We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Le Voyageur Nissart
Ranked #106 of 2,171 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Thiers / Train Station
Description: Voyageur Nissart has been a family-run restaurant since 1908, and frequently welcomes visiting tourists and locals. This small, charming restaurant is situated between the train station and Jean Medecin avenue. The restaurant seats 45 people inside and 25 outside, creating an intimate atmosphere. On a typical menu are Nicois dishes as ravioli nicois, daube nicoise and petits farcis. Traditional, simple and delicious, the recipes have been handed down from over one century, from generation to generation. The dishes are inspired by the region, the season and what is readily available to the chefs so our customers can enjoy a real nicois bistro experience. Browse through the menus and website to see our traditional cuisine and philosophy on nicois cooking. The recipes have been handed down from over one century, from generation to generation. They are inspired from the region and the authentic nicois cuisine. The dishes are inspired by the region, the season and what is readily available to the chefs so our customers can enjoy a real nicois bistro experience. Browse through the menus and website to see our traditional cuisine and philosophy on nicois cooking.
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

The location is not everyone’s idea of a great place to find a restaurant but hey go for it - you won’t be disappointed.
Close to the main rail station - we reserved a table which was just as well as the restaurant was full!
Set menus are excellent value for money and you can mix & match. Great food in a traditional bistro - frequented by locals but also on some tourist lists of restaurants.
The house wine matches the food - as we were 4 we managed a white and red pichet (large ones!)
This is the sort of place that puts a smile on your face.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 269alfons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2018

We found this place on Tripadvisor. Two minutes from the main station, it is a superb local restaurant. The menu is incredibly good value for such excellent food, and the house wine is a bargain! Also, they kindly provide English menus without being asked (thank you!).
Two of us had a three course set menu (22 euros each) and a large carafe of house wine (12.5 euros) = 56.5 euros. Amazing value.
BOOK AHEAD!! - We ate on a Tuesday night and by 7.45pm the place was full. We enjoyed it so much we re-booked for the Thursday. The menu had changed and was again excellent.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Three menus on offer changed regularly favouring nicois cooking. A small restaurant which is very popular so you need to book. Would happily return

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

We needed a meeting place near the station to meet a friend and saw this on Trip Advisor. The restaurant is pleasant and the tables well spaced with bright red checked cloths. The staff were relaxed and pleasant and the food was just perfect for lunch. The Caponata was I am told excellent and I can recommend the ravioli and the gnocchi. Also the red mullet was tasty and the presentation very attractive. Thanks, we took our time, chatted and quaffed the very drinkable house white. Lovely way to spend a rainy Tuesday lunchtime on holiday!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 395Helena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

My wife and I made several repeat visits to this place, and enjoyed good meals each time. The menu offers several courses which include also the desert. The food is of good quality, is well prepared and is always very tasty. Their house-wine is good and the price very reasonable. The fact that the place was close to our hotel was also very much appreciated.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Voyageur Nissart also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Voyageur Nissart? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing