We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can highly recommend this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Westminster
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Reviewed 21 September 2017

This was our second stay at The Royal Westminster Hotel and we throughly enjoyed both visits to the extent we will book again in the future.The position of the hotel is excellent for walks along the promenade and the near by vehicle free streets.Our room,a privilege sea view with a balcony,enhanced our stay as we spent many hours with the French doors open and relaxing.Some of other reviews whilst basically correct,such as a slow lift,we consider rather petty as our experience rates the hotel as an excellent and worthy of 3stars.The staff were very friendly and helpful.Overall we can highly recommend this hotel,especially if like us you are retired age and wish for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ralphncfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights in a sea-facing room on the top (6th) floor. The room was comfortable and clean, with a truly beautiful view. It was also very quiet and we slept well both nights. The hotel is located very conveniently and there is secure parking nearby, which we used (and it wasn't expensive). We found the hotel to be very basic in every way and the cleanliness in communal areas was questionable. There are no real amenities in the rooms (no kettle, bottled water, iron etc) - only a safe and some coat hangers. Breakfast was poor, with vending machine coffee and only a small range of food (mini pastries, cereals and bacon/egg). Everything was self-service, we even had to get our own cutlery and set the table ourselves. The staff ranged from very friendly and helpful to completely indifferent - some of the reception staff didn't even look up from what they were doing when you spoke to them. Another irritation is that the only guest lift is extremely slow to arrive at reception level, we got tired of waiting and walked up six floors instead most of the time. The building itself is charming and it was probably once a very grand hotel. I felt it was a wasted opportunity as it could be so much better. Overall, it wasn't awful but it wasn't great either. If I came back to Menton I would stay elsewhere.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Location is just top. You've got city centre just minutes away. Also the small supermarket is right across the street from the hotel. Parking can a bit problem though as hotel does not provide any.The view from the room is just amazing- we got a room high up, with two balconies. Could see the sea and promenade right from our bed.
Breakfast was ok. It's all about self service there, which wasn't much of a problem. If you are missing anything just pop to the supermarket across the street.
Overall the hotel is good value for the money and we are recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slavinna022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

We have spent 3 nights in privilege room in August. Hotel is painfully 3 stars - rooms are spacious but bare and basic, they nearly look bare. We had only shower and no bath tub. It was nothing special about it. Fridge and safe is there at least.

We had French windows on 4th floor and no balcony you can sit on outside. It was annoying but most of rooms had shared balconies anyway so at the end we decided not to change. I would feel uncomfortable leaving the windows open.

The view is fantastic but... the party from the street does not finish until 1 am. You end up closing windows and shutters to minimise the noise but then you are waking up after few hours being either too hot or your the air is too dry from the aircon. Not good night sleep despite comfortable bed.

The breakfast us low quality but pastry and baguettes are fresh - again nothing special but basics.

They charge extra for child bed each night - it does not happen in four star chain hotels.

They provide brach mats - very handy for stony beach.

For 200 euros per night we can get so much more for the money elsewhere.

The staff does not make slightest effort to be polite.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank pekao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

great staff views food location room what more could you want .This is a really fantastic place to stay with family or friend.and Menton is such a great place just to slow walk and take in.Bars are great and staff everywhere are brilliant.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank CSB1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Menton hotels
1.5 km away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
0.9 km away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#1 of 30 in Menton
533 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Princess & Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#2 of 30 in Menton
560 reviews
0.1 km away
Quality Hotel Mediterranee
0.1 km away
Ibis Styles Menton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Westminster? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Westminster

Address: 1510 Promenade du Soleil, 06500, Menton, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Menton
Price Range: ₹ 6,063 - ₹ 11,966 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Westminster 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five minutes from Italy and very close to Monaco, the Royal Westminster hotel in Menton is a characterful 3 star hotel ideally located on the seafront, fully renovated and air-conditionned. This magnificent 19th century Belle Epoque style palace, with its splendid facade and its terrace bar with a sea view, is the perfect place for a night or a longer stay in Menton, the City of flowers at the heart of the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Royal Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Westminster Menton
Royal Westminster Hotel Menton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing