We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”
Review of Luc Salsedo - CLOSED

Luc Salsedo
Price range: US$ 53 - US$ 77
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centre
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Invited by friends who had eaten here a few years ago and enjoyed it then. We had dined at the 11eme the night before so inevitably comparisons were made. Here we had a three course meal for €45 while we had a 7 course tasting menu at 11eme for €39. We had also had an excellent 3 course dinner at Melody, a new restaurant in Rue Dante, for €34.
We really didnt have the same opinion about the place as your other recent reviewers. The food is good, some of it very good, but portions are small and little of it memorable other than the barbecued meat (not exactly a demanding dish but very tasty nonetheless). The service was friendly and good to start with - the chef owner circulated and met everyone, but as the night went on it waned. There were a couple of big parties that evening which demanded a lot of attention so that could explain why the two waitresses were fatigué by the time we were having dessert, about 11pm, from a 9pm start to our meal. Our host was a little disappointed as were we. The decor and tableware are attractive and unusual; the art (for sale) looked amateur and took away from the look of the room which was well ventiated and comfortable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arfur51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    127
    46
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit.”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Lovely civilised dining in Nice.45 euro for 3 courses and 65 euro for 5 .recommend booking

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whoishungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best meal in France!”
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Decided to give this restaurant a try based on trip advisor reviews... Best decision I've made in a while. Service was great and the food... Wow. My girlfriend and I both ordered the three course meal for 45 euros. Everything was great, our main dish, three types of barbecued meats was out of this world! And the dessert, the chefs special was unbelievable. We kept saying to ouraelvrs... I wish this meal would never end.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pick_dt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, pleasant experience absolutely”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I found the place by sheer accident. I was looking randomly at the Michelin Guide and this place was close by. Waited ten minutes for the restaurant to open and I was immediately greeted by the friendly waitress. I ate the four course menu and it was the best dinner I have ever had. Every little piece of the menu was carefully planned and prepared. Think the portions are small in a gourmet restaurant? Maybe one course might be, but after eating the menu I almost had to be rolled out of the restaurant. I was so full after the dessert. Staff was very friendly and the chef himself offered me to pose in picture with him pretending to cut the dried ham :) Please visit this place if You like friendly atmosphere and high end food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannu_Oulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little gem in Nice”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Close by all the major hotels, this charming little storefront restaurant gives a home-like feeling. We asked the waitrees(owners's wife), to change the preparation of 2 dishes to satisfy our food allergies. No problem!
The food is superb, with a good wine list. All the food is mostly local and varies with the season.
The fresh fruit dessert was heavenly.
Definitely, will return on our next visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larrykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luc Salsedo also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing