We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveller rating
149
284
115
45
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
284
115
45
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view muesli waves lapping on the shore old town large comfortable bed ideal hotel hotel looks great older people fantastic location beautiful old building overlooking the garden a stones throw an upgrade sea front small balcony stayed two nights underground car park
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 613 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights in a sea-facing room on the top (6th) floor. The room was comfortable and clean, with a truly beautiful view. It was also very quiet and we slept well both nights. The hotel is located very conveniently and there is secure parking nearby, which we used (and it wasn't expensive). We found the hotel to be very basic in every way and the cleanliness in communal areas was questionable. There are no real amenities in the rooms (no kettle, bottled water, iron etc) - only a safe and some coat hangers. Breakfast was poor, with vending machine coffee and only a small range of food (mini pastries, cereals and bacon/egg). Everything was self-service, we even had to get our own cutlery and set the table ourselves. The staff ranged from very friendly and helpful to completely indifferent - some of the reception staff didn't even look up from what they were doing when you spoke to them. Another irritation is that the only guest lift is extremely slow to arrive at reception level, we got tired of waiting and walked up six floors instead most of the time. The building itself is charming and it was probably once a very grand hotel. I felt it was a wasted opportunity as it could be so much better. Overall, it wasn't awful but it wasn't great either. If I came back to Menton I would stay elsewhere.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Location is just top. You've got city centre just minutes away. Also the small supermarket is right across the street from the hotel. Parking can a bit problem though as hotel does not provide any.The view from the room is just amazing- we got a room high up, with two balconies. Could see the sea and promenade right from our bed.
Breakfast was ok. It's all about self service there, which wasn't much of a problem. If you are missing anything just pop to the supermarket across the street.
Overall the hotel is good value for the money and we are recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor have better view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slavinna022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

We have spent 3 nights in privilege room in August. Hotel is painfully 3 stars - rooms are spacious but bare and basic, they nearly look bare. We had only shower and no bath tub. It was nothing special about it. Fridge and safe is there at least.

We had French windows on 4th floor and no balcony you can sit on outside. It was annoying but most of rooms had shared balconies anyway so at the end we decided not to change. I would feel uncomfortable leaving the windows open.

The view is fantastic but... the party from the street does not finish until 1 am. You end up closing windows and shutters to minimise the noise but then you are waking up after few hours being either too hot or your the air is too dry from the aircon. Not good night sleep despite comfortable bed.

The breakfast us low quality but pastry and baguettes are fresh - again nothing special but basics.

They charge extra for child bed each night - it does not happen in four star chain hotels.

They provide brach mats - very handy for stony beach.

For 200 euros per night we can get so much more for the money elsewhere.

The staff does not make slightest effort to be polite.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank pekao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

great staff views food location room what more could you want .This is a really fantastic place to stay with family or friend.and Menton is such a great place just to slow walk and take in.Bars are great and staff everywhere are brilliant.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Col b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, good service and perfect location to the old part of Menton town. We had perfect ocean view and enjoyed the little balcony. The breakfast is recommended. You can enjoy it in the little garden

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarahceline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews