We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!”
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #25 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Couldn't be more conveniently located to all of the restaurants and bars and what an amazing view we had from our 2 balcony's facing the water! Staff was beyond friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast buffet was also impressive. Can't complain about the price either. I will say the room was a little musty when we first got there but after leaving the balcony doors open for a bit, it aired out nicely.
Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fins2theleft72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed here with some family in July, and the hotel had everything I needed. I got a room with a nice view of the harbour and of the ocean. The room was not large, but it contained everything I needed for my stay. I had very little interaction with the staff, but when I did talk with them, they were friendly and forthcoming. Another good thing about the hotel is the price. Considering its location and the quality of the rooms I would say it offers a very good value for money. I am most likely coming back!

Room Tip: Get one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Having grown up spending each summer in Cannes and returning each year for the International Luxury Travel Market, I know Cannes well and it is a place full of memories for me. The staff at the Splendid are simply splendid (forgive me), the rooms adequate and incredibly convenient for the Palais de Festivale and even the bus station if one arrives by bus from Nice. Breakfast is simple and plentiful if unchanging.

Room Tip: Top floor in recommended and a corner (larger) room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesHAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We would have to agree with the other positive reviews of this hotel ideally located just off the Croisette, overlooking the harbor next to the old town of Cannes. Our room was very spacious, especially by European standards, with a double balcony overlooking a small park next to the Palais des Congres. With high ceilings, lots of closet space and a well-appointed bathroom, we found the accommodations very clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful - we could not get the WiFi to work on our computer (really the only small negative in our experience there), so they cheerfully refunded our 6 Euros per day fee. The hotel has easy access to the shopping district of the rue d'Antibes, and is a short walking distance from many great restaurant choices. Next to the hotel is a great ice cream place, and on the other side of the building is a comfortable bar with lounging couches and free WiFi. It should be said that we stayed here in the off-season (October), so the hotel may not be quiet come summer time (but then there are likely few places this close to the beach that are quiet in Cannes in the summer). A great choice when traveling to the Riviera - we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhugon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The reception staff are lovely. They all speak english and although we asked them a lot of questions re places to go, restaurants, train journeys etc. They were so helpful and friendly. They were Some of the nicest reception staff we have met anywhere. Especially the 'older' lady, with short grey hair. Sorry we don't have your name, but if you are reading this, you know who you are!

The room we had was large, had an enormous comfortable bed and french windows that opened out onto a balcony. We had a superior room and the balcony had a small table and two chairs that was nice to sit on and admire the view. We had a problem with the bathroom in that the door handle fell off when we opened it, but it was fixed within minutes of us reporting it. Maid service came every day and was excellent.

The room had a strange addition behind on of the cupboard doors, it was a kitchenette with a fridge, cooking utensils and a hot plate. Which we used to brew up in the morning (take some coffee) but otherwise we didn't use it. We had breakfast at the hotel one day and it had a lot of choice from yogourt to bread rolls, bacon, eggs, fruit, cereal. But mostly we ate out as it was cheaper, as all we wanted was a roll and a coffee.

This hotel is in a great location close to the beach, marina, the train station, bars, restaurants and shops.

The only drawback we could find was the traffic noise. The hotel is situatied on a busy main road at the front and at the side of the hotel. So take ear plugs if this is likely to bother you.

Other than that, it was excellent, and highly recommended.

Room Tip: higher up to avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.2 km away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#16 of 126 in Cannes
451 reviews
0.9 km away
Cezanne Hotel
Cezanne Hotel
#24 of 126 in Cannes
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Le Canberra
Hotel Le Canberra
#10 of 126 in Cannes
667 reviews
0.8 km away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#15 of 126 in Cannes
916 reviews
0.3 km away
Montaigne Hotel & Spa
Montaigne Hotel & Spa
#31 of 126 in Cannes
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: 4 rue Felix Faure, 06414 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: ₹ 7,525 - ₹ 17,559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This residence was built in 1871 and became "Hotel Splendid" in 1905.Since 1974 its owner has been continuously developing the establishment, combining yesteryear charm with modernism. Hotel Splendid**** has an extraordinary location in the heart of Cannes, in front of the Palais des Festivals in the old Yacht Port, facing the "Suquet" at the beginning of la Croisette.The Splendid Hotel is a romantic hotel which really lives up to its name. The wonderful facade of this boutique hotel looks almost exactly like it did in the 19th century. Also inside this romantic hotel a lot of value has been placed on authenticity. Drapes, furniture, materials, fitting.The hotel has 62 bedrooms, most of them have a wonderful view of the sea. Breakfast is served in the "Offenbach" lounge which has a flower-decked terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing