We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely B&B”
Review of La Violette

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avignon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Violette
Ranked #21 of 55 Avignon B&B and Inns
Greenbrae, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Our visit to La Violette was our first to a B&B and I'm afraid we are now spoiled forever. Our lovely hostess, Isabelle, is charming and very knowledgeable about Avignon and the surrounding area. She told us of Avignon's history and shared with us things to see and do (and what to avoid) including visits to towns a short bus/train ride away. She supplied maps and brochures and made helpful restaurant/cafe recommendations. Also important was our lovely room with a balcony with views of the garden that we used every morning and evening and the delicious and hearty breakfast delivered to our room. We very much enjoyed our stay with Isabelle and recommend La Violette highly!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
32
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The rooms are beautiful; the garden is peaceful; the house feels a real home from home, and is only a few minutes walk to the old town and to the train/bus station. Breakfast is brought to your room on a tray and is to die for. Your hostess -Isabelle- is just fantastic. She took time to tell us all about Avignon- sites, restaurants, cafes, bars- and gave us relevant maps. She suggested various trips- Arle (excellent lunch at Fad 'Oli), L'Isle sur la Sorgue (antiques and the best chocolate ice cream)- and was spot on with all of them. She walked us to the difficult to find shops, and took us to the local market, and generally made sure that we were looked after.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Spent five nights at La Violette and can highly recommend it to people wanting a warm welcome and comfortable place to stay. I had the room with the balcony where I enjoyed Isabelle's generous and delicious breakfast provisions each morning. The house is rambling and full of treasures and the smell of lavender, not to mention the beautiful, delicate sounds of the piano, played by Isabelle's daughter who is a wonderful young musician. Isabelle picked us up from the station and dropped us at the TGV on our departure. Isabelle was genuinely interested in us and wanted to make sure we had everything we needed. She was a valuable resource when it came to deciding what to see and do in the area and even made us dinner one night when we returned 'home' at the end of the day too tired to think about going out again. Many thanks Isabelle for making our stay so memorable. Maybe we will see you in Australia one day and we promise that Skippy will not be on the menu!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Warm and comfortable welcome; suited best for quiet visitors and for those who can appreciate the proprietor's intelligence, generosity, and grace. Only drawback for some might be the location--which requires walking on and crossing some high traffic streets to reach the walled city.

Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank haragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Tonight is our last night in Avignon, and it is with great sadness that I say farewell to this enchanting city. Our stay at La Violette provided us with a taste of the warmest of provencal hospitality. Isabelle is not just a delighful hostess but a true ambassador of Provence. She provided us guidance and suggestions that only enriched our experience. Our room was suitable for a small family and not only was it beautifully decorated 'a la provencale', of course, but provided us with the kind of conveniences that we are used to at home: from plenty of fresh towels, freshly cut flowers and a fruit basket, to an electric caraffe to brew our own tea and a small fridge stocked with orange juice and yogurt. We had breakfast on our balcony just outside our room. It was plentiful and delicious. I wholeheartily recommend La Violette to any visitor to Avignon who wishes to stay off the beaten path and experience the warmest of hospitalities.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gableslili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.9 km away
Cote Square B&B
Cote Square B&B
#30 of 55 in Avignon
90 reviews
5.7 km away
Mas de Capelou
Mas de Capelou
#1 of 55 in Avignon
349 reviews
4.1 km away
La Bastide des Anges
La Bastide des Anges
#8 of 55 in Avignon
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Domaine de Rhodes
Domaine de Rhodes
#3 of 55 in Avignon
455 reviews
1.0 km away
Autour du Petit Paradis
Autour du Petit Paradis
#6 of 55 in Avignon
371 reviews
1.8 km away
Le Clos du Rempart
Le Clos du Rempart
#12 of 55 in Avignon
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Violette? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Violette

Property: La Violette
Address: 26 avenue de la Violette, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing