We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for Money, Great Location, Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Grand Pavois
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Juan-les-Pins
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money, Great Location, Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Myself and my wife stayed at this hotel for 10 days between the end of June and the beginning of July 2011. The hotel itself is a good 3 star hotel in all honesty. The staff are friendly, the place is kept very clean, the rooms are basic but very comfortable with fully functional air conditioning, satellite TV (with PPV options) and with very nice bathrooms.

We only ate in the restaurant once but the food was fantastic, the flavours were what you'd expect of French cuisine. The breakfast was a continental buffet selection of breads, pastries, eggs, cheeses, tea, coffee, cakes, etc. You could sit inside or outside, and most people chose outside naturally. The breakfast itself was absolutely fine, enjoyable, fresh, good selection, etc.

We didn't use many facilities in the hotel but we did use the laundry service and found it to be quick and reliable. Items left for laundry in the morning were ready for collection (from the reception desk) by the following afternoon (early afternoon).

As for the location, literally a two minute walk down the street and you enter into the centre of Juan les Pins via a lovely little park where people spend time well into the late hours. Restaurants are plentiful, as are shops. Several restaurants have tables either looking out on to, or actually ON, the beach and serve premium quality food. It's not a cheap area but you do get quality more often than not.

I would highly recommend this hotel as a place to base yourselves if you intend to visit the area. If you see a hotel as a place to refresh and refuel then this hotel has everything you need. If you're like me and my wife then you'll be spending most of your time out and about. If you are looking for 5 star luxury then you need to look elsewhere, but there is nothing about this hotel that I could say was poor in any way. We'd most definitely go back without hesitation.

A couple of final notes that have just occurred to me. Parking is free on all the streets surrounding the hotel. You may have to drive around the block a couple times to find a space but we never had to look for more than 5 minutes or so and always ended up within a two minute walk. The hotel provides wireless internet for free, no charges or subscriptions apply. However, only one person per room can be connected at any one time so you'll need to share the connection between the occupants who want to use it. This didn't prove a great inconvenience for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XperiencedTraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    142
    47
    16
    11
See reviews for
36
173
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

So let's start with the good things:

It's pretty cheap to be fair and well located, if you're a tourist knocking about Juan Les Pains. If you're heading in and out of Cannes, a weekly ticket costs just E7.60 and the trains run pretty regularly (it's a 10 minute journey). Taxis: v v v expensive - about E30.

I very much like the fact that there is free WIFI in the room. The staff were pretty friendly too. AND, there was a spare toothpaste set for the furry teeth and forgotten tube. But for me, this is sort of where the good news ends. The room itself (on the second floor) was quite dark and pokey and for some reason, I just couldn't get a good night's sleep there - whether it was the sheets or pillows I can't tell, but generally I don't struggle for shut-eye. There are another few quirks to watch out for: THE SHOWER has this annoying thing of taking time to heat up...and then getting too hot and then too cold - i.e, it's one of THOSE ones that you have to keep turning the up/down the dial. There are ironing facilities on the 2nd floor (a good thing), but turning the iron on is a genuine work of science...it's a one grey appliance jutting from the wall that you're meant to press in various parts to get power...but it doesn't seem to work....and then suddenly it does...and then it turns itself off again. The instructions are in French. Laundry was slow: I left in stuff on Sunday and it JUST made it back Tuesday morning, despite assurances of a day earlier. The morning of check-out, I was refused WIFI because apparently I'd 'exceeded my number of log-ins' -- a somewhat bizarre quirk, which sort of sums this place up: unpredictable, frustrating and ultimately more bad than good. I wouldn't trash it, but wouldn't go back either...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReindeerSpotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Have stayed here from before it was a Best Western. A classy Belle Epoque hotel with lovely public areas and outdoor seating. Good sized rooms and large bathrooms. Its free parking around here (30E at the Casino!) and an easy 5 mins walk through the quiet park to the buzz of Juan. Many good outside restaurants and pedestrian areas. Eat at Amiral but do try to reserve..In May its very pleasent for us over 50's to stroll around the many individual shops or stroll/bus to Old Antibes We always buy fresh bread and breakfast on the balcony with sea view. .Or buy patisserie and sit on the balcony. Nightlife in Juan is fun,outside and crowded and great fun if you want it. Hotel is in quiet area and never seems busy. Close to Cap Juan. Juan is a nice place to stay with easy public transport bus/train links.. Lots of good beach clubs you can pay to use nearby. Prices vary for loungers etc..

Service is adequate, no criticisms. Restaurant good.

Room Tip: Book early for prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWEDEN
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Checked in off the street as i had moved out of Nice did not like Nice tooo noisey and crowded...The hotel reception was lovely gave me a goood rate for 3 nights lovely room Top floor Quiet.. Nice bar,, good elegant restaurant all staff outstanding was a nice Grand piano which i played in the lounge. 5 mins from center on a side street...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank top89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in August. The hotel is just off centre in a quiet neighbourhood of JLP (just as well, as the centre is extremely noisy at night). An easy 10 minute walk from the railway station.
Our room was excellent - a comfort room on the top floor with a balcony and a nice view. The restaurant was good and fairly priced.
However, the little things were not right. Our room was poorly serviced throughout our stay - despite appeals to reception. Toiletries were not replaced, and the minibar never restocked. Coffee cups were not washed, and nightwear was left in a heap on top of the telephone!
The hotel bar appears to have been closed - at least there was no sign of life or service during our stay.
This is a shame as this hotel could be really good with a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christanya2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan-les-Pins
1.1 km away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
1.1 km away
Les Strelitzias
Les Strelitzias
#7 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Petit Castel
Le Petit Castel
#1 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Le Pre Catelan
Hotel Le Pre Catelan
#17 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Belles Rives
Hotel Belles Rives
#2 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Juana
Hotel Juana
#5 of 47 in Juan-les-Pins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Pavois? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Pavois

Property: Hotel Le Grand Pavois
Address: 5 avenue Saramartel, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Le Grand Pavois)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Juan-les-Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#13 Romantic Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,491 - ₹ 13,945
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Grand Pavois 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Grand Pavois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Grand Pavois Hotel Juan-Les-Pins
Best Western Juan-Les-Pins
Juan-Les-Pins Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing