We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice, but the bathroom is not a 5 star hotel”
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 September 2011

nice hotel with a perfect position on the croisette. Room is nice but the bathroom was not at the level of a 5 star hotel( i had a junior suite, 40m)
The plage 45 is really nice!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flashMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelCannes06, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion further to your stay in Le Grand Hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its location.

Regarding your comments on the bathroom we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations and we take into consideration your opinion on this.

With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 268 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

We choose this hotel because of it's restaurant and private beach . We stayed three nights . Much to our disappointment we were rather arrogantly told that both facilities were fully booked for (at least) the duration of our stay . No single effort was made to come up with alternatives or suggestions . Although the rooms are "ok" they are certainly not up to the five stars this hotel has . For a "Small Luxury Hotel" member we found it rather disappointing , also considering the price we had to pay .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelCannes06, Responsable relations publiques at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Roger576,

Thank you for your valuable comments.
We are very sorry that you had an unpleasant experience in trying to book the beach and the restaurant.
As explained to you in our previous correspondance, our Michelin starred restaurant "Le Park 45" and our beach "La Plage 45" are both highly popular in Cannes, especially during the high season. This is why we encourage our guests to pre-book these facilities in advance.

This does not, however, excuse the manner in which you were treated and we once again apologise for this.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the hope that we will welcome you back to the Grand Hotel. I will personnally take care of your reservation.

Stephanie Demolli
Guest relations manager
--------------
-----------

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We chose Le Grand as we had read on trip advisor that the location of the hotel is perfect. Indeed it is perfect. The central location is brilliant for going out in Cannes. Perfect for the beach... perfect for the nearby restaurants and bars.. perfect distance for the old town and all it has to offer.

However, other than that, I am not really sure what the hotel has to offer. No pool (major drawback especially as the Marriott is next door and you can see guests on the roof having fun in the pool) and you need to pay extra to sit on the beach (19 euros/per person or 35 per head if you want to sit in the front row). A day of doing nothing on the beach, with lunch, can cost you a 100 euros. It is lovely and certainly relaxing, but you can't help but question whether you are getting value for money?

Don't get me wrong - this is a comfortable hotel. Well furnished rooms and comfortable beds. It just lacks that 'je ne sais quoi'. If I were to go again, I would probably spend less money on a hotel that isn't on the sea front and spend my hard earned euros on going out in what is a ultimately a brilliant holiday destination.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Needers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelCannes06, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your valuable comment.

As mentionned on our website, the Grand Hotel does not have a swimming pool but a private beach.
The extra charge of 19 € for the beach (including a sun lounger, a towel and a parasol for the day) is a very special rate we only offer to our hotel guests and is very competitive regarding to the rates of the other private beaches in Cannes.
Should our guests wish to use the beach every day we also propose packages including this service.

We are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy the special atmosphere the Grand Hotel offers as this is a much appreciated value that our repeat guests mention.

With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I stayed here with my wife for three nights in July, and was disappointed. When we arrived the room was not ready (which was fair enough) so the girl at reception said she would call on my mobile when it was free. I never heard from her and that set the tone for the stay. The room was large and decorated in a minimalist retro style but smelled strongly of smoke, and the coffee table was stained and dirty. The bathroom was tiny and had more than a whiff of stale urine. We had breakfast and the cold section was fine, but the hot option was stone cold too and not appetising. In the evening we had a couple of drinks in the bar outside as the hotel is set back from the road in its own grounds, which is nice, but the service was very slow. The head waiter was busy bantering with the French speaking and more obviously wealthy guests, but we were ignored. One day we went to the private beach in the late afternoon, but spend 20 minutes being ignored by the staff so gave up. On the last day the room was not made up, and it took three (very polite) complaints to the reception before anything was done about it. When it was finally cleaned, various personal effects on the side stand had been knocked off and not put back. I was surprised to find there was no gym or pool, which you expect at this price (so don't assume, but check). The main advantage to this place is the central location and it being set back from the road, but that does not make up for its faults at this price. Basically, if you look rich and speak more than a few words of French you'll be ok if you can get on with the decor, etc. Otherwise, give it a miss.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDarkL0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelCannes06, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Dear Guest,

We would like to deeply apologise regarding the inconveniences you have encountered with the room as this is absolutely not representative and in keeping with the standards in the Grand Hotel.
The cleanliness of our entire property, and especially the rooms, is our priority and we always have very good feedbacks from our guests.

We also regret that you had a bad impression with our staff, all the points that you have highlighted have been discussed with the different services as we do not wish other guests to have the same feeling. We hold our guests' opinion in the highest esteem and the team of the Grand Hotel is constantly working on the quality of service.

I would be very pleased, should you come back in Cannes in the future, to make you enjoy the real Grand Hotel experience.
Please feel free to contact me personally for further information.

Best regards,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Good location right in the middle of the croisette. Rooms and beds are huge but the bathroom is surprisingly small. For the money, they should offer an iPod player in the room. We called and they brought in a bose system but not the kind with an ipod dock.

Closets are enormous, bed is seriously comfortable. WIFI worked without issue. I could never get the blinds fully closed which was annoying, as the sunlight woke me. They could use with some simple blackout sheers.

You need to reserve beach chairs in high season as they book early. For 500 EUR a night, you would think a few beach chairs would be included, but they are not (and no discount) so be prepared to add another 100 EUR a day if you want to use the beach.

Bar is very quiet, nothing really to get excited about, although just 100 meters from the hotel there are plenty to choose from.

Restaurant is very good, impecable service and cuisine but lacks some atmosphere.

For nightlife definitely try "Les Marches" (go inside the main casino in the festival hall and take the elevator to the left. Cool rooftop bar and inside is a dance club.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTFBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding our rooms. They are indeed very large and we always have very good feedback regarding our mattresses and bedding.
The bathrooms do appear to be small but this is mainly due to the fact that the bedroom is very large (35m²).
We would also like to thank you for your comment about the equipment as we always very much welcome the opportunity to improve the quality of our standards and service.
All your suggestions will be discussed.

Regarding our private beach La Plage 45 you may have noticed how popular it is in Cannes, especially during July and August which is our absolute highest season.
We totally understand how disappointing it is not having the chance to enjoy it and this is why we always encourage our guests to book their sun-chairs in advance or at the time of booking.
Then, there is indeed an extra charge for this service, which is discounted for our hotel guests (19 € this year) and very interesting compared to the usual rates offered in Cannes.

Nevertheless, we are very pleased that you had a good time at the Grand hotel, but somehow quite disappointed that you were not sensitive to the atmosphere every place in the hotel can offer, especially our bar Le Cercle, with its elegant décor and its exceptional gardens.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
0.3 km away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.5 km away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#3 of 126 in Cannes
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#15 of 126 in Cannes
904 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.6 km away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Address: 45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cannes
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#14 Family Hotel in Cannes
#17 Business Hotel in Cannes
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: ₹ 9,106 - ₹ 38,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true green oasis on the famous Croisette, the Grand Hotel enjoys a unique, exceptional setting. It is the oldest hotel on the Croisette and it has been completely revamped in 60s style. It is a haven of peace for epicureans. A drink in the bar "Le Cercle", lunch on the huge, spacious terrace or simply relaxing in your suite with its panoramic view of the bay. How good it is to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Cannes
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing