up in record time, and enjoyed with a very acceptable and reasonably priced rosé. Only 24 covers at any one time but this adds to the intimacy, atmosphere and guaranteed attention. On leaving I was told that they intend to move to bigger premises on Boulevard Stalingrad next month. Let's hope the excellent standards already achieved are not compromised by the relocation. All in all well worth the wait in eating here as I was not disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xsherpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must have reservation!”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Waited for it to open at 7pm on a Friday only to find there were no openings at all. However we were able to have a drink while waiting for takeaway pies. Pizzas were pretty good (from the non DOC menu). Heart shape is a bit of a gimmick. Cheeseless olive & caper pizza the best.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Yemble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyed...love the intimacy.”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Having heard this as the best pizza in all of France, our family (9, 5, and two 40's) was keen to experience all that Les Amoureux had to offer. We were not disappointed!

The pizza is made with entirely fresh ingredients - from the flour in the crust to the mozzarella and jambon as a topper. Simply delicious!

The proprietor (thought younger and more handsome than ourselves) was simply lovely. He made us feel welcome and, moreover, part of his family. As it was, it turned-out to be his birthday - and we were ALL all able to celebrate!

With a queue beyond the door, it's no wonder that they're setting-up shop in a larger location. But, our preference is for the intimacy of/for the 26 covers in current state. Our hope is that the family-like atmosphere and individual attention does not suffer.

Do enjoy!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Amoureux also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Les Amoureux? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing