We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
2
8
6
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
8
6
7
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is not what you might expect of a three star hotel. Really can't fault the location, but despite the hotel being in the grounds of a once-lovely 18th century country house, there is little else attractive about it. The rooms are in a neglected concrete barracks behind the unkempt and unusable tennis courts; the reception and dining room in another modern clubhouse beside the outdoor swimming pool. The first thing we noticed about our room was a strong unpleasant smell, maybe damp, maybe wet dog, maybe worse. We had a dinner date elsewhere in half an hour, so threw open the windows and hoped it would have gone on our return later. Not so, but too late to change rooms then. The second thing we noticed was the basic nature of the furnishings - two beds pushed together, 1 battered wooden bench, 1 metal garden table and chair, bare wooden floor (probably the source of the smell) nasty nylon unlined curtain and holes in the wall where previous fixings had been moved or removed. The main house seemed unused but all its upstairs shutters were open with some very odd hippy/ pop-art tableaux in them. A very strange impression. The grounds are full of statues and were obviously once lovely gardens, but now give a impression of total lack of care or interest. A similar lack of care and interest was shown when I mentioned the smell at checkout the next morning. I spoke in French and was bold the smell was the cleaning product used for the floor, which some people did not like. I don't think it was a cleaning product smell, but if it was, and they know people don't like it, why on earth don't they change it? Provence has many good hotels and this is not one of them.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan_traveller_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The setting for the Hotel is great, the grounds have once been magnificent . We stayed here as we could not find any other availability in Aix at short notice. Unfortunately the rooms are located away from the decaying splendour of the older buildings. The bedrooms are in a 70's style concrete motel block. Very uninteresting and peculiarly designed rooms, smelling strongly of damp/mould. Not to be recommended

Room Tip: Hard to imagine any of the rooms being anything other than poor
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Great location, great pool, good simple rooms with lcd tv in a green area. the main building is a beautiful ancient one, the dependance is more ordinary. Rooms are anyway clean even if quite noisy and it is good value for money. It is a good place to stay for more than one day because it is in a good position just outside town, perfect for a relaxing break, and it is good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisisisisisisisok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel as a last resort since there were only a couple of options left when we arrived at the tourist office. It was a quick care drive from the city (~10min) in a lovely wooded area. The poolside is nice and it was pleasant having a drink sitting in the sun by the pool. However, we were disappointed to drive up to the motel-like building which housed the rooms. Overall the room we stayed in was nicely decorated and clean, but seemed quite dark. Our friends stayed in another room which had an unpleasant odour (like body odour or mold)... this was after they requested that they move from a room that smelled like urine. The internet was largely unreliable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Agree with the previous review. Very misleading... The web page and brochure have no relation to the reality of this place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crislondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews