We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect dinner. Casual yet delicate. Loved it”
Review of L'AGAPE

L'AGAPE
Ranked #50 of 687 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Large open area with small indoor sitting. Sitting outside is so much fun for chillax and people watching, especially in the summer when it doesn’t get dark till 10pm. Great atmosphere. Set menu that changes regularly. EUR33 per person for 3-course dinner, can choose between 2 options each. The food is presented so nicely and delicately. Taste amazing too. Best meal we had in Avignon. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Avignon.

For comparison we also went to Restaurant Avenio, Grand Cafe Barretta, Restaurant Faurchette for dinner. L’agape is the best among all.

Date of visit: June 2018
4  Thank Candy_yaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We did not have a reservation but the staff was very accommodating to find us a beautiful outdoor table next to the fountain for lunch and the food was exceptional every course was a piece of art and stimulated all the senses truly one of the best experiences for great French cooking the staff was also exceptional and very well coming and took great care of us

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank BSK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

My wife and I love this restaurant in a charming square, surrounded by the buzz from other diners at this and the many other surrounding restaurants: all set their tables closely around the central fountain under the trees. We chose from the €33 “Découverte” menu which we accompanied with a bottle of Sancerre. All our food was delicious, and gloriously présentes. They serve their bread in individual (branded) paper bags - a nice touch that seemed to keep it fresh.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank Fithles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

We had the three course lunch menu and while I was happy with all my choices (mackerel, ling, and some AMAZING dessert), my husband wished he had made a different choice for main course - he went for a local delicacy (caillette) which he didn't know what it was ... and it turned out to be similar to a faggot. It was fine but there were other options that he would have preferred.
We were sitting outside in the square and we had great service - it was hot that day and I think we went through 3 carafes of water between us, which were always promptly replaced.
2 courses were €21 and 3 courses were €26 - bargain!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank playtheblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

We reserved a table and arrived on time. We were seated in the square. Once seated we were abandoned. No water was offered, no order was taken. Around us later arrivals were offered menus and their orders taken and served whilst we looked on thirsty and hungry. The elapsed time between arriving at the restaurant, having a starter and eventually receiving our main course (which we prompted) was 1 hour and 53 mins. Our concerns, politely and discreetly expressed, were received with incredulity and surprise that this was a problem and not a gram of empathy. Instead she said she would “tell the kitchen.” An extra amuse bouche was delivered as a kind of apology but the damage had been done. We were expecting a slightly special dining experience but we received good food and patronisation. I can not recommend it.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank DPBDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'AGAPE also viewed

 
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to L'AGAPE? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing