We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good we went back again the next evening”
Review of La Piazza

La Piazza
Reserve with
La Piazza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #171 of 812 Restaurants in Cannes
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So good we went back again the next evening”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

La Piazza was recommended to us by a local (Thanks Brigitte!) so we just had to try it. Tempted though we were by the pizza, the pasta won us over after a quick session of "let's see what comes out of the kitchen." I still long to be able to just pop down the road for a repeat visit but, alas, the Spaghetti Lollabrigida will just have to live on in my memory. Good pasta, quick service, great view and and interesting mix of people passing by... oh and a jug of rose'... what more can you ask for?

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coasties99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    239
    137
    67
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“poor service and the food was nothing special”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

for 13 euro pizza i tasted more like 5 euro pizza, my girlfriend ate a pasta that was ok, the problem was that she got the pasta 10minutes before mine? she felt bad starting to eat before me but had tp because it started to get very cold.

dont sit beside the road, sit inside or in the valley, toooo much noise from mopeds, dieselcars and etc, no relaxasion at all..

the service wasnt really good and the waitresses was a bit cranky, when i got my change back (witch was 6 euro) they gave me: 2e, 1e, 1e, 50c,50c, 20c,20c,10c,10c,10,10c back? they missed the rest of the change and why the mix? think the hint was for me (as the tourist) to just take the euro and leave the rest..

can rekommend this restaurant, take one in tha alley instead, much more cozy and much better service!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We go to Cannes regularly and never miss coming here at least once!”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Great Pizzas and Pastas, extensive menu, very busy (sometimes you have to queue but its worth it). Good service and reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosamondwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ASSAULTED BY WAITERS!!!!! Stale Bread, Rude Staff, Terrible Service!!!”
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Myself and my boyfriend, in addition to two other students, left the restaurant, La Piazza, after the waiter brought us stale bread and then all but spat at us and cursed us in french when we asked him to exchange it, and in trying to leave they attempted to force us to pay for the entire order we had placed seconds before by getting five men to jump my boyfriend and steal his iPhone and his wallet, ripping his pants, his shirt, and choking him. When I tried to get them off of him so we could settle the argument in a civilized way, they turned on me, leaving a bruise on my arm where they grabbed me. Worse, a plain clothes cop saw the entire incident and all but helped them assault us, then refused to give us badge numbers. We flagged down police and they filed a report, but also refused to give us any names or badge numbers and when we tried to collect a copy of the police report we were told we couldn't collect it without a lawyer. Several witnesses gave statements to the police both about the attack and the despicable treatment by staff which caused us to leave. The only thing that had arrived at our table was a barely touched bottle of wine which tasted like rubbing alcohol, and the stale bread which caused the incident. Basically the people who run this restaurant, and the corrupt french police, are animals. Don't go to this restaurant unless you want terrible service, rude, and VIOLENT staff, and stale food.

SEE PICTURES FOR EVIDENCE OF THE ASSAULT, and we plan to collect the police report through a lawyer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank w0rldrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delicious pasta and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 February 2010

after reading the reviews of this place on here, i think it just goes to show you how different people's opinions can be. while in cannes for a week, we came here twice and had good experiences both time. their spaghetti bolognese is wonderful, the noodles themselves tasted great and i enjoyed the sauce. the pizza is pretty good too. their tiramisu is also one of the best ive tasted, i would definitely go there again and recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamoroco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Piazza also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Piazza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing