We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect stay in Provence!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aix-en-Provence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Hotel Particulier 28 a Aix
Ranked #23 of 66 Aix-en-Provence B&B and Inns
Livingston,NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A perfect stay in Provence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! We spent the last 4 nights of 2011 at L'Hotel Particulier 28 a Aix. The location right off the Cours Mirabeau was ideal. We stayed in Suite 1 and it was luxurious and comfortable. Sophie and Michel could not have been nicer or more accomodating. The breakfast each day was lovely and Sophie and MIchel would spend time with us helping us to plan our day's itinerary. When we would return in the evening, Sophie would bring us each a glass of rose (or a bottle of champagne on New Year's Eve!) and a few treats to enjoy before our evening out. They made dinner reservations for us each night, and their choices were all great. I highly recommend this special jewel of a hotel for anyone spending time in Aix-en-Provence!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellc275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    12
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
69
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

This luxury B&B was exactly what we anticipated: a beautifully restored townhouse in the heart of Mazarin District in Aix. the location couldn't have been better. The suit we stayed at was spacious and well appointed. I loved the modern bathroom, even the toilet being separate worked well for us. The decor was a bit over the top for my taste (someone must have paid a lot of money to a decorator!), but overall the room was comfortable and pleasant.

The service was friendly and warm. This being a B&B, it was more like staying with a well off relative than staying at a luxury hotel. But that was what we expected and were not disappointed. . Michael was especially kind and helpful with reservation/recommendation, when the ATM machine ate our card on a Sunday, he was not only helpful in calling the bank, but also offering us his own money!. He got me speaking French, many thanks for that.

The weather was great as well, so we took advantage of the court yard.and sat there reading and accepted the offer of a proseco

The only improvement to the hotel in my opinion would to the breakfast: The coffee was bitter and the rolls was warmed up from frozen. A coffee machine and an agreement with a bakery for delivery of fresh croissant should take care of that.

Room Tip: Adjust your expectation: this is not a full service hotel, you don't get 24 hour room service, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wwtravelerBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

My husband Justin and I recently traveled to Aix en Provence, France for our Honeymoon. We literally spent the week eating, drinking, exploring and making new friends. We stayed at 28 a aix, the most amazing hotel! The rooms are gorgeous and the service was excellent. When we first started planning our trip, it was very last minute but we knew exactly what we wanted. 28 a aix was just what we dreamed of and more. The hotel is located in the middle of everything, which means you do not have to rent a car. Michele and Sophie greeted us at the hotel with the best service and recommendations for our daily travels. They were very warm and made us feel at home in a foreign country. Our honeymoon was PERFECT at 28 a aix and we would recommend this hotel to anyone.
– Antoinette L. Akong, New York, NY

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antoinette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

What was great about the hotel was its central and quiet location, excellent service, very sounds and reliable staff advice about restaurants, and the size, decor and cleanliness of the rooms. The breakfast was adequate, and was in a lovely garden area. We were 3 people and took rooms 3 and 4 - Room 4 was large and Room 3 was huge. In Room 3 it was a few steps up to the large bathroom, and then from the bathroom you could go a few steps up to a small second room with a single bed. ( If I had known about the second room, then I think we would have put our daughter in the second room and not taken Room 4 at all.) Despite all these good things, I felt like I had overpaid. I don't mind paying a lot for a hotel room, but in this case I felt like we were paying a premium for a lot of unnecessary extra room space. Also, I was careful to avoid room 2 because of an earlier review that said there was a drainage odor emanating from the bathroom. Well, there was also an odor (like sewer gas) in the Room 3 bathroom. It was not huge, and it did not waft into the adjacent bedroom, but I didn't like it and I felt a little foolish paying a lot of money for a room with this kind of issue. Having said all that, I don't know what the alternatives are in Aix for hotels. It may be that these prices are not out of line with other hotels in the center of AIx, and my personal experience on two trips to Provence suggests that in the larger towns, accommodations may be better on the outskirts rather than in the center - but not sure. I'm just advising everyone to research carefully, and try to book far in advance. Our last minute booking put us at a disadvantage.

Room Tip: I would recommend Room 4 for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

The Hotel 28 is a really unique experience. We arrived and rang the bell to be greeted by Michel the manager waving at us from the top floor, once inside he showed us around the charming house, then took up to room 1, and left us with a tray of cool drinks. The room is fantastic, romantic but fun. Huge swathes of silk canopy the bed and windows, but are offset with fun and eclectic lamps and lights. The bathroom was huge, clean, and have everything you could have wanted. Breakfast is served in the walled garden at the back of the house, and there is a wonderful sun drenched terrace half way up the stairs that is a pleasure to sit back on and enjoy a good book or a glass of wine. Aix is a gorgeous town, night markets were in full swing every evening, and it was fantastic to have dinner then stroll back and enjoy the ambience. Having only 4 rooms in the hotel means it feels like staying in a private house. We came home at night and had the sitting room all to ourselves. Music was playing and it was heavenly to sit down and leaf through books and photo albums, like you would if staying with friends. We took Michels recommendation and ate one night at The Green Tomato which was a great french bistro, good food and atmosphere. Another night we had a fantastic meal at Pasta Cosy. Do not be put off by the name! It was one of the best pasta meals we have ever had, all explained to you by the owner who made you feel like he had all the time in the world and you were old friends. Just one note, there is only one car space avail at Hotel 28, and you have to pre book it. We were not aware of this, but there is a public carpark about 200m away that was easy to leave the car in. Hotel 28 a Aix is quite expensive, but we felt it worth every Euro.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#18 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel de Gantes
Hotel de Gantes
#45 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#25 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#30 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel des Quatre Dauphins
Hotel des Quatre Dauphins
#36 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 km away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Particulier 28 a Aix? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Particulier 28 a Aix

Property: L'Hotel Particulier 28 a Aix
Address: 28 rue du 4 Septembre, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,487 - ₹ 25,881
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the most beautiful district of Aix (le quatier Mazarin), the 28 A AIX is a mension of the 18th century with original floor and painting with all the modern confort (free wifi access, air conditioner, mini bar, idividual safe...). You will find a lovely garden and a large terrace to relax. Go to visit the place on the web site... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing