We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid absolutely this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel le Galice
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Rabat, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid absolutely this place”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I booked a room at Best Western Galice for 08.29th . Three days before , while I was already abroad with a poor internet connection , I received from Best Western Galice manager an e-mail telling me she is sorry but because of water damage she had to transfer me to another same standard hotel located 200 meters further

The hotel I was transferred to was in dead at half a mile distance , close to the highway
on a road with a lot of traffic.

I found it quite astonishing such an hotel experience "water damage" during this season so I went to the Best Western Galice lobby , as I noticed the hotel was open with a tourist coach in front , and I asked for a room .The receptionist answer was :Sorry we are fully booked , we've just received a group of tourists. ....This was the reason of the "water damage"!!!!
I stayed in the hotel I was transferred to and I had to paye a full rate because I hadn't booked by internet!

I didn't stay at the Best Western but an hotel with such commercial behaviors , that despise that way it's customers ,must be at all costs boycotted.





Amina Balafrej

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amina778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    200
    140
    43
    14
See reviews for
73
203
47
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

In peak season its near impossible to find somewhere small and authentic to stay in Aix, unless you plan a year ahead. This is what got us to Le Galice.

Pros - its a best western so you know what to expect, the rooms are well equipped, 10-15 minutes walk gets you to Aix town centre, it has a decent size pool which I believe is quite rare in Aix, the staff can speak english, there is parking (paid for indoors and free outside in the evening)

Cons - zero character as the hotel is above a car dealership! views on two sides show busy roads and MORE car dealerships, the route to the centre takes you passed...yes, more car dealerships, you are effectively in the middle of an industrial zone. One of the floors is still smoking (first floor) which was the only one that had rooms for us even though we said non-smoking, the first room was so bad we started coughing and then moved to another smoking room that was slightly less pungent. For security they only let you open your windows slightly so you cant go in and ventilate the room properly which is a pity. I can only speak for our room (118) but our toilet seemed to be directly attached to the main plumbing and made a very loud noise whenever a toilet was flushed on our floor.

Room Tip: If you dont smoke ensure you ask not to be on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotraveller333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzele
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed for a week in this hotel. Mainly the location makes this hotel inappropriate for a vacation. The hotel is located behind a main Renault concession (which makes the hotel kinda difficult to spot from the road). The 15 minutes walk from the hotel to the city center is through a mainly industrial area. The view from the rooms was mainly over the industrial area.
The swimming pool in the hotel is small, only at 1,60m depth (so no good for families with children) and closes at 20:00 (only to enable a calm terrace for the restaurant in the hotel).
The room was actually very good. With airco and excellent beds. The buffet-breakfast was complete.
In the beginning of our stay, one of the lifts broke down. When we left (5 days later), the lift was still out of order.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaakDeVuyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aix-en-Provence hotels

Oslo
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Booked this hotel for a stopover. Arrived late and left before noon, so didn't have that much time to check out the hotel. But I'll add my view of the things I feel I can comment on.
We had a king/queen size room with extra bed. The room was big with lots of space, and the standard was very good. The bathroom was nice and spacious also.
The corridors was not the better parts of the hotel (as usual) but they weren't that bad either.
There was a pool at the hotel that we didn't have the chance to try.
I found the best part of the hotel to be the American breakfast. It had a very good selection on a buffet served in nice surroundings.
There was nice parking garage in the basement with secure access and direct access to lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have just come back from a week at this hotel. We were on a Page & Moy holiday. There were four of us, all in our fifties. The hotel was immaculately clean, the buffet breakfast plentiful with more than enough choice. The staff were friendly. It was lovely to have a pool as on the days when we had no trips organised, we lounged around the pool. There is a pool bar/restaurant and the food is very good, although the menu didn't change whilst we were there. It was only a 10 minute walk into the Centre and there were plenty of restaurants to choose from there. I would recommend a holiday in Aix and a stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 402 is great. It has a massive SuperKing size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.4 km away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.5 km away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#7 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
#11 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#9 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#6 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel le Galice? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel le Galice

Property: Best Western Hotel le Galice
Address: 5 Route de Galice, 13090, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,491 - ₹ 11,343
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel le Galice 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4-story Hotel located near the historical center of city, 1 km to railway station & 25 km to Marseille Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel le Galice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Galice
Best Western Aix-En-Provence
Aix-En-Provence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing