We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great hotel, but needs some attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Still a great hotel, but needs some attention”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here in late spring and as an Intercontinental Ambassador got an upgrade to a bigger room with sea view. The hotel still has the grandeur it always had and still is up to 5 star quality, but the room we where in needs some attention from maintenance. At some places the paint was damaged, just a bit, but for a hotel in this price range this is not ok. The bathroom was not to big and a few tiles had little cracks.
Service is excellent, although they can be a bit arrogant. The building is still magnificent as is of course it's location. Maybe the best on the Cote d'Azur!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkenbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Arkenbout,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

Concerning the different points you highlighted, we have taken notes and we will refer it to the department concerned.
Your comments help us improving our service continually.

Please note that we are planning a renovation project for 2013.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will reconsider us again on your next travel.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    480
    215
    95
    88
See reviews for
243
893
62
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is the best location and the perfect style in Cannes. Much better that Martinez or Majestic , spacy with a beautiful outdoor restaurant and breakfast gardenand Service is perfect , the deluxe rooms are spacy but the sea view ones have no balcony to step out. The food and beverage are marvelous. Splendid hour is the afternoon ( summer time) sitting in the outdoor restaurant enjoying your coffee or your drink and watch out the scenery of crouissete. There is a private beach just a few stepd across the street but you have to book and pay for a place. The beach restaurant is a dream , very expensive but the food any style is grate. Best time to visit for paying less is end August beginning of September. Cannes is generally very expensive so pick up the best

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxFiveStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear LuxFiveStar,

It is a pleasure to read such lovely comments from our clients!

Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience at Intercontinental Carlton in Cannes

It would be a great honour to welcome you back to the Carlton

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

This is a review I really don't want to write, but feel like I have to. I first stayed here 7 years ago on my honeymoon, at which time it seemed magical. We got to know members of the staff, who treated us like friends (and still do, remembering us from previous visits), however, if it wasn't for (some of) the staff, the obviously superb architecture and grand lobby, this hotel would be very unremarkable.
We had a large sea view room on the first floor, the decor is showing real signs of not being maintained at all, even to the point where the net curtains in our room had several tears in it and the balcony hadn't been cleaned since it had hair trapped in the corners still. It is as if Intercontinental Hotels have forgotten they still have this hotel. I rang to complain that our bathroom wasn't clean when we arrived (what looked like grit was in the bidet and bath). The staff swung into action immediately, we had people coming to our room almost in shock, then one guy said it was dirt coming back up through the pipe work, which he had obviously seen before.
The one positive note I have got to report on this visit is that the restaurant has improved and is now very good with prices (for Cannes at least) which are at the top end of reasonable.
Please, please, please spend a decent amount of money on this hotel and soon, otherwise it will just become a relic of a bygone era. I fear this may well be my last stay here, unless I hear that things have improved significantly.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Matthew D,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

Some of the experiences that you’ve described do not reflect the image and the service that we want to deliver to our guests.
We have taken notes and these are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We take into consideration your comments and please note that we are planning a renovation project for 2013.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will reconsider us again on your next travel.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LulubelleT
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed here for the International Luxury Travel Mart in December 2011.

The hotel is gorgeous, historic and regal. The service is wonderful but some parts of the hotel (and certainly my room) look more like an old crazy cat lady's home. Oh yes, and she's a chain smoker.

My room was maybe 230 square feet in size, on a low floor in the back of the hotel overlooking the parking lot and the dumpster. The carpet was worn, decor circa 1960 (but not in a good way), drapes were faded and bathroom basic. Although I asked for a non smoking room there were not one, two but FOUR ashtrays in this tiny room. One on each side of the bed, one on the table and one in the bathroom in case I felt the need to continue puffing on the potty.

The thing that really got me was that the Carlton was charging me and other guests who were staying there 14 E A DAY for WiFi. Ce n'est pas possible! Quel horror! The rates for standard rooms (mine being in the back of the hotel over loud parking lot dumpster area) is a minimum of 200 Euro a night. I couldn't understand how a hotel can justify that outrageous daily charge (unless of course you're downloading massive amounts of porn?)

This is a world famous, historic luxury resort but any rooms that are not Deluxe category or above are not worth the cost. I WISH I had taken photos but was never really there attending the work meeting at Palais de Congress all day long.

I also have to give them some compliments: the food was fantastic. I had the best croque monsieur I've ever had in my life at the Carlton and I lived in France! Also, the staff were wonderful and room service presentation very chic.

The location on the Croisette cannot be beat. Also, the maid service had diligently folded my clothes I left in a heap after deciding at the last minute to change. Also, the room, although smoky, worn and tiny was spotlessly clean and the bed extremely comfortable.

I'm going back to ILTM December 2013 and may be assigned the Carlton again. Hopefully this time I will be enjoying my croque monsieur from the Grace Kelley or Cary Grant suite, or a least a renovated room with side peek of the ocean?

If you stay at InterContinental, spend the money for a renovated room on a higher floor in the front of the building. Join the Ambassadors Club, hold a lemonade stand, do whatever necessary to avoid the standard rooms.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms, 7th floor suites if possible facing the ocean. Join Ambassadors Club for priority a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LulubelleT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear LulubelleT,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

We have taken notes and these are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We take into consideration your comments and please note that we are planning a renovation project for 2013.

Thank you for sharing also your positive thoughts and I hope that you will reconsider us again on your next travel.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The Carlton is a beautiful property with a lot of potential that is in desperate need of a renovation. We were informed that the hotel has been open for a 100 years and has probably seen little in the way of repairs in that period. We were extremely disappointed the minute we stepped inside because the hotel offers little by way of value despite the 5 star prices. In addition to an uplift, the rooms could do with better organization as well -- for starters I have never encountered a room where the hair dryer is attached to the desk in the bed room. After 15 minutes of poking around the room I called house keeping at which point I was informed of its location. The rooms aren't that big either and our 1st room had very little light which made it almost claustrophobic. We ultimately managed to switch to a different room.
To top it all the concierge was extremely unhelpful as well. On our 1st day we asked for restaurant recommendation and were directed to an extremely cheesy and touristy option. When I pointed that out, the gentleman was offended and proceeded to remind me I was a tourist myself...On another occasion inquired about the traffic that night given the fireworks in Cannes as we were driving out of town. While the concierge did tell me it was busy he forgot to mention the strip outside the hotel was going to be closed for a period of 4 hours -- a little detail that would have made our life much easier when we tried to return to the hotel that night. Unless your $$ are burning a hole in your wallet I would stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NYCTripper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCannes, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear NYCTripper_11,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

Some of the experiences that you’ve described do not reflect the image and the service that we want to deliver to our guests.
We have taken notes and these are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We take into consideration your comments and please note that we are planning a renovation project for 2013.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will reconsider us again on your next travel.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.7 km away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#14 of 126 in Cannes
847 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
1.2 km away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Property: InterContinental Carlton Cannes
Address: 58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cannes
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,038 - ₹ 72,048
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cannes. There is a place at the heart of La Croisette where you can enjoy a truly unforgettable moment in an intimate setting. Thanks to 100 years of tradition at your service, the InterContinental Carlton offers a unique experience under the Mediterranean sun. A genuine legend: The InterContinental Carlton Cannes cultivates this refined atmosphere where yesterday's charm and spirit mix with today's expectations. With its 343 rooms and suites, its restaurants and bars, its famous terrace and its private beach of fine sand, it offers incomparable service worthy of the best hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing