We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair Enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Univers
Ranked #38 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed in Hotel Univers 3 nights. When you go out the Cannes train station, you can reach hotel in 4 minutes at most on foot. In 4 minutes you reach to coast as well. So, hotel's biggest advantage is the location. It is also adjacent to Cannes's main street where you can find all brands. Secondly, employees are kind, helpful and can speak English well.

Unfortunately rest are not so positive about the hotel. There is wireless connection only in the lobby and lobby consists of two chairs only. Entrance of the hotel is so narrow. There is cable connection in the rooms. Room is very small. You can barely fit into the room as 2 people. Air condition in the room was terrible. It did not cool down, during the night I was unable to breathe and opened the window. However, we did not inform about it to the staff so I don't know how could they have handled this. Bathroom was nice. Water pressure works well. Breakfast is at the terrace and it is fair enough. Lift of the hotel is so small, old and slow. You have to wait long time to go up and down. There is a safe box in the room which is not mounted to the wall. First time I see it like that. You can easily grab it take outside. I found it strange but I don't mean that I had any security issue in the hotel. We did not encounter any negative attitude or bad surprise in the hotel.

When compared with the price, especially in terms of the internet, size of the room and air conditioning, this hotel is little bit lower than my expectation. I would easily consider raising my budget little more and pick another place, if there is another hotel in that price range. However, I am not deeply regretful to pick this place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

i've stayed there from 23-27july.it's nice hotel for small money,room i got was small,but i not spent so much time there,just for short break or sleep:)this hotel just on shopping street,and 5min from beach and 5min from train station.to get there from nice airport very easy i choosen for bus,wich just in terminal 1 number 210goes each 30 hour,40-50min 16,50 euro it's stop in hotel de ville you have to walk to palace festival there is turist information if you not sure where is gotel they help you there or you go to Prada shop and thern go left,go to Rue antibes and so you can see singl hotel with flags on top,so it's this hotel:)you have to be ready to pay in end of your stay 1 euro per day.they have nice terrase for breakfast,with nice choise,fresh croassan and so one.Hotel personal very ice try to help youin any question.restaurants is nice there in cannes,i choosen for seafood,this was fantastic experience.if you stay alone(or nt)make sure you visit Monte Carlo,it was nice trip,visit king palace,on way there on small streat you can stop in small restaurant to eat seafood,wich is delicios.trip to Monaco takes 1hour by train,very comfortable trip and nice view,if you take both ways ask for day ticket wich will cost 12euro,for one person.you can visit Grasse parfum capital,nice small city i liked to be there,trip there take 30min max.this hotel is in very good location allow you be close to all happining in city.if i go to cannes one more,i will stay there:)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rushanaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

i have stayed here now for six years in a row...i am very aware it is not the BEST hotel....but it is the hotel that has always taken care of me....the rooms are comfortable...the breakfast in the morning is perfect.... and it is 2 blocks from the palais and one block from my favorite restaurant in cannes. it is reasonably priced and the staff are great....looking forward to going back again next jan.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

A very nice, very comfortable, very friendly place. But warning!!! Do NOT use their laundry service. I sent out three pair of pants, three sweatshirts, one regular shirt, and some socks and underwear and was charged 112 Euros!! That's nearly $170! For Laundry??? When I wrote saying it must have been a mistake, they sent me the itemized bill the laundry gave them. (3 shirts 33 euros; 7 pairs of shorts 21 euros, etc.)

I would recommend the Univers ONLY if you go out and buy all new clothes rather than wash the ones you have. It'll be cheaper!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doriengrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

This hotel is located right in the middle of Cannes. If you just wanna stroll around or do some shopping, it's perfectly located. If you come by car, you'll get a card for the parking at the train-station. Just a 5min walk.
The room was nice, tidy... nothing special...
The staff was great, we just passed by and asked for vacancy and they gave us a great deal.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smilix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.3 km away
Best Western Premier Mondial
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Cannes Riviera & Spa
0.8 km away
Best Western Plus Le Patio Des Artistes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#35 of 126 in Cannes
373 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#31 of 126 in Cannes
336 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#14 of 126 in Cannes
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Univers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Univers

Address: 2, rue du Marechal Foch, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: ₹ 5,753 - ₹ 10,970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Univers 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Univers hotel in Cannes is ideally situated on the côte d' Azur, at the heart of Cannes. This hotel in Cannes is at the heart of the city of the festivals and the international center of the congresses. Univers hotel of Cannes, Longitude Hotels crew, putsat your disposal 72 rooms and luxury air-conditioned suites. all of them are soundproofed and equipped with all the necessary comfort, the free WIFI internet access.The hotel has 4 luxurious suites among which 3 endowed of an important terrace and a solarium which offer a privileged view on the bay of Cannes and Croisette.Breakfast and panorama of charm, the lounges) of the hotel and the room of breakfast are in the sixth floor where from you will take advantage of a wonderful view(sight) on the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Univers
Best Western Cannes
Cannes Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing