We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Villa with panoramic view and spacious grounds in...”
Swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming pool
The view of the sea from the swimming pool View from the balcony terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Swimming pool
The view of the sea from the swimming pool
View from the balcony terrace
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Shower room
Sitting room, with sofabed
Fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Balcony, looking East
Balcony, looking West
View from the pool
Badminton court
View and garden
Promenade des Anglais, Nice
Grasse cathedral
Gorge du Verdon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Grasse, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Nadine B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Villa with panoramic view and spacious grounds in south east Mediterranean France”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa St John for two weeks 26 July – 8 August 2014 and had a fantastic time.

As other reviewers have mentioned, there is a very steep and long driveway leading down to the villa from the main road. We didn’t feel our Audi A4 was best suited to hill driving, so we left our car parked in Grace’s garage, which she kindly offered to us, and which is situated across the road from the driveway. Having read a previous review concerning how busy and dangerous this road is, we were slightly apprehensive before our visit, however, we really didn’t find this too much of a problem. Yes, you do need to cross the road from the garage, but we got into the habit of depositing our passengers by the top of the driveway prior to backing into the garage, and while it is a main road, it is heading out of Grasse and therefore not that busy. We incorporated the steep driveway into our daily workout – with all the lovely restaurants in the vicinity, it was a good way to work off a few calories!

The villa itself was perhaps a bit on the cosy side, but don’t let that put you off – the grounds are spacious and the weather so gorgeous that you will want to be outside all the time anyway! We only really went in to sleep!

The villa’s crowning glory is its view. Perched on the hillside, it has a fabulous and unobstructed view all the way down to the bay of Cannes. Sitting outside, eating, drinking and playing games on a terrace with that view was heavenly. Likewise, swimming in the pool, which is a decent size, you have the dramatic backdrop of the mountainside and craggy cliffs to gaze at. We found Grace to be very hospitable and there if needed, but otherwise unobtrusive and virtually invisible.

Given the views, the glorious weather with which this part of France is gifted, the pool, the table-tennis and the badminton court, you need to push yourselves to leave the villa and explore the surrounding area. However, once you have powered yourselves up the driveway, there are plenty of places to explore. Whether you venture down to the seaside or up to the mountains, you will find good restaurants at which to eat, mountains to climb, grottes to descend into, artisan shops to browse and sea sports galore. Although, it should be noted that you will need a car to drive to these. However, we did walk into Grasse a few times (the historic centre has some nice restaurants), and it took us approximately 20-30 minutes to get there.

We have explored many parts of France, but this has so far been our favourite – close to the action for when we wanted to get out and mingle, but private and spacious for when we just wanted to chill out and relax in the grounds and let our bones soak up a bit of Mediterranean sun.

We had a fabulous time – hope you do too.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nixdorset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning views of cote d'azure”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday at villa St. John. The views from the villa were spectacular, and the pool was very welcome in the heat. The steep drive was a bit tricky, but in this hilly location,other properties had similar access problems. The villa was clean and comfortable but perhaps needed a little updating. The owner was both discreet and very helpful. All in all a great place and we would willingly return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: swimming pool and views
Liked least: sitting room and mosquitos
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
louisecc8...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 30 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the villa for one week in mid September and had a fabulous time.
We were pre warned about the steep access to the villa, but as none of our party were disabled, children or elderly, this really wasn't a problem for us. Grace, the owner, did everything in her power to make parking our rental car as safe and convenient as possible. Nothing was too much trouble.
The villa itself was pristine and well equipped, and I don't think we really wanted for anything. The only small surprise was that it was advertised as one double and one twin room, although when we arrived we found that both rooms contained two single beds.
The pool was wonderful and had fantastic views over the valley and to Cannes and the Med in the distance. We made good use of the table tennis too, and it was lovely being surrounded by olive and fig trees, grape vines and huge rosemary bushes.
The location excellent - we had a couple of great meals in Cabris just up the road, and most other things were a short, easy drive away. We made trips to Antibes, Biot and Mougins which were all fabulous. There are a couple of large supermarkets in Grasse (L'Eclerc and Auchan) which are easy to find.
We only wished we could stay another week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet secluded pool area and the great views overlooking to Med
Liked least: The beds were a little less comfy than the ones we were used to back home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing