We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideally situated”
Review of Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bristol Hotel
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“ideally situated”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

As you leave the train station and enter through the gates into the city, you are walking along a beautiful street lined with trees. It feels very welcoming. The Bristol is located within minutes of the station. We spent 4 nights here and did easy day trips by train and bus.
Our room was large and comfortable. Everytime we entered the hotel, the staff welcomed us by name. All staff were helpful but one very nice dark haired lady would go out of her way to find information for our daily travels.
The free wifi in the rooms had a weak signal so we often would sit in the very comfortable lounge where the signal was stronger.
We bought food from the grocery store down the street for our breakfast so didn't try the one available in the hotel (very expensive). There is also a bakery across the street.
Avignon is a great base to visit the area. We took a train to Arles, a bus to St Remy de Provence, a bus to Pont du Gard (limited schedule but worth the trip), a city bus to Villeneuve-les-Avignon across the river, as well as explored the city. The park at the top of the city past the Papal Palace, was magnificent and a beautiful spot to escape the heat. The tourist information centre is within 200 m of the hotel.
There are lots of restaurants, especially in the square about 5 minutes walk up the street towards the palace.
If you arrive by TGV, you will be at a station outside of town. There is a frequent navette bus (shuttle) for about 30-40 cents to bring you right into the city. It takes about 5 minutes and deposits you about a 1 minute walk from the hotel door.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    244
    109
    20
    11
See reviews for
86
218
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
home
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

we stayed with a group of 30 (young oaps) had a quiet room at the back so had a good nights sleep, very spacious room, for France, I dislike continental breakfasts, but I found this one to be very good, boiled eggs and toast, if you can't stand cold meats etc, at breakfast. staff were some of the most helpful we have found in a hotel both uk or France. ate in the brasseries on the street and found them not only cheaper but often better food, with that lovely french atmosphere and a caraffe of vino, loved the sunshine and the warmth in the evenings.

Room Tip: no outlook if you get a room at the back but you get a good nights sleep, very important if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleggt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed for 4 nights with a group of 27 on a tour we organised. Excellent location. Good rooms, spacious and clean. We had inspected last year and Claude on reception most helpul recommending restaurants which we were able to see and book for our group. Good breakfast, very busy as another group also there, but staff very efficient dealing with us all. Might have been a bit overpowering for anyone not in one of the groups though! Would certainly recommend it, especially fro a group such as ours.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milbyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We spent two nights at the Bristol in one of their larger rooms. We were scheduled to arrive after 11 PM on the TGV and their 24 hour reception was a lifesaver. The room was very comfortable... good beds... lovely bath... mini fridge.

Avignon is a delightful city and this is an excellent location from which to enjoy it and the surrounding Provence area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderersfromWellesly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

As other recent reviewers have said, we found our hotel room comfortable, clean and a reasonable size. The service was very good. Every member of staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was nothing exceptional for 12 euros, but good as part of our B and B deal, and offered the usual range including pastries/croissants. The location is very convenient, between the station and the Place de l'Horloge, and rooms are on the main street/side street, so a certain level of street noise is to be expected, especially if you like the windows open.
Avignon is a delightful city, with lots to see, fortified by coffee and ice cream at every turn. Amongst all the major sites, don't forget the morning market at Les Halles. Even if you're not self-catering, it's magic.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandyNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.2 km away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#9 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
#13 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.0 km away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.3 km away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Property: Bristol Hotel
Address: 44 cours Jean Jaures | B.P 186, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,713 - ₹ 12,365
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a Bristol Hotel Avignon is the perfect way to explore an unparalleled history! The Avignon’s old town is literally blanketed with historic sites including the Papal Palace, the Petit-palais Museum, the Saint Bénézet Bridge, the Notre-Dame-des-Doms Cathedral, the Doms Rocks, the Calvet Museum, the Saint-Didier Church and the Saint-Pierre Church. Located within the city walls, in the very heart of historic Avignon, the Hotel Bristol is an establishment with a tradition. Less than 10 minutes on foot from the Papal Palace, we do our very best to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. You can leave your car in front of the hotel when you are checking in. If you have reserved a space in our private garage, a personal vehicle parking and retrieval service will be provided by our valet attendant. Otherwise, we can also show you public parking lots in the vicinity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing