We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveller rating
154
355
139
34
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
355
139
34
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location public garage privilege room staff at reception small fridge breakfast buffet hot weather would stay here again the air conditioning famous bridge excellent hotel main attractions old city modern hotel bed was comfortable your luggage pope's palace
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 695 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel for our visit to Avignon for my birthday. Upon checking in the receptionist was rather rude and insulting about a drinks voucher, usually offered to silver card members. Another member of staff joined the conversation and the receptionist suddenly changed the discussion to state I was complaining about having to complete the registration forms!!
The room was small overlooking the rear courtyard area. Breakfast the following morning was satisfactory.
Upon returning to the hotel on the night of my birthday we decided to have a drink in the bar but it was in darkness at 22.15pm. The bar tender allowed us to enter and poured drinks in the gloom...no lights were put on. Absolutely bizarre. As soon as we finished our drinks he closed up again.
Not a hotel I would recommend or revisit.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mfmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, General Manager at Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear mfmorgan,

We thank you for your time sharing your experience in our hotel. We are sorry if the hotel did not reach your expectations. We apologize for the misunderstanding at the check-in. The receptionist did not mean to be rude. We really think there have been a misunderstanding of this situation between you and the reception team. For the bar, we are going to check with them because usually they close at 22.30pm they should have the light turn on. We really apologize for this once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel is fantastic for seeing the old town of Avignon, everything is quite literally on your doorstep, you walk out turn one way and you are at the bridge the other the Palais!

The hotel itself is pretty basic, I was in a 'superior' room which was incredibly small, it had a tiny bathroom with a separate wc in what was essentially a cupboard! It was also very dark as it faced into the courtyard. The hotel staff weren't particularly helpful, breakfast was good, but nothing spectacular.

Overall it's not the worst place I have stayed but definitely not the best, it's pretty basic/average but it was clean and convenient.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank cpatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Front Office Manager at Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear cpatz,
Thank you for your review on your stay in our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed Avignon and the location of the hotel. We are sorry to read that our hotel rooms did not reach your expectations. Our superior rooms with separate wc are around 27m². If you want a larger room, we also have suites which are larger. Also, if you want to stick with the superior room and you did not like to have separate wc we also have superior rooms with the wc inside the bathroom.
We are sorry that you did not found our staff particularly helpful. We really want to do the the best to help you have a wonderful stay, so, can you tell us more on what we missed to help us improve.
We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Avignon is worth the visit.

The hotel is very well located, with a direct entrance from the parking du Palais des Papes. As other reviewers are indicating, the direct entrance does not mean that you can park and find a elevator close-by, you need to use the stairs. As the staff advises, park for a few minutes at a special entrance to the hotel within the parking, unload your stuff, so no need to carry them through the stairs, and park afterwards.

The hotel is "normal": normal bed, normal pillows, normal bathroom, clean and comfortable. The wifi is good, and the staff if very friendly.

The breakfast is also good.

All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Front Office Manager at Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Daniel B,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay and you enjoyed our hotel and location. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

I lived here for 3 nights as it is located in city centre and is very convenient to place in centre! However for the room, it is not very well maintenance, the room got very strange smell and even in corridor. Hotel gives me a room with only ceiling window, so I lived here like in prison. Honestly, not a very good experience at all.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marsha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Front Office Manager at Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Marsha L.
We thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are happy that you found the location of our Hotel very convenient.
We are taking your remarks very seriously and are really sorry that the room you have stayed in wasn't up to your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the smell at the corridor. We are always trying to improve the experience of our guests during their stay and our housekeeping service is always ready to help. Have you shared your concerns with our Reception team? Especially in relation of your room size? We have varous types of room and some of them are having balconies or are situated diffrently offering more space. We truly hope to welcome you again in order to earn your trust and transform your experience into a very positive one.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

The room was a decent size, clean, modern and comfortable. The location is great, although it is at the opposite end of the city from the train station. It is attached to a very large car park that also serves the Pope's Palace. We were there during the theatre festival, which we didn't realize until we booked it, so we were glad we weren't near any of the main squares were it was noisy late into the evening.
Our problems started when we arrived from the car park. There were only stairs, no lift and we had lots of heavy luggage. We asked for assistance at the desk and they couldn't provide us any so we helped each other lug our suitcases up a flight of stairs.
When we got to our room, the card would work in the lock. someone came up with us and they determined it was the lock, not the card. They were able to get us in the room to drop our things off and they said it would be fixed in 30 minutes. We returned in an hour and no one had come to work on it. It took about another hour to get it fixed.
The first night the AC was great, but then it stopped working well, It was 95 degrees out and we ended up sleeping without covers.
The shower leaked both onto the bathroom floor and under the wall into the bedroom. I reported it 3 times, but I had to keep towels on the carpeting next to the bed so that I didn't have wet feet getting into bed.
This was not an inexpensive hotel so the maintenance issues were a real disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Responsable réception at Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear Sandra Z,
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel especially during the Avignon Festival. We apologize for the troubles you had with your room; we can assure you that our maintenance team does all their best to fix anything that could go wrong as soon as possible.
For the shower leak, the problem has been fixed since. During your stay we would has been more than happy to give you another room if we had availability but we were full with the Avignon Festival. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may cause.
The air conditioning broke for one evening during the Avignon festival, it was a general problem that has been fixed the next morning.
I am surprised that you said nobody did help you for the luggage. We are aware that this few steps are not very practical, so we are very happy to help. We were may be busy with some other guest but you can always ask for help if we did not see you coming.
We will be happy to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews